We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for overnight or visiting Liverpool or Chester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Runcorn
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I use this hotel a lot as stop-over point for work. The hotel is basic but there's plenty of parking and there's a pool and gym available for use. Food is pretty basic but if all you want is a stop-over point, then you're fine. The hotel is well positioned for trips to Chester (30 mins) or Liverpool (30 mins) as it's right on the M53. Staff and serbice are excellent - much better then you'd normally expect from a Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrispyTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear CrispyTrips
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to hear that you are a regular guest who finds the staff and service to be excellent. Customer service is our main focus and we appreciate your feedback, your comments will be passed onto the team.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Yours Sincerely
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 762 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2012

Their rooms are clean and tidy, the staff are helpful and friendlyf. Its in a good location because it is close to motorways and shops. Has a pool, free WIFI, Newspapers. Bar drinks are a bit expensive, but you expect to pay more in a Hotel. Breakfast is expensive too if you pay for room only BUT there is a good choice of cereals, fruit, hot food etc. Overall a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear Ann M M
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments regarding the helpful and friendly staff will be passed on to all teams.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn with another couple. We were lucky to get a refurbished room whilst our friends didn't. The room was very nice, comfortable bed and clean, no complaints there. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and thought the quality and service was excellent. We went into Liverpool for the day, its only 15 minutes on the train. Breakfasts were very good and the friendly Scottish staff member couldn't do enough for you. In fact all the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2013

Dear JoeandSandra
Thank you for taking the time to complete your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding the friendliness of the staff and the cleanliness of the room. Your comments will be passed onto the team members and I will ensure that Audrey is rewarded for her efforts.
I hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

I've been the holiday inn many years for the party nights but this is the first year that I know of it that they have done all inclusive. Well worth every penny, £39.95 for a 3 course meal which consisted of vegetable soup and roll for starter, roast turkey Christmas dinner and I think it was Black Forest gateaux for desert, decent portions and absolutely delicious. The wine beer or soft drinks were free from the time you sat at your table till I think 11.30, as one bottle of wine emptied it was replaced by one of thievery helpful staff. The tables were set out beautifully real Christmas spirit. They had a photographer also on the premises to catch wonderful Christmas photos. Brilliant night I hope they do it again next year. Great value for money. Well done to all the staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidays070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear holidays070,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed one of our Christmas Party Nights. I will be sure to pass your comments on to every one of the team who was involved in the organising, decorating and hosting of the night.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times previously and it is great value for money. Good breakfast. Great pool and jacuzzi. However I would advise people to check if the hotel is having a function before booking. We stayed on a Friday night and there was something going on which resulted in us being woken up by drunken guests at 1am, 2.15 and lastly at 3.45am. No-one answered on reception when we tried ringing. This is the only downside to what is otherwise a good hotel. As I say check when booking and avoid on function nights (unless you are happy with not too much sleep!!)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear Ann442,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am pleased to hear that you find the hotel to be good value for money with a great breakfast, pool and Jacuzzi. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed throughout the night by party goers. We do try to allocate the rooms with this in mind however it is not always possible on busy nights. I will pass your comments onto the Nights Manager who can issue more training on regular routine checks of the corridors during our party nights.
We appreciate you taking the time to comment as without guest feedback it would be impossible to improve our hotel which is something here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are striving to do.
I hope to welcome you back in the future.
Yours Sincerely
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed for one night on a business trip. Check in was friendly and efficient, had some free goodies for being a platinum member. Ate food in the bar which was speedy and good quality. Hotel seemed quiet, clean and well maintained. Lots of free parking. Breakfast selection in the morning was excellent. Every single member of staff that I came across was friendly and smiling!
Only let down was size of the bedroom, which had everything in it you would expect, except for floor space - barely enough room to walk down either side of the bed, to get the bathroom door closed behind you you either need to stand in the bath or manoeuvre around the toilet. Bearable for a night or 2 but would have become irritating on a longer stay.
Would definitely stay again for a short stay.

Room Tip: Ask if they have any larger than normal rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RawCarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Dear RawCarrot,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
I am delighted to hear that you found the check in friendly and efficient, food of good quality, the hotel to be clean and all staff to be friendly and smiling.
I will certainly be passing your comments on to the team.
I do hope we are able to welcome you back in the near future.
Your Sincerely
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We use this hotel every time we go north. Great stop over when going further up country or just for a mini break around the Manchester area. Fantastic buffet breakfast, just what you need to set yourself up for a busy day. Easy to find and great access to most motorways. Staff wonderful and very friendly

Room Tip: Basic rooms tend to be a bit small. Go for something on an "including breakfast" for best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VincentGarrington, General Manager at Holiday Inn Runcorn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Dear Julie W
Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Runcorn.
Here at the Holiday Inn Runcorn we are always striving to improve our customer service as we feel that it is the only way to further improve our business.
We appreciate you taking the time to pay compliment regarding your stay here and your comments will be passed on at our monthly management meeting. I am delighted that you are a returning customer and had an enjoyable experience during your latest visit.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Jonathan Huglin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Runcorn
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
2.6 mi away
Campanile Runcorn
Campanile Runcorn
#3 of 3 in Runcorn
233 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Forest Hills Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
5.5 mi away
The Park Royal
The Park Royal
#1 of 3 in Stretton
1,564 reviews
5.4 mi away
Days Inn Chester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Runcorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Runcorn

Address: Wood Lane, Runcorn WA7 3HA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Runcorn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Runcorn
Price Range: $58 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Runcorn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Runcorn enjoys an excellent location close to M56 Jct 12 and with close proximity to Chester, Liverpool and Manchester . This Runcorn hotel is an excellent base for visiting local attractions such as Chester Zoo, Cheshire Oakes, Liverpool FC and Manchester United FC. The Hotel combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers including Kids Stay & Eat Free*. Facilities include 153 bedrooms including standard, executive, family and accessible rooms, all are fully air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. Conference and banqueting facilities for up to 500 people and a Spirit Health and Leisure Club which includes a swimming pool. The hotel boasts 11 meeting rooms that cater for all requirements from training courses, meetings to weddings and dinner dances. Complimentary and accessible car parking is available.The Spirit Health and Leisure club offers a gym and a large indoor heated swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Runcorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Runcorn Hotel Runcorn
Runcorn Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing