We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Two Restaurants...”

Sands at Bleak House
Ranked #41 of 208 Restaurants in Woking
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Addlestone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like Two Restaurants...”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visiting Sands in the evening for a "main meal" is a lovely eating experience. The food is consistently good, seasonal, well presented, good portion sizes and appropriately priced. Easily 4/5.

Visiting Sands on a Sunday lunchtime for a roast is a less lovely experience. The food is of a lesser quality, never quite hitting the spot regardless of which roast you choose. Service seems different, too - on a Sunday, you may as well be in Nando's, with the staff being just a little too loud, referring to you as "guys", and generally giving the impression of being your "mate" rather than a waiter. 3/5, on a day when the staff don't annoy me too much.

Having previously been impressed with their "main" menu, my husband and I were eager for it to be our Sunday-roast-but-don't-feel-like-cooking spot. Sadly, it's not to be - we'll still be on the hunt for that.

They do deserve a try on any other day of the week for dinner, though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    46
    19
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice relaxed Sunday Dinner”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We have been to Sands a few times, mostly for dinner or a drink and snack en route back from a walk. Sunday lunch with family in tow was excellent - traditional roast beef dinner and a nice glass of red.
Good service and a small but perfectly formed pudding selection. I would be hapy go to back any time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JMTravels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

The menu looks quite limited (less than 15 dishes including startes and dessert) and pricy (£15-30), but the pork belly I orderd I would give it a 10/10. Likeed the environment a lot s well. Most importantly, plenty of parking spaces.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SihanBao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, 5 Star Service”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I always save Sands for special occasions as the food quality and service never fail me, everything is always five star. Once again my visit on Sept 15th was fabulous -tip top waiter service (they are clearly trained to a very high standard) and absolutely delicious food. I recommend the assiette of deserts - it's huge though so best to share. Steak was cooked to perfection.

Lovely atmosphere too - very calm and elegant.

Sands really is Woking's best kept secret.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“bosch”
Reviewed July 17, 2012

it would be nice if they could include chicken on the menu the 7 different desserts were to die for.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank dale w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sands at Bleak House also viewed

 

Been to Sands at Bleak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing