We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grasshopper Inn Westerham”
Review of Grasshopper Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grasshopper Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Westerham B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grasshopper Inn Westerham”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

Stayed at the Grasshopper on 30 May for one night following a fmaily wedding at a local hotel. Really enjoyed our stay, we had booked a cottage 9the only room availbale) and on arrival I must say I was nervous as we were shon to the cra park (!) and what looked rather like a shed!.

On opening the door my fears were alyaed, beautifl boutique style room, lovely big bed nice decor, flat screen TV a well sticked Tea tray and a lovely wet room. The room was prehaps a tad on the cosy side (if you were being really picky) but was very wellm appointed and comfortable.

Breakfast the next day was nothing short of fantastic! eggs royale for me and benedict for him (inc in the room price) great coffee and the service was really first rate- the ebst I have had in a long time. I needed to send a fax and they could not have been more helpfull.

We will definaltely be going back for lunch!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJP905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    55
    30
    25
    26
See reviews for
60
93
2
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Such a beautiful building with the worst staff (and especially management) I have EVER met.
After the revolting "Events Manager" insulted my fiancé and I by laughing at our budget, referring to our ceremony as "yucky lovey stuff" and arguing with me about where the aisle would be (I had previously agreed this with former owners) ... Whoever is dumb enough to employ unhelpful, rude staff will certainly not be getting our money.
The bar staff stood chatting while we waited to order - the ONLY people waiting to order at that., the wine glasses were filthy and it makes me sad to pay so much for a slab of cheese in a white roll. What I can't work out is when this area is so affluent, there is such poor accommodation choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Lexi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2011

Was best man at a wedding held here recently and i cant stress what a great time was had by all. The hotel were more than accomodating and food was fantastic. My room was also very comfortable and the breakfast the morning after the night before was lets say most welcome . When i come down to visit the bride and groom will be booking in to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Stayed in the "cottage" last week. Woke to the noise of rats gnawing very loudly in the wall cavity. Also the noise from the dance class on Monday nights was deafening. Our friends had to be moved the previous week due to "problems" after the rain. Would not recommend the rooms at all.

Room Tip: Don't!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tony558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We booked all the hotel rooms at this venue in Feb 2011, the rooms were being refurbished at the time so once complete in May we payed our deposit for all the rooms. This booking was for the night before our wedding and the night of our wedding in a venue close by to the grasshopper inn.
On the 2nd of November we received an email stating that our booking was being cancelled due to there now being a wedding held at the venue on one of the dates we had reserved.
We called the venue straight away to ask what this email was about, surely we were thinking an error on their behalf. The 'Events Manager' informed us that the wedding booking was a priority compared to our booking so ours was now cancelled! We were also informed that the wedding was booked after we had paid our deposit. Not once during this conversation were we apologised to or offered alternative accommodation, as their terms & conditions state they must find us.
We then emailed to ask what was going to happen in regard to this , with no response. We chased this orginal email, again with no response.
We visited the venue to speak to the managers, before going we worked out that due to this cancellation not only would we have to find new accommodation for our wedding night but we would have to get additional wedding cars, pay more for our current car as it would have to travel further, and also print part of our wedding invite again as the brunch we were going to have the day after our wedding would now be at a different address.
We met the manageress and was straight away met with a very defensive abrupt attitude. We where told that they had given us enough notification to find another venue and it wasnt their issue. When we argued that it was their issue and informed them of the extra costs and how upsetting this was they basically argued that we hadn't accepted any help they had offered ( not at one stage had an alternative accommodation been offered) and it wasn't their fault. We didn't receive an apology until we were getting back our deposit and still with a very rude attitude!
After reading another review on this hotel we have noticed this isn't the first time this has happened and I doubt it will be the last...
I would urge people not to book this venue as given what has happened to us, and to others, they would not hesitate in cancelling future bookings at the last minute, if it meant an extra pound in their back pocket !
We have never in our lifetimes been subject to such appalling customer service and by writing this hope others won't have to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Tilly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We booked a room here to attend a friend's wedding reception nearby. The rooms seemed good value compared to bed and breakfasts in the area (£110 for a double room).
On arrival we went to the reception area in the bar and several members of staff managed to walk past without acknowledging our bags and suit carrier which seemed a little odd - a nod and "someone will be with you in a moment" would have helped. However we were then greeted by a pleasant lady who took us up to the room.
The room Parr was small but very nicely finished. Everything you could need including ironing board and iron. Only niggle was there were fancy taps on the sink and I could not for the life of me work out how to get cold water out - so had to brush my teeth in hot water - not good.
We then went down to have a quick meal as we knew there would be no food at the reception - main course only service and food was good.
We said we would be back late and they arranged for the night porter to keep an eye open for us - which he did and we managed to get back in easily although it was about 1.30 in the morning.
One complaint about the room is that they were very definately not well soundproofed there was obviously a family with a number of children in another room. When one of the children woke up and cried for over an hour it was very clearly audible in our room. I thought I had given up sleepless nights for babies a long time ago. We were woken at about 7 by someone in the corridor talking. I realise there will be some noise in hotel rooms but this area could be improved.
Breakfast was very nice and the service bright and cheerful.
In conclusion It was a pleasant overnight stay and the rooms were nice but the ambiance of the Grasshopper is that of a pub with rooms not a boutique hotel. Having said that it was still good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kazzyv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Had a thoroughly lovely room in "The Cottage" which was beautiful with a fantastic wet room. The food in the restaurant in the evening and breakfast in the onring fabulous and Stuart and all the staff the most friendly and welcoming we have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nikkihamill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Westerham
5.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Donnington Manor Hotel
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Sevenoaks Clacket Lane
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hever Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Lingfield Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Caterham Whyteleafe
1.1 mi away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#4 of 7 in Westerham
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grasshopper Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grasshopper Inn

Property: Grasshopper Inn
Address: Moorhouse Moorhouse Road, Westerham TN16 2ES, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Sevenoaks District > Westerham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Westerham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grasshopper Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Grasshopper Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grasshopper Hotel Westerham
Grasshopper Inn Westerham, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing