We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bargain.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gigha Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Gigha
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gigha Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
Certificate of Excellence
Landsberg am Lech, Germany
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A bargain.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

As part of our island hopping trip we stayed on the only hotel on the island. It's run by the islanders and all profits go back to the island. As we were leaving early in the morning we got a great deal of £20 for bed only. The halibut for dinner was unbelievably good.
The view was unbelevable across to the mainliand.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raff40035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    78
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
40
93
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

We turned up at Gigha on a whim. At the Hotel the staff could not have been more welcoming, friendly or helpful. It truly was a delight to be in an establishment where it was obvious that (unlike many Scottish small hotels) your custom was appreciated. Great lunch, lovely evening meal and a breakfast that even I struggled to finish. What more can I say.... we will be back and Fudge will come too! He's the dog who was also made most welcome.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FudgetheChocLab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

Gigha is a secluded island retreat in Scotland less than 30 minutes ferry journey from the mainland.
Its silver coral sand gives the beaches a tropical quality as a blanket of peace lands on you melting away all the frosty dark cares of the outside world. Subtropical plants are dotted around the island with a formal garden at Achamore.
It still has a quality of being unspoiled and could fool you into believing that you have been transported back in time away from the maddening world of today.
There are a number of self catering properties on Gigha, but the hotel has three very new abodes called The Steadings.
We stayed in The Byre. Sleeps six. It is minimalist in its design and offers every standard convenience and a low maintenance interior.
The road to The Steadings is not tarmacked but this gives a hightend sense of having trully escaped from the motorway of life. There is a fork in the road to The Steadings, if you walk down it and then across a couple of hills to the right you find yourself looking down on a very secluded white sandy cove. It takes about 8 - 10 minutes from where we were staying. A great place to enjoy a relaxing sunny afternoon.
A golden eagle gave The Steadings a fly past on at least four occasions.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful, welcoming and friendly. They did everything to to ensure a comfortable enjoyable stay, including a welcome hamper when we arrived.
On our last full day, a helicopter landed at the hotel, its occupant stopping for lunch.
We were blessed with beautiful weather every day.
A beautiful escape, that I look forward to repeating.
Their website; http://www.gighaselfcatering.co.uk/steadings.asp

Room Tip: The Byre sleeps six, the Barn sleeps four and the stable sleeps two [with a jacuzzi].
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordonMcGinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I was walking the 'kintyre way' and took a day off to visit Ghiga. This was the first accommodation I found on the island and luckily they had a spare room. Lovely clean room, well equipped, very friendly staff who allowed a weary hiker to check in early to allow me to dry my clothes and to get a hot shower. Dinner was nice but I feel was overpriced. The bar area is very traditional and you get to meet plenty of locals. Everyone is very friendly and I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZedAbdn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

The Gigha Hotel has self catering accomodation about a mile from the hotel, we stayed in the Stable which is a lovely little bolthole v luxurious with a jacuzzi bath and v tastefully decorated.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poppygrundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed in the hotel with my brother. Had three day window off work, and initially planned a climbing expedition to Skye. Due to ghastly weather forecast saw that Gigha appeared to be only good spot within reach. We were not disappointed, great weather, and treated ourselves to a proper roof over our heads. Hotel is as described by previous postitive reviews. Clean, friendly, great value, excellent food for two hungry blokes, and the best tasting (and priced) pint I've had in a long time. Not quite the wife's usual choice (no hot tub, or leisure club!!) but excellent for a last minute "Man-cation" Small island so limited to wandering, swimming, visiting Garden's etc. All fine by me!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Prolugless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We called into Gigha Hotel for lunch, despite being able to smell the deep fat fryer from outside. The soup of the day was Celery, Celeriac, Broccoli and Cauliflower with Gigha bread and it was absolutely tasteless. So much so we couldn't finish it. When we mentioned that it wasn't good we were asked if we had told anyone, which seemed a strange thing to say when that was what we were doing! If this an example of the standard of food on offer on the island then it very disappointing to say the least. We certainly would not advise anyone to eat at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gighahotel, Manager at Gigha Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2011
Thank you for allowing us to look a the problems you had with your meal at the Gigha Hotel. We endeavour to provide quality food which we would like everyone that eats at the hotel to enjoy. Unfortunately we did not meet your needs and for this we apologise, and will look into the matter at once.
We do take all complaints very seriously and will discuss this with the team members to see what went wrong. Once again our apologies for your dissatisfaction.

Kind regards

Colin & Rachael Johnston
Gigha Hotel Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Gigha
19.0 mi away
Stonefield Castle Hotel
17.8 mi away
Anchor Hotel
Anchor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
16.7 mi away
West Loch Hotel
West Loch Hotel
#3 of 4 in Tarbert
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Auchrannie Resort
Auchrannie Resort
#2 of 4 in Brodick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,046 reviews
10.7 mi away
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#2 of 20 in Campbeltown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
18.0 mi away
The Islay Hotel
The Islay Hotel
#3 of 16 in Port Ellen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gigha Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gigha Hotel

Property: Gigha Hotel
Address: Argyll, PA41 7AA, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Gigha
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Isle of Gigha
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly hotel on small, quiet Scottish island 3 miles off the west coast on the Kintyre peninsula. 20 minute crossing from mainland on regular Calmac ferry. Locally sourced produce used in our kitchen, also local products sold within the hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gigha Hotel Isle Of Gigha, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing