We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite curry house!!”

Shampan At The Spinning Wheel
Reserve with OpenTable
Shampan At The Spinning Wheel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Westerham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $53
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: With a picturesque little thatched cottage in its grounds and with ample parking space, Shampan Group’s multi-award winning flagship restaurant is a byword for luxury and elevated food and drink. With several rooms to dine in, an airy and relaxing bar and lounge area where you can unwind with a wonderful cocktail or two along, or even a post-dinner coffee or liqueur, Shampan offers an unparalled dining experience. Our menu, prepared by Executive Chef Sadek Miah using quality, local ingredients, offers a fine mix of well-made traditional and beautifully plated, modern dishes with combinations you don’t often see in Indian restaurants. We also have a private dining space, the saffron Room with its bar and al fresco area. It’s a stunning spot that can be used for anything from private parties and anniversaries to wedding receptions and even corporate hire. The perfect icing on the cake for a restaurant group that’s often spoken of as one of the best in the South-East
Reviewed May 9, 2014

I order takeaways and eat in Shampan regularly and I have never yet been disappointed. Even when I phone up the staff are so kind and helpful and the same applies to when we eat in.
The food is fresh and full of flavour and the atmosphere is always pleasant. I highly recommend this restaurant for an all round good meal out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hotice33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sufian M, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Hi Hotice33,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are happy you enjoy the Shampan experience at the Spinning Wheel.

We aim to please and it looks like you we always please you when you visit the restaurant.
Thanks for recommending to all your friends and we hope to see you again soon.

Regards
Sufian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

454 - 458 of 597 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We went out for a social for Biggin Hill Musical Theatre Company and we had a fabulous night out!
Service was amazing and you get what you pay for food wise too. Along with the marvellous cocktails we left rather plump and very merry!

Thank Bustyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sufian M, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi BustyFrog,

It was great to see you guys and the Biggin Hill Musical Theatre Company, always a pleasure to see those guys. Glad you enjoyed the food and more so the cocktails. Our barmen certainly deliver on those. We hope to see you again soon and next time check in using Foursquare for a reward...hint hint: it involves cocktails.

See you soon
Sufian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The owners have obviously spent a lot of money decorating this place to give you a West End/ high end experience. Lounge area, leather seats, soft furnishings, waiters in smart uniforms etc you get the picture.

We've been a few times and the food on the whole is pretty good. Not cheap of course, but varied and slightly different in addition to the traditional dishes.

However, the previous time we went, the waiting staff, who were bordering on the aggressive, completely forgot my wife's dish after an 1 hours wait between the starter and the main course. The waiter continued to tell us it would be just coming, but nothing came. When it did, she ate her dish on her own as the rest of us had finished. In the end they realised their errors and poor service and gave us a discount voucher...which we were a little reluctant to use again.

Nevertheless, went again after being invited by a group of friends. Surely, the service can't be that bad again????

Exactly the same.

Sat in the lounge area, ordered drinks immediately. Was 40 minutes before they arrived. (They are doing themselves out of business here... We could have had 2 rounds by this point!).

Made our way to the table and sat down. 15minutes for poppadums to arrive. I had to ask the waiter to take our order as we were ready.

Served main dishes, without dinner plates.
Had to constantly chase them on drinks ordered.
Watched waiting staff chatting behind us as we're looking at empty plates and waiting for drinks.

Really, 3 hours from start to finish is simply too long. Even in the West End. We all love an experience and a venue restaurant, the food was fine, but they need to do the basics.... We all left not feeling it was worth the hassle.


Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sufian M, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Squareboy,

Thanks for your interesting review. When we designed the restaurant we knew exactly what we had in mind on how we wanted it to look.

A local curry house we are not and the food we serve is of the highest standard and our ortion sizes are on the generous side. We do always advise guests that if their is a problem with their order or they feel they are waiting then they should raise any query with us and we will resolve the issue straight away.

If we are not told about wait times or wrong orders immediately then we are unable to act accordingly.

We are surprised that you had such a bad experience. Depending on what day you came to the restaurant, wait times can be longer if the restaurant is busy. However, if you still feel you had to wait over normal times please do come and discuss with us and we will be more than happy to assist.

We are not sure what exactly you mean when you say you were served main dishes without plates. As a top class restaurant we would never serve food without plates and we will look into this.

The Shampan experience is one that is not meant to be rushed and we feel some of your comments are unjustified. However, please contact us to advise which day you came and we will do our best to look into the points raised.

We hope you have not been put off and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Thanks
Sufian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We've been customers of the Shampan group for over 20 years and I was a bit sceptical when the owners told me of their plans for The Spinning Wheel as I thought it was a bit ambitious. This has been proved wrong because this restaurant is fabulous , the decor , food and staff. If you want something a bit different then visit this place as I'm sure you won't be disappointed !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sasher_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sufian M, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2014

Hi Sasher_11,

Thanks for your review and it has been our pleasure to have you as our customers for the last 20 years. I hope when you saw the new Shampan at the Spinning Wheel you were impressed. Glad you like the restaurant and surroundings. We are not the average curry house, we are something unique and that is why we offer the Shampan experience.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks
Sufian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Been here a few times now with SHMBO. The Sunday buffet being the best value. The owner(s) have spent a small fortune on converting what was a large pub into what is now a huge Indian.
The seperate reception/drinks area is a nice touch. They have to charge above average prices for the food as i dread to think what the setup costs on this restaurant must be !!
With this in mind what comes out the kitchen needs to be spot on,and most of the time it is,but sometimes i have found portion sizes to be a tad on the small side,or the cooking not 100% as it should be.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alan h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sufian M, Owner at Shampan At The Spinning Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Alan,

Thanks for your review and glad you dine with 'She Who Must Be Obeyed'.

We have created a fine indian dining restaurant to give our customers the very best in Indian dining. The Shampan Lounge creates a welcoming atmosphere and allows our guests to relax.

We like to think our dishes are priced accordingly - we believe you get what you pay for and we only produce dishes of the highest quality and taste using the finest ingredients.

We feel your comment regarding portion sizes is a little unfair as our portion sizes are on the large size as this is a compliment that most of our diners give us.

We would like to discuss further what you mean regarding 'cooking not 100% as it should be'. The next time you come to dine with us please raise your concern.

However, we are glad you enjoyed the food and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Sufian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shampan At The Spinning Wheel also viewed

Bromley, Greater London
Welling, Greater London
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Shampan At The Spinning Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing