We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food and friendly but don't bother with dessert!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ceabhar Guesthouse & Restaurant

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Tiree
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ceabhar Guesthouse & Restaurant
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
northallerton
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly but don't bother with dessert!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

The only good place to eat on Tiree. Food and service was excellent but puddings were a little uninspiring.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthallertonHarris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
11
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Meditteranean
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We stayed here for just 1 night before taking up a rental accomodation. It is excellent for Kiters, there is a place outside to rinse your kit and hang it out to dry, which was very handy. Duncan and Polly were really friendly and gave us lots of advise about all the differant kite spots on the island. Our dog was also v welcome guest and we were really at home here. The rooms were not massive, but very clean and comfortable and warm. ( the warm part was important as we got a bit chilly during the day) Great shower n TV in room, tea n coffee making facilites. We had a sea view, although all of the views were pretty special. We ate in the restaurant which was lovely. Breakfast, really great - good size ! Yummy. Dinner also v very nice. We came back again for supper, but you need to book as it is always full!. Thanks v much for a very warm welcome and a super stay with you. We will be back next year.

Room Tip: All rooms v similar, some had sea views, some had views of the stunning countryside
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Windseekers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oban, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

This is with out a doubt the best guest house in Tiree, if not Scotland !! The service is second to none Duncan and Polly, are very welcoming, warm, oblidging, caring, and provide an excellent service. The rooms are spotless, well kept, very comfortable, and a joy to stay in. The food in the restaurant is FANTASTIC !!! I have to say overall Pollys soup is the superior one ( sorry Duncan ;) ). The whole stay is a joy, good people, good food, great stay !!!!! Would return in a second.

Iain Young
Dalmally
Argyll

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Youngy868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

The Ferries are somewhat erratic to Tiree so the only way i could connect the train and the ferry was to travel Tuesday - Sunday, meaning i had 5 nights and 4 days at Ceabhar. From the moment i stepped off the bus i was warmly greeted and shown to my room - i was traveling alone for the first time because my partner was working abroad and i needed a wee break so seeing as i didn't have a car it was a potentially scary journey - meeting Duncan and Polly changed that - i immediately felt at home in the guesthouse. The room was small but had everything you could need and there was a lovely cozy lounge opposite where i could sit, drink tea and use the courtesy WI-FI. They also offered a large range of books or DVD's you could borrow if the weather meant you had to stay in. I tried to go out as much as possible - i took some surfing lessons (i can also recommend Suds Surfing) and did a small walking tour. On a sunny day the island is idyllic - i even got a tan - in Scotland!! The rooms have a comfy bed, a desk area, a wardrobe, a heater, a tv and an en-suite - which in my case had a loo, a sink and a stand up shower. There was lots of tourist material if you were stuck for ideas too. Every evening i popped next door to have dinner at the Ceabhar restaurant - i loved my time on the island, but this was a highlight to every day - the food was home made by Polly, they use home grown veg and locally sourced meats and fish. The first night was a kind of a beef stew with chorizo and mild spices, another night was haddock wrapped in smoked salmon - all served with potatoes and veg. Absolutely delicious - the desserts were also homemade. I understand there is little competition on the island making the restaurant very busy - but not in any way slack, despite the lack of competition it is some of the best quality food i've ever eaten at very reasonable prices.
As for Polly and Duncan, despite how busy they both were they always had time to chat and always greeted you with a smile, when it came to leaving i felt quite sad as i felt i'd made 2 new friends - i know that sounds cliche but honestly i didn't feel like a tourist i felt like a visiting friend.
I couldn't recommend this place any more, it is probably easier to get to and from if you have a car but don't let not having one stop you, there is an island bus service (telephone request) and if you are there for nature (everywhere! flowers, insects, hare, birds) or the beach (utterly beautiful) it's on your doorstep - quite honestly i had no reason to travel to Scaranish everything i wanted in a holiday was 100 yards outside my room.
5/5

Room Tip: book early! very early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank the_dungeoneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here in 2010 and were very comfortable and well looked after, thank you. For reasons which are irrelevant we stayed at the Rockvale this year, but took our meals at the Ceabhar.
We have booked next year's meals there already!
In fact, I understand that the accommodation part of the establishment is going self-catering in 2012, but the restaurant, which is excellent, is open during the latter part of the week, and our holiday plans have been re-arranged to fit in with this.
If your requirement is for good cooking, with a pleasant outlook and a warm welcome, on the island, you need look no further.
Combine the Ceabhar and the Rockvale and you won't be far wrong.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doceuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

We just returned from our first trip to Tiree and had the fortunate pleasure to stay at Ceabhar. Polly and Duncan run an awesome guest house, we felt so welcome and looked after. Tea, biscuits, coffee at anytime in addition to our comfortable rooms plus a very welcoming sitting room complete with wood burning stove that Polly and Duncan kept warm and cozy for us. The food, service and drink in the restaurant was not to be beat and believe me we are very picky. We had our dog with us and even their dog Jinn made our dog welcome. Honestly, you cannot go wrong with Ceabhar, we are in love with Tiree and cannot wait to get back to this peaceful, blissful paradise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SurreyYank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

We stayed at Ceabhar for just two nights in June. The rooms are small, but nicely decorated and with a modern en suite shower room.

The location is wonderful, set just off the beach among open pasture with cows, sheep and chickens taking turns to wander past. For birdwatchers it must be a paradise, although I could identify practically none of the birds flying around.

Polly and Duncan are great hosts and the small conservatory restaurant serves excellent food and some interesting beers and wines.

They've also got a friendly lurcher, Jinn, who became great friends with our dog, Clem.

Highly recommended for anyone wanting peace and quiet or to stay while wind or kite-surfing on the island.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moonshining
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Tiree
0.0 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
5.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ceabhar Guesthouse & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ceabhar Guesthouse & Restaurant

Property: Ceabhar Guesthouse & Restaurant
Address: Sandaig, PA77 6XQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Tiree
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Tiree
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ceabhar Guesthouse & Restaurant Isle Of Tiree, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing