We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Norton Priory Museum and Gardens
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Witch's hunt

Fab day out. Lots of intresting things to do indoors and out. Great for young and old. My two girls... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Stacey G
via mobile
Really good

Was amazed at the amount of history in the surrounding area. Lovely dayout. Gardens and walks were... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
franklucas931
via mobile
Read all 270 reviews
  
Reviews (270)
Filter reviews
270 results
Traveler rating
191
54
17
6
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
191
54
17
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walled garden st christopher well worth a visit tea room hidden gem gift aid an industrial estate quinoa interesting place great place to visit cake interactive exhibits monastic site all ages taking place entrance fee children and adults
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 270 reviews
Reviewed 4 days ago

You will struggle to spend half a day here, with children especially with regards to the price for entry and I live within the area. It has interactive learning indoors, which is upstairs. Has onsite cafe, which can be expensive for a family on limited funds. But food is of a good standard. Gift shop can be a little expensive also. Which can be purchased cheaper in other outlets.
It's a lovely place but not value for money.

Thank sharon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fab day out. Lots of intresting things to do indoors and out. Great for young and old. My two girls ( 13 and 5 yrs) loved it .

Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Was amazed at the amount of history in the surrounding area. Lovely dayout. Gardens and walks were lovely

Thank franklucas931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good museum with lots of history and exhibits good cafeteria. Fantastic gardens with many interedting plants insects.Very good for schools and very educational

Thank Kenneth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2018 via mobile

A big yeah for our local Norton Priority and gardens. This is going to sound rather sad living within walking distance of the priority in Sandymoor for over twenty years. And it took us this long to find the time to visit when our Chinese friends stayed with us. Yeah it’s a hidden gem and well worth the visit. They always say that some of the best things in life are on your doorstep. We are aware of the events that take place there and we shall make the effort to support the local history and cultural activities in the future. So! Folks it’s a yeah from us. Enjoy your day xx

Thank GCD2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2018

I have to admit i had never heard of Norton Priory until last week, and was amazed at what a wonderful place it is.

The staff are superb , they are so helpful and welcoming

Great for all the families irrespective of the weather, there is 2 floors of artifacts which provide an amazing insight to both its history as a monastery and as a residential dwelling , the most beautiful original arched cellar room and external ruins showing its previous layout , with an abidance of wild gardens which house a herb garden, a fairy garden, a music garden a couple of small ponds and a pathway up the Bridgewater canal.

Loads of activities for the kids

A lovely on site inexpensive restaurant selling everything from drinks, sandwiches, cake, small light meals

Free on site parking

2  Thank NW001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I've lived in Runcorn for 42 years and never once visited here ..however I thought it was about time we went, we were not disappointed..feel guilty for not going earlier now...entry fee reasonable, so much history, you can even get married there, nice little cafe, gorgeous grounds for walking round, lots of activities on throughout the summer for all ages
I will definitely be taking my grandchildren there when they are old enough

1  Thank rockstar32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

I took my daughter here today, and we had a great time. There’s so much do, today there was a gingerbread man theme with a walk through the woods to find the gingerbread man. There’s so much to do, we didn’t even do it all. It’s really good value for money too. We will definitely be back soon.

Thank Clare-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018

Norton Priory is a lovely day out, there is a smallish museum part with really informative displays, there are puzzles and interactive displays for the kids (and grown ups!)

The gardens and woods are fantastic, it's a really easy walk for anyone who worries about getting around, there are activities outside too, The grounds/ ruins are fun and have information spots all over so that you may imagine what once was.

All the staff we came across were friendly and informative, the café is reasonably priced for a nice cup of tea too!

My two children aged 5 and 2 really enjoy coming here and like yesterday there are lots of events happening so look out for those. We have a National Heritage card which we found gets us a discount which was an added bonus.

Thank foranmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2018 via mobile

Our friends were visiting us from Yorkshire and we had been looking at different places to take them to visit.
I was on the computer looking to visit places nearer home in Widnes and Norton Priory came up. Unfortunately we haven't lived here that long and hadn't heard of Norton Priory, sad on our part that we hadn't found this hidden treasure gem before.
There was free parking area and a little walk to our adventure!
It cost us for four adults with concessions £22.25. The staff themselves were very helpful informed us what was going on that day and directions.
We decided we would go to the walled gardens first what a pleasant surprise a large area that was a joy to wonder around. As it was a Medieval Weekend we wanted to go and watch the event which last about 20 minutes.
Then we wondered around the old ruins and building. After that we went around the small museum.
There is a cafe there were we headed next, as it was nice to sit down and have a drink. Hot chocolate in a large cup £2.50 and tea at £1.40. There were sandwiches etc which you could purchase as well.
Toilet facilities were near the cafe/main entrance. Also a small shopping area.
We spent around 3 hours wondering around and probably could have spent longer.
We definitely would visit again and would reccomend this gem to anyone.
Don't forget your camera!

Thank Smado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NortonPrioryMuseum, Manager at Norton Priory Museum and Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2018

Dear Smado,

Thank you for your lovely and detailed review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Norton Priory

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews