We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disapointed with our visit”
Review of Chartwell

Chartwell
Book In Advance
More Info
$254.52*
and up
Private Tour: Chartwell House Tour from London
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Westerham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The great British statesman, Sir Winston Churchill, lived in this home for over 40 years. Visitors can tour the rose gardens and see the artwork, books and desk of this remarkable leader.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

I was very excited to see the home of Winston Churchill but walked away a little disappointed after we visited Chartwell. It was amazing to see the stunning views that Churchill so admired and walk through his home. Seeing his studio and lots of his paintings was also insightful into Churchill the painter.
The disappointment came in asking questions to the NT staff. One response to a general question about how much time Churchill spent at Chartwell during WWII was incorrect and another guide stepped in to correct the response. I also asked about some important items in the house and the various guides could not provide any history on them.
The draw for me of visiting Chartwell was to experience the house Churchill loved and gain some insights into his life through visiting Chartwell. I did see the house and grounds but the visit feel far short on learning anything or getting a sense of how life was at Chartwell. The National Trust staff we experienced at Chartwell was not anything like the other NT staff we encountered at 8 other properties we visited on this trip. We found all the others extremely knowledgeable, very friendly and full of interesting background on the people and time period related to the house they were staffing. Still Chartwell is worth a visit if you’re in the area.

Thank tunitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartwell N, Visitor Experience Assistant at Chartwell, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review regarding your recent visit. We're sorry that you felt disappointed by our volunteer room stewards responses to your questions. Your comments will be passed on so that there is an awareness of the shortcomings you have identified and that future queries will be answered in an accurate & informative manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"winston churchill"
in 225 reviews
"great man"
in 114 reviews
"national trust"
in 230 reviews
"timed tickets"
in 61 reviews
"his life"
in 60 reviews
"his wife"
in 61 reviews
"black swans"
in 45 reviews
"art studio"
in 62 reviews
"family home"
in 82 reviews
"car park"
in 111 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 62 reviews
"dining room"
in 40 reviews
"time slot"
in 19 reviews
"prime minister"
in 30 reviews
"on display"
in 60 reviews
"beautiful house"
in 43 reviews
"the main house"
in 27 reviews
Filter

277 - 281 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2017

We visited Chartwell with our 7 year old Grandaughter who loves history, the house is lovely, there is staff in all the rooms to answer any questions. We then went into the gardens & our Grandaughter loved running through the leaves that had fallen. The tea room is very nice though rather expensive which is usual for these places, there are plenty of places for a picnic.

Thank Sussexkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartwell N, Visitor Experience Assistant at Chartwell, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments about your recent visit. It's great to hear that your grand daughter loved running through the fallen leaves - it certainly brings back some memories of my childhood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

I took two friends from Memphis USA to visit Churchill's home and they thoroughly enjoyed the experience. Timed entry makes for manageable crowds and they control that well. Many personal photographs including their daughter Marigold who died at a young age and is buried just north of Notting Hill. The studio with his paintings is fascinating and the lecturer is entertaining. The gardens with the black swans at the lake are well kept and the flowers in bloom mid-September. There is a croquet lawn and, if you're nice, they will let you play. Restaurant serves hot food and a good variety of drinks, sandwiches and desserts.

1  Thank ColinMacmillan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartwell N, Visitor Experience Assistant at Chartwell, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments about your recent visit and are pleased that your American friends had an enjoyable time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2017

Have been wanting to see Chartwell for some time and wasn't disappointed. The house and gardens are so interesting and the NT staff are very helpful. The timed tickets for the house are good as it does get very busy. All the house is gorgeous but the dining room is breathtaking with the arched windows looking out on beautiful views. Highly recommended.

Thank Jacquelinedavis110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartwell N, Visitor Experience Assistant at Chartwell, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your comments about your recent visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2017

We had been to this NT property at least 10 years ago so it good to try it again. A good size car park we were only 150 metres from the entrance at around 10:30 am. Being members we sent straight in walking around the extensive gardens. I believe that when he bought the property he paid £5,000 for it and then spent a further £17,000 on refurbishments (total about £1.2 million in todays money). There are 88 acres of land and some beautiful views especially in late September at the start of Autumn. Really enjoyed seeing the house and as every guide said ALL the furniture and room layout is exactly as he and lady Churchill saw it when they lived there! Remarkable. Downside was the digging up of rhododendrons, and noise of the pollarding works. Great place to visit!

Thank timetachyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chartwell N, Visitor Experience Assistant at Chartwell, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a comprehensive review. We appreciate your comments about your recent visit. We're sorry that the garden maintenance detracted from your overall enjoyment, but I can now report that the new rhododendrons are now in situ so should provide a splash of colour next Spring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chartwell also viewed

Hever, Sevenoaks District
Ightham, Sevenoaks
 
Sevenoaks, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Chartwell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing