We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come on Holiday Inn stop charging for wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Come on Holiday Inn stop charging for wifi”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I was very surprised that the holiday inn was included in with our Lands End to John O.groats cycle ride as we were very much in the budget category of accommodation, the room was what you expect but the Swim was a bonus, the meal in the restaurant was OK but expensive at £40 per person. BUT why spoil it all charging for wifi at £12.95 for 24 hours it is almost scandalous . We have stayed in £35 a nigt B&B that realise the importance of FREE wi fi. Come on Holiday INN stop taking the _ _ _ s

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodney B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear rodbin,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed a swim whilst you were staying here with us.
Unfortunately the wifi price’s are not set in house however your comments have been passed onto the relevant department for review.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    247
    185
    63
    48
See reviews for
104
205
37
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed for a weekend B&B. The room and public areas are clean and well maintained. Our standard room was small, smaller than other Holiday Inns, however the design of the accommodation block being separated from the public areas and function rooms means its very quiet, we heard nothing of the wedding reception in the main part. We had a room facing out of the back of the hotel onto lawn and wooded bank which was much more pleasant than I expected, with the windows open there was some road noise but not intrusive at all, We are fussy about noise but both slept well on a very comfortable bed. All the staff we encountered were helpful and cheerful, noticeably better than others within the brand, (with the exception of York HIE who are also very good).

Despite the late booking it was still good value for money. The bar and bar food is expensive compared to outside establishments, but then again its convenient and in line with other hotels of a similar nature. Breakfast was very good and set us up well for the day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Duncx
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be helpful and cheerful, the public areas clean and well maintained your stay good value for money. The team will be happy to hear your comments during their next team briefing. I am also happy to read that you had a peaceful nights sleep in a comfortable bed with an enjoyable breakfast to set you up for the day.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Attended a party at the holiday inn in Runcorn last weekend, the staff were very welcoming, the room was very clean, the function room was a great size and the DJ was brilliant, the breakfast in the morning was one of the best I've ever had.
The only fault with this hotel was the beer from the bar outside the function room, it was absolutely awful.....and expensive. Residents bar was much better and stayed open till 3.00am for us

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreteCheesepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear CreteCheesepie
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be welcoming, the room clean and the breakfast to be the best that you have had.
I am sorry to hear that you found the beer from the function bar to be awful and expensive. There really shouldn’t be any discrepancies with the beer as the barrels are from the same suppliers, however this will be investigated internally and I am thankful for you raising this concern with us.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

we stayed at the Holliday Inn Runcorn as part of our Coach Holiday, on The 22nd June 2013. The staff were excellent And the room was very clean. The evening meal was waitress service and the meal was very good, but restricted. The Breakfast was excellent and of a very high standard, everything you could wish for. and more. the staff were excellent nothing too much trouble the room had a flat screen tv. and was very quite and I would most certainly return thank you all for a great stay. .

Room Tip: was in room 521 quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allanscarborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Allanscarborough
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the staff to be excellent and the breakfast to be a high standard.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on at our monthly guest satisfaction meeting and I am happy that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stay in the holiday inn in runcorn for visiting family and we find it great value for money if you book inadvance . We stay Bed and breakfast and the breakfast is served well offering a good choice and the staff are polite and very helpful with my farther who is old and likes to sit for a while they make him porriage and do not rush him at all.The rooms are clean and tidy with a nice TV and enough space for cloths. The bar is a nice place for drink and snack with TV showing sport and a snooker table . Reception area is also clean and bright comtfy chairs for drinks and chat , all in all a good place to stay .

Room Tip: I have stayed 3 times and the rooms have always been ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smileatcamera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear smileatcamera
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you find the hotel great value for money with polite and helpful staff, the rooms clean and the public areas also clean and comfortable.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on at our monthly guest satisfaction meeting. I am happy that yourself and your father had an enjoyable experience during your visit.
I do hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Just stayed the one night, check in staff very good, bedroom far better than 3star very quiet and a great view from the window, restaurant excellent, manager and staff extremely attentive, overall the best large chain hotel we have stopped in, will use Holiday Inn Runcorn anytime we are staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munro67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Munro67
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found our hotel to be the best large chain hotel that you have stayed in with attentive staff and that you would stay with us again.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on at our monthly guest satisfaction meeting.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Very clean and excellent value for money breakfast a bit expensive though staff were all excellent especially Janine on the reception nothing was a problem for her great night at the wedding the swimming pool was super and young enjoyed our swim after breakfast the twelve o'clock check was great at no extra charge

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jonathan_huglin, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Barry S
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to read that you found the hotel clean and excellent value for money the staff to be excellent and you also managed to visit the leisure club. Janine will be rewarded for her exceptional customer service skills, once again we appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here, your comments will be passed on at our monthly guest satisfaction meeting and I am happy that you had an enjoyable experience during your visit.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
2.1 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
1.8 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#2 of 3 in Frodsham
196 reviews
2.6 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,431 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Ellesmere / Cheshire Oaks
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Days Inn Chester East
#36 of 44 in Chester
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Property: Holiday Inn Runcorn
Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing