We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Nearby Hotels
$44
$42
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$73
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Widnes(Widnes)(Great Value!)
$42
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$81
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$52
$46
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$45
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$78
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (785)
Filter reviews
785 results
Traveler rating
163
288
201
78
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
288
201
78
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnational holidaysexecutive roomcoach partiescoach trippool and gymbreakfast staffnice staywould stay againstayed here for one nightevening mealcomfy bedbreakfast was excellentcar parkself servicechester zoofull englishcooked breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 785 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stay in Holiday inns quite often most days of the working week, this unfortunately has to be one of the worst. If you are a member of the ICH rewards program don't expect any special treatment here. They don't recognise the rewards program other than you get free wifi. Other holiday inns are so much better at the customer service. Premier Elite members, stay in Chester.
Staff are miserable and just don't seem to understand that other hotels are available in the area. You get the impression they are doing you a favour letting you stay there. If you are reading this i would recommend even a short drive and stay somewhere else. If they put you in room 301, sleep in the car you will have a better nights sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 1Steve999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am so sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel - please call me on 07736746297 so that I may help resolve and further understand what went wrong.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed here having attended an event in Cheshire the same day. The price of bed and breakfast for two of us was incredible: significantly lower than I have previously paid in some budget hotels. Our room was a good size and, being on the top floor, having a good view out. Our twin beds were comfortable, and the air-con was much appreciated on a warm and muggy night.

Service from every member of staff encountered: at reception, in the bar, in the health club, in the restaurant, was uniformly good. Breakfast itself was much enjoyed; in spite of heading to breakfast within the last hour of serving, having enjoyed a swim beforehand, there was plenty of choice in all areas.

Some of the corridors and the bathroom were looking a little tired, but all was immaculately clean.

The design of the hotel is excellent, with the bedrooms being situated along a walkway in a separate block from function rooms, the bar, and the restaurant. As a result, any noise generated in those areas would not and did not reach the bedroom. There was a wedding party in full swing during our stay, and we only noticed it whilst driving in, never elsewhere.

We would have no hesitation in staying here again if in the area.

Room Tip: Our room on the top floor had a lovely view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BigWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
It's good to read that you had an excellent stay with us and great that you would have no hesitation in staying with us again if in the area - we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Rather large building on 4 levels. My room for the price i paid was good. Breakfast is excellent. Hotel had a wedding reception same night but it didn't disturb me. It's a good hotel for a one night stopover.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dante30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
It's good to read that you enjoyed your short stay and found breakfast excellent.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and were given a room that would be suitable for someone with mobility problems or disabled. The room itself was very clean and functional. The tea supply was somewhat rationed (2 bags per day) and the bedside lights didn't work. The bathroom was huge and designed for someone to access in a wheelchair. The sink was extremely low for the average user and the tap threw out a huge gush of cold water rather than a nice warm trickle. The toilet was too high and I found my legs dangling off the floor. The bathroom was as big as a bedroom in some hotels. It had privacy glass and some old Venetian Blinds that could not be moved. However, it was extremely clean, spacious and functional and the rooms were cleaned daily and I cannot fault the housekeeping staff.

The room was bright and quiet and overlooked the car park. The only real disturbance was the noise of the doors banging (they are very heavy) and a delivery which took place on Sunday at 8am, so no chance of a lie in.

The food at this hotel is somewhat limited, very repetitive and expensive. There is also a 10% service charge that you don't realise until you get the bill and that is not inclusive of any gratuities. There is however, slightly more available in the restaurant in the evening, but it's be no means cheap. It might be nice if they had a special on each day at lunch or in the evening and if you want room service be prepared to pay and extra £3 a tray for whatever you want.

Breakfast was nothing short of chaotic and there seems to be a lack of organisation in clearing tables and getting people seated and making sure they had hot drinks, so quiet a few queues appearing and people sat at tables with no drinks! There seems plenty of hot food to choose from where you serve yourself. (Personally I didn't like the taste of the scrambled eggs - or the mushrooms which I normally love). There is a selection of fruit and yogurts and make your own toast. I tried the cereal bar and found the milk had run out. Again, plenty of choice but not enough hands to make sure the service is running smoothly at their busiest times.

Wi-fi was totally rubbish. You cannot get a signal on your phone for a BT hotspot or mobile data so you get a code for their wi-fi which is free if you are a member of HIG or you have to pay. It is a single user only so if two of you want to use the internet, be prepared to pay twice or join HIG, which is free to join. However, we could not get this to work on the mobile but it did work on my husband's laptop.

The jewel in the crown at this hotel has to be the gym and pool, which is run by a separate business but is free to guests of the hotel. You only need a pound for the locker and they supply the towels FOC. They will even aim to find some swimwear for you if you didn't bring any.

Overall, it's a good hotel, I've certainly stayed at worse places. Clean, professionally run but there are areas which could do on some improvement, which would change it from a good hotel to a great hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherry-6om6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I regret that some aspects fell below your expectations and I apologise for any disappointment caused, however it's good to read that you felt that overall we have a good hotel.
Please be assured that all your feedback has been discussed with my Management Team for their information and action and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Having stayed here several years ago, and being quite satisfied, we thought it a good place to stay for a few nights, meet up with friends and visit RHS Tatton Park flower show, close enough, but not too close to get caught up in the daily traffic melee. The room was small, but clean (except for a stain on the carpet). Unfortunately, the furnishings were a bit tired, but the bathroom looked as if it had recently had a spruce up. However, the exceptional thing was the staff - all excellent. The air-con unit sometimes dripped water, so I placed a towel on the floor under it and rang reception - V sorry, have a drink on us, and would you like to change rooms? As we had unpacked, a room change wasn't worth it for the minor inconvenience, but we accepted the drinks! Unfortunately, the problem did not get fixed, it was due to a 'blocked drain' in the unit. Two days later we returned to find the thing in bits - but working, so rang reception again to ask if an engineer was testing it and/or returning? Again, many apologies, the engineer had left, but someone would be quickly dispatched to put it back together. The offer of a room change was still available - and this time we received a complimentary bottle of wine, brought to our door by Caroline, the receptionist, herself. Thank You again Caroline. All the staff were great, and the breakfasts went down a treat. If we need to stay in the area again, this place will definitely be on the list, along with Oswald's at Helter Skelter restaurant, 5 mins away in Frodsham.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorEastCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura D, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your most recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your short stay with us and it's great that you'll stay with us again if in the area.
Please be assured that I will share your all feedback with the team, specifically recognising Caroline for her excellence service
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards
Laura Derricott
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews