We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Woking
Post
Inbox
Search

“Freezing cold - sat with coats on!”

eastern and oriental
Ranked #72 of 253 Restaurants in Woking
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Chinese, Thai & Malaysian Cuisine
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

been before and lovely, daughters 21st she wanted to go there again. Place was freezing cold and only one other table of 3 people (was a Monday) Asked to be moved from the windows and metal frames, there was a blow heater in the only section they would seat us, but inefficient. Both me and one daughter sat in our coats, we kept saying it was cold and the waiter just didn't care. One daughter a vegetarian and hardly eats and vegetables, rice, prawn crackers mainly and asked if we could be charged child price or just what she eats, no! No recognition we were sat in coats appologies or anyone to complain to. would have taken it up with them there and then other than feel the need to write this!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank V9291VWsharont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 218 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2020 via mobile

Went to e and o sat 11/1/20 what a great place excellent setting !! Food excellent!! Service excellent!! Just a couple of minor bugs 1.paper serviettes ( place deserves proper linen)2. £1.50 extra for mussels not shown anywhere on the menu ??? Would I go back ?? Absolutely very soon !! Thanks for a great meal !! Richardhedger

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Q4397JOrichardh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2019

came with family husband 90th year old birthday girl daughter son in law and a2 and 4 year old. service terrible came and gave no time to even think no suggestion and consequently only 4 very small dishes as no heating facilities got cold very quickly. duck again not a huge dish. mains very small portions very littlr meat and lots of vegs got cold very quickly. no serving spoons waiter did not had much understanding of what his role was. teaspoons for boys came eventually requests for fresh pots of green tea not very forthcoming. all very akward ecentually food taken away and my husband asked for a dish of hot sweet and sour pork it was really good. did the justify 10 % service charge. a shame for whole family especially on my mums 90th birthday. all very thirsty that evening msg. will never go back and have spread the word about our very poor time which is family and many friends both locally and in the next county where some of us live, to sum up bad service cold food small portions too much veg and just horrible.

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2019 via mobile

We’ve been to E&O a lot and we get a take away but the last few have been inedible so salty , just couldn’t eat it , do something about it !

Date of visit: November 2019
Thank geofff231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2019 via mobile

Booked a table for a family 18th birthday. Arrived at 7 - service was so slow we’d only been served starters 2 hours later .Drinks took 20 minutes to appear and they served only enough food for half of our party . We ended up having to leave and go home as we had to get back for babysitters .

Total disappointment !

Date of visit: October 2019
Thank penelopegarcia71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed eastern and oriental also viewed

 

Been to eastern and oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing