We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening and food”
Review of Blue Orchid

Blue Orchid
Ranked #9 of 237 Restaurants in Romford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Romford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely evening and food”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I booked to go to the newly relaunched Blue Orchid with my family to celebrate my wifes birthday. The Blue Orchid has been in the area for many years and we have used the restaurant many times over the years and it has always been good but now all newly laid out with modern decor and still great food it really is worth a visit.
The prices are comparable to most others and the service was great. I have no complaints at all and look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    39
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A surprising god experience”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Well after scouring websites for a west Essex Chinese good restaurant we definitely found one.
Been past this place a thousand times over 35 years around the roundabout but never ventured in.
I suppose its natural to think that a long standing establishment is staid and behind the times.
Well the 3rd generation brothers have refurb'd and are doing a nice job here.
We were greeted graciously and shown to our nice round table with starched napkins.
The menu is extensive with all the usual favourites.
We chose the ribs, very nice chicken satay and squid with chilli sauce which was well fried but not greasy. The starters were healthy portions.
We had beef with black bean chilli sauce with which was tender and tasty.
Sweet and sour chicken with egg fried rice , Peking duck with hoisin sce tasty and big portion.
Duck in plum sauce was tangy and well cooked.
Nice. Singapore noodles and Chinese vegetables .
All were very full as the portions were generous.
All the time the service was impeccable, the guys were honestly pleased to serve and pleasant without the corp tick box service questions.
The banana toffee with ice cream was crispy, hot and fresh.
Our ladies said the toilets were impeccable.
So for a definitely a return visit is on the cards, forget the rest of west Essex

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bizzyboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A nice little Chinese Restaurant at the heart of Romford.”
Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We went for the second time last night. We visited last year when the deco was a bit dated but food was excellent.
This time round we noticed the restaurant has gone through a complete renovation. It looks much modern now. We ordered different dishes than first time. Most of them were cooked to perfection except for the crispy prawn which I thought was quite bland. The service was fine up until the time we wanted to pay. We were given our bill but then after waiting 20 minutes no one came to collect the money so we had to get up and look for the waiter to take our payment.
Other than this, it an excellent restaurant for having good Chinese food. We went on Wednesday night and all the tables were full. It speaks for itself.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank April1234567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Blue Orchid”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Went to the Blue Orchid for the first time on Saturday 30th March to celebrate my daughters 24th Birthday and must say it was very enjoyable experience. The food was really excellent and like a previous comment is around £35 per head with drinks but you could do it cheaper depending on choices. The service was good and would definitely recommend this restuarant Booking is essential as I see a few couples and small group turn up for a table and had to be turned away. If your a reasonable distance from the restaurant, I'd recommend a cab as the only parking is limited to local multi-storey if they are 24hr.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had our first meal at the Blue Orchid this evening and it was lovely. We thoroughly enjoyed every dish, the staff are very attentive and made a fuss of our son, we had taken him there for his birthday, which we really appreciated. The only thing we were disappointed with was that we hadn't found it sooner, we've lived 5 minutes down the road for the last 6 years and haven't been able to find a decent Chinese meal anywhere nearby. We will definitely be returning and look forward to it!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CLW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Orchid also viewed

Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 
Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to Blue Orchid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing