We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently good”

Beijing Restaurant Horsell
Ranked #51 of 207 Restaurants in Woking
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: WE SPECIALISE IN TRADITIONAL PEKING AND CANTONESE CUISINE Bringing you a unique and contemporary dining experience at BEIJING RESTAURANT HORSELL. We offers the highest standard of authentic eastern cuisines, providing you an exclusive and unforgetable experience. Our specialist chefs are keen to tempt you with an array of freshly cooked mouth watering dishes. Exclusive hire up to 160 covers could be arranged for all types of functions, or an ideal venue, perhaps just for two...
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Set lunch for £12 a head is very good value. We had 5 dishes - chicken/cashew in yellow bean, szu. prawns, szu. bean curd, broccolli and chinese mushrooms and sweet/sour chicken plus fried rice. All freshly cooked, looked and tasted very good. could have had starters/soup too and more dishes... but not that hungry! Sweets didn't appeal.
Have been before and had both set menu and a la carte - quality consistent.
Same true of service - always friendly and helpful. Pleasnt ambience - espaecilly if sit near window.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stevejenny5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    22
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
an italian in woking
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never disappointed”
Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Having eaten here many times we have always found the food and service first class. Great menu, attentive but not obtrusive staff. I would say it is on the expensive side but you get what you pay for. Can not fault the place after all the years we've eaten here.

Helpful?
Thank mazmarzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, Hants
Level Contributor
139 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Did not like it at all - Such a shame”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This place looks very impressive from the outside - Very stylish & modern which looks great on Horsell High Street. Inside the restaurant you very quickly realise the sheer size of the place - It must have 200 covers!

Anyway, I digress - I'm not going to write a long drawn out review because this place does not deserve it in my opinion so I will just bullet point the good & the bad..

* Where the restaurant is so big, service is slow & VERY unpersonal. Not one waitress gave any eye contact & we had 3 or 4 different ones throughout our meal

* The Tom Yum soup was terrible - NOT fresh, fragrant & full of flavour. This was surely a stock cube, a bit of water & then chuck in some chicken, tomatoes & a few mushrooms! No lime, no lemongrass & no coriander - Yuk

* The meats we had (Chicken & Beef) in the sizzling dishes were VERY slimey. Could be just cornstarch or something but it wasn't pleasant. Chewy beef & rubbery chicken. Sauces tasted ok but slimey.

* The salt/chilli ribs & the smoked chicken starter was lovely - the prawn toast was thick but VERY greasy

* Special fried rice was very tasty with only the hard peas letting it down

Overall then, NOT a great meal. Fairly priced @ £17.00ea with service extra but I wouldn't come again for food like this. Kei's in Runfold, Farnham is leagues above this place for quality of food & service.


As a last point, it is worth noting that the menu on their website is NOT the same as the menu you get offered. We sat in the Red Lion down the road perusing the menu beforehand and when we got the eat all you like menu, 3 of the dishes we wanted were not on it! No Nasi Goreng, No Sweet & Sour Chicken Balls & no Prawns with cashew nuts & yellow bean sauce. Very misleading!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitewizard666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Have eaten here numerous occasions and never had a bad experience. Decor is modern with the usual fish tank in the middle. Service is authentic without being difficult. Very well run and all the dishes are very well presented and very tasty. Good wine list along with a well stocked bar. very reasonable on the pocket too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“True chinese”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

This restaurant serves one of the best Chinese food I have ever had. I have taken a friend of mine that had lived in China for a long time and even him found the food excellent. Monday to Thursday is eat as much as you want for £15 each. Do not be tempted to over order and not finish/eat because they will charge you for the extra food (quite rightly so).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kiara68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beijing Restaurant Horsell also viewed

 

Been to Beijing Restaurant Horsell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing