We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
450 results
Traveler rating
203
156
56
18
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
203
156
56
18
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeefeater next doorpreston brookbeefeater restaurantbusy motorwayquiet sidemeal deallight sleepercomfortable bedsat nava great nights sleepchester zoofamily roomlady on receptionstayed for one nightnight's sleepcar parkingmain road
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
342 - 347 of 450 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Enjoyed my stay and the attached table table resturant. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and my room was very clean. Bathroom lovely. Will defoo stay here again as I travel here for business reguarly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank niclwb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

For me, Preston Brook is associated with years gone by as my aunt's house was at Tunnel End, above the northern end of Preston Brook Tunnel which linked the Bridgewater and Trent and Mersey Canals. Today, the area has been built up beyond recognition.

Just a daft little thing but I've always thought that Premier Inns' cheap, creaky staircases let the brand down badly. They could have a sign on them - 'welcome to our shoddy hotel'. We arrived lateish on a Wednesday with a busy agenda for Thursday. Didn't really like the look of the adjacent restaurant's menu, being the standard, large plastic-coated thing found in all chain establishments these days, so toddled off to Frodsham.

Continuing on the restaurant theme, whilst the offered £8.95 breakfast was fine, we were spoilt by the all-you-can-eat £3.99 breakfast at Innkeeper's Lodge, Quinton just a couple of nights previously. In both places however, the peaceful summer's morning was disturbed by inane music. Why do just about all establishments do this? A great philosophy eh - let's be like everyone else and play mindless music to our customers.

Ah yes, the hotel ... Dreadful location, adjacent to the M56 (see pic). Surely PI's planners could have come up with a better spot? Our room was, of course, on the north, M56 side. At breakfast, I got chatting to a 'regular' who said that he and his colleagues always phoned ahead (01928 716829) to make sure they were allocated a room on the south side, away from the noise.

The proximity of the motorway exacerbated the problems we encountered at night. At around midnight, the room temperature was 27.5 degrees on day one (see pic) and 28 degrees on day two. The text on the temperature control for the room stated "This controls the heater operation but cannot cool the room" - how true. A provided fan had been running for hours at this time and clearly hadn't helped at all; in fact the noise and draft created by the fan caused further problems. In normal circumstances, a window could perhaps be opened to try to create a bit of a noiseless draft but not here with the M56 outside.

In the morning, on our upper floor, the housekeepers were complaining about the stifling temperatures. In my humble opinion, temperatures were perhaps heightened by the heat gain from the roof; the temperature on the ground floor was distinctly cooler.

Large cypresses planted outside the north windows are, I guess, supposed to aid the noise problem and also provide a cooling effect. Just a small experiment confirmed that this had a marginal effect on the noise; by far the greater benefit coming from the double glazing of course (the additional inner double glazing also had marginal effect). A substantial downside of the cypresses is that they block any view that may have been had of the Mersey and south Lancashire but more, they reduce the light in the rooms substantially (see photo taken towards midday on day two).

Phone ahead; take a south side, ground floor room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wirepuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Runcorn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for weekend while visiting Chester and the zoo very good service and fairly central if not wanting to stay in city. also near for Liverpool Ellesmere port etc. the rooms we had were very clean tidy and had a large flat screened t v it also had a large free standing fan that came in helpful with the temperature being around 30C recommended for family, friends and couples

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purdysjp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Chosen purely on location (and a little reassurance from TA reviewers) this Premier Inn was perfect for our planned shopping trip to Cheshire Oaks Designer Outlet. Having priced others on much closer to the outlet with over inflated prices we opted for Premier Inn (at £39) which was a 10 minute simple drive the next morning. Consistent with other Premier Inns the welcome is warm and efficient from the staff, our room was recently refurbished, spotlessly clean and due to the recent hot weather a fan had already been provided. Very comfortable bed and a clean bathroom.
We didn't eat that evening though had a drink in the Preston Brook restaurant/pub attached, food looked good as it passed and there was a nice outdoor seating area.
It served its purpose very well and I would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Cheshire Oaks (which is also well worth a visit by the way!)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pollyschoices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the preston brook premier inn whilst visiting relatives in near by Palace Fields. We've stayed in alot of premier inns but this one is by far the most impressive right through from reception to house keeping to the breakfast and bar staff! The welcome was so warm and the receptionist couldnt do mor. House keeping always so pleasant and in the table table restaurant and bar couldnt do more! Every morning they asked if our breakfast was ok ... This i havent even got from some 4 and 5 star hotels we've stayed in!! Rooms were spotless and a fan was very much welcomed bonus in the room as we arrived to such hot weather. The hotel is so quiet at night you wouldn't know you were beside such a busy road. Runcorn east rail station is only 5 minutes away and we used this to get a fast 20min journey to the wonderful city of Chester. Also, check out the night life in the gardens :) Would we stay again ... Yes ... We are waiting on an excuse to get back! Well done Preston Brook Premier Inn ....

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill8288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews