We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 out of 10”
Review of The Rowbarge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rowbarge
Ranked #5 of 15 Woking B&B and Inns
Shepperton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 out of 10”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Room was ok although the bed was very uncomfortable and creaked as if it was on its last legs and neither of us had an enjoyable night's sleep. The shower door leaked and the plumbing noises from the adjoining rooms were very loud. Breakfast (charged separately) was poor and certainly not worth the extra money. Not the worst we've stayed in by any means but could have been a lot better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadfilth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    26
    13
    11
    8
See reviews for
27
20
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We booked at short notice for a meal on Christmas Eve. My father is too old and infirm to do his own shopping, and we have had good meals there previously (before the refurbishment).
The place was very busy with Christmas revellers rather than diners, so only a couple of tables were being served food. The one waitress was run off her feet! The noise was off the scale (hard furnishings don't help).
The Chilli had no heat at all (said a 96-year-old!!) and the spaghetti carbonara was drowning in sauce and had been sitting under the lamps for long enough to congeal. However, help was at hand and the spaghetti was freshly re-cooked - with the same end result unfortunately.. Very disappointing, so much so it came off the bill.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelocity629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Rowbarge was recommended to us when visiting family in Woking. Although transport was offered by relatives, the public transport system was within walking distance and frequent. St John's village had a supermarket, cafe, restaurants and a pharmacy. The Rowbarge was an excellent choice for us, we were sad we had only stayed for 3 nights. The room was clean and quiet. All the staff were friendly and helpful, in fact the customers in the bar were friendly and helpful as well. We had asked for alternative directions to somewhere and a customer did no more than go and get his car and give us a lift..... The food was beyond excellent to be honest!!!! Thoroughly recommend The Rowbarge - the hotel AND the restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

In our recent visit to family who live in the St. John's / Woking area, we discovered the Rowbarge - an pub and hotel combined one. It was perfect ................. walkable distance to the St. John's town center, quiet and comfortable rooms and breakfast in the morning ...... oh and a pub to boot. The bed was seriously comfortable, and it was truly quiet an night. I was a bit nervous with the pub next door, and a kid's playground outside our window that the hotel would be noisy .... but it wasn't at all. The staff were friendly and helpful. When our flight arrived at 6:00am in the morning, we thought that we would have to check our bags and come back to the hotel after 3:00 to gain access to our room. But the staff accommodated us when we arrived at 7:00am, which we desperately needed to catch up on sleep from our red-eye flight. And when we need to print out boarding passes on our last day for our return flight home, they graciously allowed us to print from their office computer. And the breakfast was an added bonus. Though I believe that we paid for the breakfast upon settling our bill checking out, it was still a bonus as it was rather convenient to have breakfast available upon waking.

One recommendation - get coffee at the cafe around the corner from the hotel in the St. John's center. Of course, I'm blanking on the name of the cafe but it's in the center around the corner and it has an yellow awning. Their long black coffee was awesomely delicious and the owner was so sweet to us as we made this cafe our morning ritual. And yes do get their homemade scotch eggs ......... they were delicious.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobBrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woking
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Woking Town Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Gorse Hill
Gorse Hill
#5 of 7 in Woking
485 reviews
1.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Woking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Asperion Hillside Hotel
Asperion Hillside Hotel
#1 of 2 in Worplesdon
373 reviews
1.6 mi away
Travelodge Woking Central
2.7 mi away
Worplesdon Place
Worplesdon Place
#2 of 2 in Worplesdon
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rowbarge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rowbarge

Property: The Rowbarge
Address: 39 St. John's Road, Woking GU21 7SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Woking
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Woking
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Rowbarge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Rowbarge! Originally built as a 19th-century pub for the construction teams at the nearby canal, the Rowbarge has been welcoming folk and providing good food, drink and a comfortable bed for over 150 years. Just 5 minutes from Woking centre, the Rowbarge offers a warm, welcoming atmosphere. We are proud of our menu, which boasts the freshest, finest ingredients via locally produced food, complemented by a well-balanced wine list, and not forgetting a host of ales and lagers to suit all tastes. We also cater and can fully organise your special event - weddings, parties, birthdays etc. - Just ask for details or click on 'Events'. We have a large beer garden, a children's play area, ample parking and an area for a marquee for special occasions. The Rowbarge is just minutes away from the famous Basingstoke canal - a magnet for walkers, ramblers, cyclists and boating folk - so please come and experience our hospitality! We pride ourselves on giving friendly service, and great food and drink, in a warm, inviting atmosphere - and we look forward to greeting you ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Rowbarge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing