We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Blessing' ceremony and evening party”
Review of Grasshopper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grasshopper Inn
Ranked #2 of 7 Westerham B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had our blessing ceremony at The Grasshopper Inn on the 19th January 2013. We are fairly local people and know The Grasshopper of old , but I have to say the change is absolutely amazing, it has finally been restored to a beautiful period coaching inn, with extras.
I have read some of the reviews on this site, good and bad, the bad ones being experienced several months and over a year ago. There is new management, new staff and a new chef that catered our 220 guests reception. It went perfectly, maybe just to mention a very strong Thai Green Curry that blew some heads off!...more coconut milk required :-), but fantastic, brilliant evening and completely thanks to everyone who works there. Perfect venue for a large party and extremely suitable for a wedding, we felt everything planned and suited to our needs and requirements.
Also to add that it had snowed a good few days prior to the Saturday, lots of snow on the ground, but the car park was cleared, the entrance swept and safe, and the roads to the venue were gritted and cleared, allowing a large percentage of our guests to arrive. Nothing was allowed to spoil our day!
So to conclude...out of our 220 strong party, we had many calls over the following few days, all to congratulate and agree that it was a perfectly run evening and resounding 'excellent venue!'
Thank you to Jackie, Ben, Peter and all the staff, you made our evening the best it could have been x

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elianne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 255 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We have been going to the Grasshopper fairly frequently for the last few years simply because the food is oustanding. The only problem being that the service is always rather lacklustre or non-descript. We tend to leave well fed but disappointed hence us not going all the time. After our visit on Friday however we were thoroughly impressed. A new chap called James really looked after us from start to finish, made us feel welcome, recommended food and wine and made us laugh throughout. A welcome change and more of the same please.

We have stayed in the hotel before aswell and it really is a lovely setting. Out in the country and a place full of charm and quirky features. Would recommend the hotel and food even though pricey, I feel worth it.

Room Tip: The one we stayed in was 'middle' priced, not huge but beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Attended a family wedding last weekend, the venue is an old, historic Tudor property. We had mulled wine after the wedding ceremony then the wedding reception in one of their cosy suites, followed by the evening reception in a larger suite. The venue is pretty special and the numerous Christmas trees and lovely Christmas decorations added to the ambiance.

The food at the wedding reception and evening buffet was excellent as was breakfast, the service was efficient to the point of being just a little brusque but we could see the place was busy.

We had two rooms which were outside of the hotel in a converted pump house in the car park which initially we were not happy with due to being apart form the rest of the guests and family in the main hotel. However my brother stayed with his young family in one of the family rooms there and none of them slept the first night due to the noise from another party on the previous evening, to say he was unhappy about it was an understatement, the room was directly above the disco area. So it turned out our pump house rooms were probably a good choice in terms of some peace and quiet.

We had a fantastic weekend and would say it was a good wedding venue with decent rooms....so long as they are not the ones directly above the main function room!

Room Tip: The Pump house and Cottage if you want some peace an quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scousechic100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Sadly I was just reading the review below with regard to weddings at the Grasshopper Inn. I am so sorry that this couple feels this way but I can assure you – we had the most fantastic wedding – and walked away very pleased with the facility and the service. The Venue is very comforting – the staff treated us with the utmost respect even when my lovely wife decided to request changes at the last minute. We went back to the Grasshopper this past weekend to have a drink and say thank you and met the new Wedding Coordinator. She is bright and cheerful and understands the importance of spending time with with clients – she listens and knows what she is doing. The Grasshopper was dressed for Christmas and is even more romantic and beautiful than normal. Again, I am sorry this couple had a bad experience but I can truly say our experience was wonderful and we would revisit again and again – and suggest all to view and make their own judgment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ehtan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

The venue is stunning and on our stay the rooms were very clean. However the service they offer whilst planning your special day is shocking. You have to badger the staff to even get somebody to call you back and basically organise your own day! I knew deep down that things wouldn't be right on the day and my inkling proved to be spot on. Despite paying for a taster evening and carefully selecting out wedding breakfast food, on our actual wedding day we were served a different starter and main meal! When we questioned the manager his response was that it is a different story cooking for 100 people than for 2!!! Thr meal was cooked well but it was nit what we had selected. Our guests were sat at wrong tables and the toddlers meals which we paid for were never served. When my florest arrived the manager changed the arrangements to how he thought they should be rather than how I had arranged. We had put money behind the bar but had many guests comment that they had been charged for beer and wine which should have been free! The manager reimbursed us £500 towards our bar bill but I have to say no amount if money makes up for the poor service we revived. I couldnt even eat the meal on my wedding day as I didn't like it. Basically I think this venue is beautiful but the staff need a few lessons in customer service and the events team are a joke.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DGoodwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Due to the location of the guest rooms and the function rooms this is a nightmare place to stay. The rooms are directly above the function area so when the music is on the floor vibrates and the noise is quite simply unbearable. Only stay if you are attending the function.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jacqandrews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Spent a great evening here at an awards dinner dance a few days ago. Easy to find the venue and plenty of parking, made our way in and had a couple of drinks before dinner.
Bar is a good size and we enjoyed the fizz on offer - Re the reviewer below - our tickets hadn't mentioned Champagne so we were quite happy with the Cava!
Food was good, and waiting staff were very friendly. Dinner was delayed but I understand this was to accomodate quite a few people who'd been held up on their way by a nasty accident. The DJ wasn't too bad, we were all able to make requests, of which most were played - not sure if he was organised by the hotel or the awards organisers, but he got people dancing anyway even if it wasn't to all of our tastes!
All in all a great evening and we'd recommend it as a venue

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Virginia88UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerham
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
5.7 mi away
Donnington Manor Hotel
Donnington Manor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunton Green
286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.1 mi away
De Vere Selsdon Estate
De Vere Selsdon Estate
#19 of 24 in Croydon
2,309 reviews
8.4 mi away
Nutfield Priory Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshopper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshopper Inn

Address: Moorhouse Moorhouse Road, Westerham TN16 2ES, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range: $101 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grasshopper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Grasshopper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshopper Hotel Westerham
Grasshopper Inn Westerham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing