We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best full English breakfast EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Food For Thought

Food For Thought
Ranked #2 of 2 Coffee & Tea in Westerham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: TN16 1AX
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best full English breakfast EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

We have rencently moved to westerham and my partner and i were ready for a full English breakfast to start our long day of painting and sanding. It was our first vist to the village and a dreary Monday. So we started from the top and worked our way down to the green. Checking all menus outside on the way. Luckily we found this hidden Gem.

I must admit at first I did think the prices were a little bit higher then average but I shouldn't had worried. Because this was no average breakie. We were served by a young man called Jamie. And I think the chef was called ray( we were ear wigging). The service was perfect and the tea was very refreshing too. Top marks food for thought. And thank you. We will defo see you soon :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Not-to-shabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    52
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Jewel in the Crown!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

'Food for Thought' is one of the best café/restuarant's around and for many a well kept secret.
It has wonderful location at the bottom of the green in Westerham overlooking the Winston Churchill's statue. Whether you are after a breakfast, brunch, lunch, afternoon tea or dinner this is the place to go to and on busy occasions best to make a booking. It is currently our favourite restaurant be it for Sunday lunch or afternoon tea and the food and choice is consistently good.
It represents good value for money and the 2 or 3 course menu's are excellent with an amazing choice of starters/mains & deserts. Try it and you wont be disappointed. The cheerful service and amazing food produced from their kitchen's is awesome. Keep up the excellent work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Newbs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Warm, cosy and great fresh food. Many of the staff have been there for years and are always welcoming. The cakes are fantastic and you can get a proper afternoon tea with clotted cream. The salads are fresh and the sandwiches lovely. Always a 'go to' place when I need to relax or have a natter with friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank VikkiPaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best tea on a traditional tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I had one of the best cream teas I've had on sometime, and I often seek them out!

It felt a little like stepping back in time, helped no doubt by the music, but the experience was none the worse for it. Sadly the prices were all to 21st century though.

The loose leaf tea served in china was excellent, as was the home scones and thick clotted cream.

If I had to nitpick, I'd have liked a choice of jam, but the strawberry jam provided was enjoyable enough.

Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quality food but still expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

First time to this place, the food quality was good but not sure it was still worth the price plus the waiting time was long.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Apple O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Food For Thought also viewed

Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
Westerham, Sevenoaks District
 

Been to Food For Thought? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing