We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Bakery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bakery
Ranked #1 of 7 Westerham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have moved away from the area and when looking for somewhere to stay recently I was surprised to find that The Bakery now had accommodation. It was excellent. Andrew was as welcoming as ever. We stayed in the Junior Suite. This room was so comfortable we did not want to leave it and I had one of the best night's sleep ever. You can see the village from a 180 degree perspective. It is modern and very tastefully decorated. And the soundproofing does work as this room is above the bar and we could not hear anything. The shower is one not to be missed too. The food in the restaurant was excellent as it has always been. Breakfast too was superb. There is no set menu for breakfast but you can have anything you ask for. This is a great find for comfort and location. You are outside of Croydon but close enough to it for easy access. You have the wonderful Westerham and Chartwell close by too. A definite recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: The Junior suite is a good size with plenty of space and good views of the village. This room truly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    19
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
19
62
4
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed just one Saturday night in this fab place. Very comfortable and modern rooms with luxurious facilities above the restaurant. Very friendly & welcoming staff. Breakfast provided by the restaurant was excellent. Large choice available & the chap told us that although they don't have a specific menu for breakfast, we could have whatever we wanted!! Fresh fruit, muesli & full English with lots of toast & as much tea, coffee and juice as we could manage. Set us up for the day. Wish we'd had the opportunity for an evening meal but time was against us. The setting of tables for the following Sunday lunch looked very inviting.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penny l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed just the one night on business & found this little gem. According to Andrew the genial host & owner the rooms where added about 18 months ago. My room was very comfortable with a high quality ensuite bathroom & a decor scheme that oozed style. The Bakery has the feel of a boutique hotel with the friendliness of a local pub. Food was good, service personal & friendly. I really enjoyed my stay & would recommend it for business, a romantic tryst, weekend getaway or a spur of the moment indulgence.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GS-Smugly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this great restaurant with rooms having driven down from Cheshire in continuous wind & rain to attend a new years eve wedding nearby.

What a fantastic surprise the Bakery turned out to be. Located in the centre of Tatsfield village near Westerham & Biggin Hill.

Although primarily a restaurant the rooms have recently modernised to a very high standard with your own access out of restaurant hours. Extremely comfortable with good en suite facilities.

The night before new years eve we ate at the restaurant after having a drink in the bar. A few locals were in enjoying a drink and bar food which created a good atmosphere. The meal in the restaurant was top notch with a choice of starters, mains & desserts. Well presented very tasty and a good choice of wines to go with the meal.

We enjoyed breakfast on 2 mornings and could of had anything we wanted within reason. It was all freshly made to order and cooked just the way we asked for.

Would we recommend the Bakery to eat and stay ? You bet we would.

Hopefully as & when we return to the area and we need to stay/eat somewhere we will be able to enjoy it oncemore

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Absolutely wonderful room, stylish, sublimely comfortable, great bed and top bathroom. Andrew's welcome is softly efficient, breakfast on Sunday was a relaxing delight with whatever we wanted, and the restaurant is just a pleasure. 10/10, fully recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon426
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Rooms over restaurant

Lovely well decorated room, had an issue with heating which was being rectified. Excellent decor, bathroom was stunning.

Dont let the back entrance put you off.

Ate in the restaurant downstairs. Food was good, service was excellent. They could not do enough for you

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joleung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

Stayed here for one night for my birthday and really enjoyed it. Food in the restaurant was good with generous portions and a simple menu which had reasonable choice and straightforward pricing of £29.95 for three courses - no working out who's had what, if you are splitting the bill in a party of people. The room and the breakfast were my highlights though. We had room no 1 which was easily 4 star hotel quality. Huge comfy bed, beautifully decorated, warm and cosy and had a contemporary large shower room. Yes, there are very small parts of the bathroom door that are see-through but easily fixed with a towel hung on the door. Breakfast was brilliant. No menu, just cooked to order. It was the freshest, tastiest and best cooked breakfast I've ever had in a hotel. All in all, a great little getaway place.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerham
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
7.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
8.3 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakery

Property: The Bakery
Address: The Bakery Westmore Green | Tatsfield, Westerham TN16 2AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Bakery 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your The Bakery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakery Westerham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing