We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Gigha Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$401
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Argyll Arms Hotel(Campbeltown)
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Anchor Hotel(Tarbert)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port Askaig Hotel(Port Askaig)
$166
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Stonefield Castle Hotel(Tarbert)(Great Value!)
$182
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$145
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bridgend Hotel(Bridgend)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Islay House(Bridgend)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (345)
Filter reviews
345 results
Traveler rating
147
137
48
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
137
48
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshalibutlovely islandself cateringshort breakstaff were friendly and efficientnight breakdinner menubed was comfortablevery pleasant staylovely foodlovely hotelworth a visitferry terminalferry servicesmall islandachamore gardensfull scottish
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 345 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights in the Stable, one of three self catering units in the The Steadings, less than a mile from the hotel. We thought the Stable was fantastic and very well equiped. We have stayed in other one bedroomed self catering accommodation and the Stable was far superior - there was a proper cooker with 4 rings, microwave, dishwasher and washer/dryer. The Stable also has the best views of the three units. Only slight criticism, which in no way detracted from the overall experience, was the choice of furnishings, which I thought were more suited to a city centre flat than a Scottish Island accommodation. Obviously this is a personal thing, but I would have thought that more muted, natural colours would have suited the ambience of the place better. However, the quality of the all the furnishings and fittings was great and we really enjoyed our stay there. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to any of my friends and, in fact, have already done so.

Room Tip: If you only need one bedroom, try to get the Stable, as you get a good view from both the living area and bedroom.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Queenie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

HI

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in The Stable and that you have recommend it to friends.

Sorry but we really did have a struggle trying to get furniture that went with the cottage and of course we do realise that it is not everyone's taste but we also had to look for something hard wearing as well.

we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Colin and Rachael Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Really comfortable and friendly. Suddenly we are a local. Although the accommodation was a little dated, possibly spartan, the water was hot and there was sufficient. The sheets were clean and the bed was comfortable. Views from our top-floor room were superb, though I expect those lower were quite as good. Food was good in both restaurant and bar, though the service struggled. It was that time of year and there was a local wedding.

Room Tip: Be there early.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtewalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I loved my three night stay on this hospitable little island, in this lovely community owned hotel. It is just like a traditional Scottish house from the outside with the interior bar, lounge, dining room etc. tastefully incorporated. Food is delicious and plentiful and I enjoyed the biscuits and sweeties with my tea & coffee facilities. Lovely island produced handwash is used in the bathrooms. The nearby beach is an idyllic white sand cove providing access to a vast safe calm bay of cruytsal clear water. Wet suits can be hired if you dont want to brave the cool water, but it is lovely and refeshing after a long walk. The Achamore gardens are really amazing, with plants I have never seen before. I caught a plane to Glasgow, and the Citylink bus to Tayinloan (on its way to Campbeltown), with a 1/2 mile walk to the ferry which only takes 20 minutes. The journey is beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We happened to be renting a small cottage in the village and come to hotel for drinks. We were well looked after and as we had chidren and a dog, we were allowed in the lounge which was really nice and relaxing. We returned for dinner a couple of nights later and we wre again seated in the lounge where we had plenty of space. We (4 adults and 2 children) all had the fish and chips which we thoroughly enjoyed. The assiette of sweets (sticky toffee pudding, tablet ic cream and cheesecake) was brilliant as was the cheese platter. We really enjoyed our visit to the hotel. There was a young girl (approx 17 yrs old) who served us and she was brilliant, given the hotel was busy, she coped with all order admirably. She is an asset to the hotel. We were also pleasantly surprised by the bill when it came. Well worth the money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Yv0nne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We found gigha whilst holidaying in musdale the year prior and went over for a day trip on the ferry. A year later we decided to have a weekend there. The hotel is clean bed was very uncomfortable and you could hear the people snoring and their tv from the adjacent room. Our room looked over the beer garden and was unfortunatley above the door to the bar. We had constant noise as a result. Food was good however the breakfast service was appallling with guests being told they couldnt sit in certain tables as they were for dinner only however no signs etc or reserved indicators and given that a lot of the guest when we were there did not have english as their first languauge it must have come across to them as quite rude.
The island itself however is amazing well worth a visit.

Room Tip: insist your room is nowhere near the entrance to the bar!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2012

we are very sorry that you found the service at breakfast so appalling but we have spoken to the staff and they also apologise.

regardless of there being a wedding the service should not have struggled. we hope that you will return again.

Colin and Rachael Johnston

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews