We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why go here when Westerham is full of good resturants”

King's Arms Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 36 Restaurants in Westerham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Deal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Why go here when Westerham is full of good resturants”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Having moved from the area 5 years ago I was persuaded by good friends from Biggin Hill that this resturant was recommended.
Oh Dear! - should have gone by previous visits, but did hope this would be something new.
Westerham is full of good resturants, why go here?
Arrived at 8pm, told at 15 minutes past one item ordered was off the starters, after 40 minutes not enough fillet steaks & at 9pm 3 starters arrived.
The Prawn Cocktail was splattered across a large plate & when it was queried why it was not in an attractive glass like everyone else, were told they had run out of glassware!
20 minutes later the 3 fillet & one sirloin arrived, none of the fillets had the right (or no sauce)
This coincided with a young man one assumes was a manager who asked if there were any issues.
This was a half empty resturant (now I know why on a Saturday) & the 'stock answer 'we have a big party downstairs' -then why take on too many bookings?
Time to leaveat 9-30pm - Saturday night ruined although we did not pay for starters & wine.
Went over the road to the French resturant opposite who took pity & served up 4 great steaks.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    30
    22
    20
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Level Contributor
120 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Average Pub Food”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Not a lot to say really - good service and average pub food at average prices.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ETJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant lunch”
Reviewed March 11, 2012

We took a trip to Westerham looking fo something to eat. We came apon The Kings arms and it was a very pleasant surprise.

The young lady at the desk checked for a table and then offered a table in the libary or the conservatory. The choice was ours but on such a lovely afternoon she recommenedthe conservatory.

It was nice and airy, not too many tables in one place so we did not feel "squashed" together. The service was excellent. We both had roast dinners and were offered and extra yorkshire with our dinner. In the space of 10minutes dinner was served. It was lovely and hot and plenty of it. The vegetables were cooked just right, not too mushy and not too hard,.

We were not interupted by staff but left to get on with our meal which was a pleasant change. All staff were very friendly and attentive. We would certainly visit this resturant again and recommended to any one who is in the area.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice setting. Very mediocre food”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The setting is nice. A nice traditional pub that is kept well and clean. My amateur eye spotted an ok selection of beer (only of course from the Green King family). Little knowledge of wines when we asked the bar staff and selection mediocre. food pretty dreadful. Thought I was in a TGI Friday restaurant. Not good ingredients cooked ok. Too much had obviously just come out of a frozen packet.

Bar staff were smiley and charming. But that isn't really enough.

Would have a drink there again. But wouldn't eat unless they make some fundamental changes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marquis_of_Salisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“poor service, average food”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

kept waiting ages to firstly see the assistant manager (long story and not for here) and then to order drinks and food at the bar, despite there only being about 3 other customers and had to go and retrieve someone from the bowels of the building when it came to pay
The food was okay, average quality and well presented but a megre serving from a generally quite bland sounding and disinteresting menu
I've had much better and won't be in a rush to return

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank ukiain75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King's Arms Restaurant also viewed

Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to King's Arms Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing