We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazeballs!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grasshopper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grasshopper Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Westerham B&B and Inns
Coulsdon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazeballs!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

Well what can I say? The most amazing experience I've ever had for a wedding venue!
I'm a hair and make up artist and have been to many venues over the years, but the Grasshopper inn really does go far and beyond!
After attending a wedding there a few months ago, I was amazed to see all the wonderful things they have to offer!
Customer service was fantastic, rooms are Immaculate, food was delicious, every member of staff was very friendly and v helpful!
After attending this wedding I have now booked my own wedding there for next year (2014) and can't say a bad word about anything! Communication is outstanding! Everything I have asked for is possible or has been made so that it is possible! Very excited for February to come around now! I have no doubt my day will go according to plan as they have an amazing team!
Take a look ladies!! You won't be Disappointed! :)
I would highly recommend this venue to anyone who is looking to celebrate any function no matter how big or small! Everyone is so eager to help and make you day as stress free as possible!

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful it would be very hard to chose! Family room as to be the best I've seen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Samantha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    50
    26
    24
    25
See reviews for
53
86
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My partner arrange a surprise night away for us. We arrived at the Grasshopper Inn which is a gorgeous old Tudor building... However, on booking in at reception the reception stated we were booked into 'The Cottage'. She walked us out of the main hotel round the back and walked us back into the car park where she unlocked a door into what can only be described as a square room bang in the middle of the car park! 'The Cottage' if thats what you wish to call it was a square rm with a double bed in it that took up most of the space... There were marks and scratches all over the wall where people obviously try to squeeze past the bed in order to get to the bathrm which on a plus side was lovely. The rm had a window with a very flimsy blind which you would have to keep closed because people walking past can see in. Whilst in the rm 2 cars pulled up and we could clearly hear these peoples conversations and the car doors being slammed shut, we could also hear the traffic from the busy main road. After stateing i didn't want to stay in this rm the receptionist who was very friendly went to see if there was anything she could do, but we were informed there were no other rooms available. We had booked in for dinner too but were so utterly disappointed we choose NOT to spend the night in the room in the middle of the car park and left!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeniG79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here about 15 times and all though the food could be better the character of the building and the friendly staff and atmosphere make it appealing.
The king Henry room is by far the best they have to offer! With a copper bath that would fit 4 people and a super king size bed with dressing area this room is ideal for those special occasions.
Would always recommend a stay at this delightful establishment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazycoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caterham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had our blessing ceremony at The Grasshopper Inn on the 19th January 2013. We are fairly local people and know The Grasshopper of old , but I have to say the change is absolutely amazing, it has finally been restored to a beautiful period coaching inn, with extras.
I have read some of the reviews on this site, good and bad, the bad ones being experienced several months and over a year ago. There is new management, new staff and a new chef that catered our 220 guests reception. It went perfectly, maybe just to mention a very strong Thai Green Curry that blew some heads off!...more coconut milk required :-), but fantastic, brilliant evening and completely thanks to everyone who works there. Perfect venue for a large party and extremely suitable for a wedding, we felt everything planned and suited to our needs and requirements.
Also to add that it had snowed a good few days prior to the Saturday, lots of snow on the ground, but the car park was cleared, the entrance swept and safe, and the roads to the venue were gritted and cleared, allowing a large percentage of our guests to arrive. Nothing was allowed to spoil our day!
So to conclude...out of our 220 strong party, we had many calls over the following few days, all to congratulate and agree that it was a perfectly run evening and resounding 'excellent venue!'
Thank you to Jackie, Ben, Peter and all the staff, you made our evening the best it could have been x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elianne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been going to the Grasshopper fairly frequently for the last few years simply because the food is oustanding. The only problem being that the service is always rather lacklustre or non-descript. We tend to leave well fed but disappointed hence us not going all the time. After our visit on Friday however we were thoroughly impressed. A new chap called James really looked after us from start to finish, made us feel welcome, recommended food and wine and made us laugh throughout. A welcome change and more of the same please.

We have stayed in the hotel before aswell and it really is a lovely setting. Out in the country and a place full of charm and quirky features. Would recommend the hotel and food even though pricey, I feel worth it.

Room Tip: The one we stayed in was 'middle' priced, not huge but beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Attended a family wedding last weekend, the venue is an old, historic Tudor property. We had mulled wine after the wedding ceremony then the wedding reception in one of their cosy suites, followed by the evening reception in a larger suite. The venue is pretty special and the numerous Christmas trees and lovely Christmas decorations added to the ambiance.

The food at the wedding reception and evening buffet was excellent as was breakfast, the service was efficient to the point of being just a little brusque but we could see the place was busy.

We had two rooms which were outside of the hotel in a converted pump house in the car park which initially we were not happy with due to being apart form the rest of the guests and family in the main hotel. However my brother stayed with his young family in one of the family rooms there and none of them slept the first night due to the noise from another party on the previous evening, to say he was unhappy about it was an understatement, the room was directly above the disco area. So it turned out our pump house rooms were probably a good choice in terms of some peace and quiet.

We had a fantastic weekend and would say it was a good wedding venue with decent rooms....so long as they are not the ones directly above the main function room!

Room Tip: The Pump house and Cottage if you want some peace an quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scousechic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Sadly I was just reading the review below with regard to weddings at the Grasshopper Inn. I am so sorry that this couple feels this way but I can assure you – we had the most fantastic wedding – and walked away very pleased with the facility and the service. The Venue is very comforting – the staff treated us with the utmost respect even when my lovely wife decided to request changes at the last minute. We went back to the Grasshopper this past weekend to have a drink and say thank you and met the new Wedding Coordinator. She is bright and cheerful and understands the importance of spending time with with clients – she listens and knows what she is doing. The Grasshopper was dressed for Christmas and is even more romantic and beautiful than normal. Again, I am sorry this couple had a bad experience but I can truly say our experience was wonderful and we would revisit again and again – and suggest all to view and make their own judgment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ehtan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerham
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
5.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
8.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
6.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#19 of 24 in Croydon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 2,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshopper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshopper Inn

Property: Grasshopper Inn
Address: Moorhouse Moorhouse Road, Westerham TN16 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grasshopper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Grasshopper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshopper Hotel Westerham
Grasshopper Inn Westerham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing