We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gets the balance about right, for a country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Fox & Hounds

Fox & Hounds
Ranked #13 of 35 Restaurants in Westerham
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Caterham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Gets the balance about right, for a country pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

A dilemma with country eating and drinking may be a choice between a pub with average to disappointing food and the fashionable gastropub which strives with a fancy menu but proves neither a good restaurant nor hearty pub fayre - just expensive.

For me, Fox & Hounds gets the balance about right: decent quality food in a country pub atmosphere. It's a bit of a drive uphill off the A25 from Brasted, especially on a dark winter early evening, but worth it. Dog friendly in the bar area with two splendid Bearded Collies in residence. The location means that for good quality food you pay a bit more than a busy competitive town centre, but if the overall experience is agreeable then fair enough. Portions sized about right too, with a fair spread of veg compared with enough restaurants. Nice winter fire once it gets going, and hospitable owners.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edmond_Jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    51
    23
    25
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We arranged a Sunday lunch with some friends at the Fox & Hounds on Sunday 2nd December.

When we made the reservation, we were not advised that the table was needed again in 2 hours (I really think these things should be mentioned on the restaurant's web site at the very least).

Unfortunately, our friends were slightly delayed in traffic, and so the whole lunch felt rushed (no time for desserts, that was for certain). The attitude of the staff seemed brusque throughout.

The food was ok, not great for the price (agree with others on this).

It was great to meet our friends, but we won't be meeting at this pub in the future.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RSB_kent_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
1 review
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

This is a "proper" country pub with the landlord and family living on the premises. We have been going there for over 10 years and it never disappoints. OK, so it's not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for and all the food is lovingly prepared. It always represents truly excellent value for money for us, and add to this excellent wines, beers and tea / coffee plus the added bonus of no mobile phone signal and you have just about the perfect place for a quiet family meal! We have also attended some of their New Year's parties, and these too are well attended, happy and well thought out occasions.

Latest visit was near Christmas 2012, and we were also impressed by the tasteful and pretty decorations.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LRRooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A warm welcome and a cold retreat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We arrived at the Fox & Hounds by chance on Sunday for lunch. We were told the place was full, but kindly the landlord sat us at a spare coffe table, which we gladly accepted.
We ordered two starters and asked the waiter if it was possible to order the child's portion mains as we had seen the portions which looked very large. He was happy to oblige us however when the landlady served our mains she informed us in no uncertain terms that child portions were not available to adults. She seemed angry and told us the waiter should not have taken this order. We felt this was a management issue and one which should have been addressed privately. It embarrassed us and made us feel uncomfortable enough to not stay for dessert.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank martin k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Personal Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Friends booked this pub having been impressed at their last visit. I have multiple food allergies and emailed the pub before hand asking them to accomadate me. I am very pleased to say that they did.
It really is worth you trying this lovely pub which is set in a lovely place. Ideal to then visit Knole national trust gardens and house, especially if you then want to walk off your meal like we did.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fox & Hounds also viewed

Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Brasted, Sevenoaks District
 
Ide Hill, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Fox & Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing