We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and extremely cheerful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge London Romford
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Romford
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Cheap and extremely cheerful”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We travel round the UK a lot, and Travelodge is always the first website we look at. If there's one near to where we are going, we use it. Staff are always pleasant, rooms always clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Stephen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    66
    37
    15
    35
See reviews for
43
68
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Have never stayed in a Travelodge before and was pleasantly surprised. Staff very helpful on our late check in and gave me extra tea and milk. Room was very clean as was bathroom. Had everything we needed for a one night stop over. The only thing we did not like was the location up a back road and no parking facilities. But if you want town center location then this is it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have stayed in multiple budget hotels before, but this is by far the WORST. Not only was the lobby and outside full of (thugs) and the reception not doing anything to move them outside the hotel even though they were not guests.

The reception just handed me a key and room number, with ZERO information about anything helpful whilst chewing gum may i add. Get in the lift to room and on my floor there was rubbish bag split all over the hallway and sticky flooring... almost like a university party had just happened.

Room was ok, clean, But window was broken so could not keep it open in a hot room as it was high up. TV remove smashed to bits and patchy WiFi at best.

Then, at around 08:30AM the fire alarm was set off, I was so angry as knew there was not a real fire, only someone setting it off. I packed my bags and walked down stairs with some of the over guests, luckily at this stage I was dressed and ready to leave at 09:30AM.

When we all arrived down stairs, everyone was IN THE LOBBY and the very unhelpful staff member just saying leave the hotel. No direction, No help, No information, Nothing.

When asking where it was located, I quote "No idea, probably a hoax!" and left it as that. I handed my key to her at this stage and walked off away from the hotel. Whilst doing so, it would seem the culprits thought it was hilarious laughing and joking about "c'était lui!" - It was him! with french students.

So over all, the staff have no care, no interest and zero professionalism even in a mega budget hotel. The hotel is mainly used by what looks like a hostel.

If on business - DO NOT USE THIS HOTEL!

Room Tip: Higher floors are HOT with no air con, or fan and windows have no way of staying open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Romford hotels

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Located in the back streets of Romford, the hotel itself at first glance appears resonable. However when you delve into the underbelly you quickly appreciate how rough the hotel is with terrible service.
Two rooms of a party of 5 rooms were robbed not once but twice taking a large sum of money and two of the latest iphones. The member of staff on duty, a male with glasses knew the potential thiefs and discouraged the group of young vulnerable girls from calling the police. Furthermore he insisted on the young girls moving downstairs to the lobby, allowing the thieves to revisit the room and take further items. When the crime was reported, after the potential thieves left, the hotel chap, described above stated there was only one cctv camera - he lied there are in fact 8 (later found out whilst talking to the mananger).

Given the suspicious actions of this chap we suspect it was planned.

The manager of this travelodge appeared to have not briefed any of his staff as to the theft - this can happen again.

The manager was poor. Poor service a compliant to head office will be made and compensation will be sought.

Please do not give your money to travelodge in Romford - it is dangerous.

Robbed in Romford.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smilingzebra1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Services at Travelodge London Romford, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
We are very sorry to learn of the poor experience you had at our Romford hotel smilingzebra1. We do take matters of theft very seriously and our hotel will ensure that a thorough investigation is carried out. If you haven't already we would urge you to contact us so we can investigate this in detail, please could you visit our website and use the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

We had a one night stopover and found it good value, basic room with good comfortable bed. Fantastic location to walk to shops, market, eateries, train and bus. Only issue is location on busy road can be a bit noisy with windows open. Would stay here again as the other benefits out way the negative. Thanks to Happious for his great attitude upon our checkout.

Room Tip: Rooms facing market lane are not so noisy and high location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Stratton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I'm sure I've said this before, but Travelodge really need to pick up the gauntlet thrown down by Premier Inn. OK, they're not as pricey, but the difference really shows.

This particular Travelodge is either newish, or recently re-furbished as it is in a pretty good state of repair, and the matt cream walls have not yet acquired that patchy pallor so common in the group.

There is a Britannia car park next door and the overnight charge is £6.50 provided you get your ticket validated at the Travelodge reception.

Gripes include centrally-horizontally pivoting windows that close of their own accord unless you wedge them. Also the housekeeping staff believed I was so clean I did not need soap (lucky I had my own). Their is a busy road outside which would be a pain in the summer with the window open unless you sleep as heavily as I do.

Apart from the, the hotel was reasonably-priced (averaged £65/night), clean and comfortable. So mus'n't grumble!

Room Tip: try and get one facing away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Entered to very happy pleasant staff who sorted early check in and helped directions and information for parking car. Room was clean and very comfortable. All in all a very pleasant experience. Would recommend and want to return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Chelsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romford
0.3 mi away
Harefield Manor Hotel
Harefield Manor Hotel
#5 of 6 in Romford
281 reviews
1.0 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
81 reviews
2.3 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hornchurch
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
634 reviews
2.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Hornchurch
5.4 mi away
Travelodge London Barking
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge London Romford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge London Romford

Property: Travelodge London Romford
Address: St Edwards Way | Market Place, Romford RM1 3AB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Romford
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Romford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge London Romford 2*
Number of rooms: 242
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Travelodge London Romford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Romford Central Hotel Romford
Travel Lodge Romford
Romford Travelodge
Romford Travel Lodge
Travelodge London Romford Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing