We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the wait !”
Review of King's Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
King's Arms Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Westerham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait !”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We received a £100 voucher against B & B in a Greene King Hotel so booked The Kings Arms Hotel in Westerham. We arrived early so had lunch special. Waited 40 minutes although there were no orders in front of us ! When it did turn up my partners macaroni cheese was good but my ham egg & chips was 2 x 1/2 slices of rubber ham no taste and a portion of cheap frozen chips. On complaining we were granted a refund but had to argue with the hotel manager to achieve this.
Our bedroom for the night was a good size and clean, however under our window were 3 air conditioning units that worked and banged throughout the night so no sleep. We dreaded breakfast and our fears were well justified. On ordering a full English we were told a maximum of 5 minutes to arrive !
When it did arrive again not worth the wait as apart from the egg all the food on the plate was heated to luke warm in a microwave and un edible !
On paying our bill they were not interested in any complaints and The Manager hid around the corner doing a stock take ! Thanks for nothing Greene King>

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Padraig007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at King's Arms Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
I'm glad that you have brought this to my attention. I'm sorry that the food on this visit was not of the quality that we pride ourselves on and please be assurred actions have been put in place at a local level to ensure this incident does not occur again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    97
    52
    38
    29
See reviews for
62
121
10
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Where do I start? When we arrived at 5pm on a Tuesday, the receptionist was on the phone; we had to wait 10 minutes for her to finish her call before we were acknowledged, even though there was another member of staff in view, in the back office; a young, sulky looking girl, who paid no attention to us at all.

When we turned down the coverlet on the bed, late that evening, we discovered a dirty quilt cover!

The bathroom was very large and barren and in need of redecoration. The bath, wash basin and toilet were old and tired. I'm not the steadiest on my feet, given my age, and there was no rail or handle in the bath to help me step in and out. The shower has a fixed head which had me bending down to shampoo my hair. There was one small bottle of red shampoo or shower gel - the printing on the bottle too small and indistinct to tell which! Toilet paper was that terrible standard thin, small stuff you need to use about 6 sheets thick - why do so many hotels use it? It must be the cheapest you can buy; none of us use it at home, so why do hotels inflict it on their guests? (Sorry about that rant - but this is one of my constant complaints about hotels. Does anyone out there agree with me?)

Breakfast was another disaster. No one on duty in the breakfast room when we arrived at 9 am. We had to go in search of the waiter - scruffy and unshaven - to get a cup of coffee and to order our cooked breakfast. The breakfast bar had a meagre selection of cereals, fruit and juice etc for us to eat while we waited for our order.

The hotel has a very good back garden and patio area, but was well scattered with cigarette ends; the ashtrays were all full at ten o'clock in the morning, and there were even dirty glasses still on the tables from the previous evening.

The hotel bar is used, early evening, by the great and good of Westerham (Rotary meet there) - and the service is unbelievably slow. It seemed as if the barman was having to man reception and wait at tables as well as serve drinks. I waited fifteen minutes for my gin and tonic!

This hotel is faded and tired, and, above all, badly understaffed. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Room 6 has a very comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeoffnJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Westerham hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is in the middle of a lovely village and having just stayed in another Old English Inn my initial reaction was favourable. The staff were lovely but I was disappointed with our room, lighting was poor, no mirror over the dressing table and we were a little cramped-the sash window had no fastening and was held open by the curtain being stuffed into it. The food was the same menu as at our previous hotel and was cooked to a very high standard but the quantity of food at breakfast was much smaller. We visited the pub over the road on Friday night as they had live entertainment and on arriving back at he hotel found we were locked out, we managed to get in at the back but were not advised that this would happen.

Room Tip: the hotel has no liftso be prepared to carry your cases up two flights of stairs or make sure you re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked to stay at this hotel after a wedding we were at 10 minutes away. On arrival at 1am in the morning the front door was locked with no notes anywhere as to where to gain access. After 10 minutes in the cold, with a 4 mth old baby someone off that street told us to go round the back. We had to go up 3 flights of stairs with luggage and a buggy. Room was below average. Bathroom was beyond basic. Room was freezing cold. Payed £155.00 for the room and tou didn't even get a bottle of water to drink. Wouldn't recommend to anyone! Waitress at breakfast was miserable as well.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snoopyandfrenchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is in a lovely position in the middle of Westerham, car parking was good and there is easy access to attractions in the area. The breakfast are excellent here and the dining room offers a good choice of reasonably priced meals. The break of 2 nights was really good value. the staff are really nice. The only problem is the lighting in the bedrooms which was not good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NICOLA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night for a wedding in the hotel. We picked it for convenience but it turned out to be very nice.

Upon checking in, we were given an upgrade to a suite, which was very nice given the price we paid for the night (online) and this added to the value more. Parking in the hotel is free - it's a public car park round the back of the hotel (so quite quiet), and you get a ticket given to you from reception if you're staying there.

The room was very large, with two separate parts - one with the bed, and one with a small lounge area just off from the bathroom. The bed was king size and we found it extremely comfortable. There are tea and coffee facilities in the room and complimentary toiletries. There is no safe in the room - the door to our room was a little difficult to lock (and needed a bit of maintenance) so had to be pulled quite hard to shut, but it was a Yale lock so still quite secure.

The feel of the room is very country-inn style and feels quite cosy, which was nice.

There were two televisions in our room; one in each half, and they had an electronic TV guide within them.

The bathroom was large with a bath and shower. I would have liked to have seen the bathroom a little cleaner than it was - there was some limescale build up on the shower head and a little dust, but not too bad.

Our sleep was fairly good in the hotel because of the comfortable bed, but there was some door slamming during the night - the rooms are separated off into sections and these were the ones causing the problems - some silencers/slow closing mechanisms would be good to help prevent this.

Breakfast was very good, with a good continental selection, and made-to-order cooked breakfast. Breakfast was included, however, we did have drinks in the bar the night before which were quite expensive, so go for an included breakfast deal if you can in case the breakfast is expensive when not included too.

So overall, a very nice hotel, I'd stay here again as the cost was very reasonable for a night away. Only things I would improve would be the bathroom cleaning and the slamming doors.

Room Tip: Online rates seemed to be very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingporcupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at King's Arms Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at The King's Arms Hotel and thank you for bringing to our attention the bathroom issue. I assure you that the maintenance issues will be addressed immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is nice little hotel with very good rooms. The hotel is very clean and has good restaurant and bar which are fairly priced for the area. My bathroom was ok but not quite as good as the rest of the room and not quite as good as the overall hotel experience. Breakfast was very good and very reasonably priced. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing an overnight in the area or before flying out of Gatwick.

Room Tip: Rooms 8 to 10 have some sort of machinery, maybe a boiler, within ear shot and if you are a light sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldEnglishInns, Manager at King's Arms Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you for your review on the hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay, we aim to deliver excellent customer service every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerham
1.4 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
7.6 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#19 of 24 in Croydon
2,199 reviews
7.4 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Arms Hotel

Property: King's Arms Hotel
Address: Market Square, Westerham TN16 1AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Arms Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your King's Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King's Arms Hotel Westerham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing