We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harefield Manor Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Romford
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed March 30, 2007

Stayed for 1 night in March on business. Arrived and parked without problems. Receptionist (lady) was very polite and i was checked in 2 minutes. Room (207) very spacious and very clean. Bathroom quite small but spotless, the double bed was zipped together as stated by other reviews but was very comfortable. LCD TV and wireless connection available in room. The room was in the main coach house building not the annexe building. Both the bar and restaurant both very good. Had a meal from the small bar menu (not a la carte) and it was extremely nice. I have to say the staff were superb and very polite. Very suprised to see negative reports on here. Will definetely go back.

  • Liked — Extremely Clean, polite staff, nice room.
  • Disliked — small bathroom.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank trollking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    70
    42
    37
    36
See reviews for
42
88
9
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2007

There are few places to stay in Romford, and you'd only go there on business, so they rather have you over a barrel - which means they can charge fairly high rates for dingy rooms on a main road (which you have to cross to get breakfast), while the manager ostentatiously parks the Aston Martin at the entrance. The road noise and light pollution issues noted by other reviewers certainly are noticeable, and the inclusion of ashtrays in ostensibly non-smoking rooms amply demonstrates a serious confusion about customers' needs. That said, the reception and restaurant staff are very friendly and helpful to a fault, and if you can afford the slightly inflated prices the restaurant is authentic Italian and well worth eating in, which is a rarity for hotel catering. Use if you need to be in Romford/Havering, but don't be fooled by any suggestion that this is London - you can't even use an Oyster card from out here.

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PeripateticPoleaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Romford hotels

North of England
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2006

I decided to wait posting this to see if I got any written response from the Hotel !!!
We paid £90 a night room only for 2 nights and were a bit disappointed. Firstly, we found we were staying in an Annexe Wing on the other side of a Busy Main Road. I don't remember mention of this on their website. Secondly, the annexe rooms were very new and nicely decorated...but extremely hot with no air con. So the only way to cool the room was to open the windows at which point you're confronted with very loud trafic noise. I was further annoyed by the fact that £90 a night room only does not get you a Chest of Drawers to put your clothes, so resorted to using bed side table. The next gripe was the Bed as stated before-2 singles zipped together. When we went to sleep, it was like sleeping through Blackpool Illuminations as the curtains were extremely thin and light so the street lighting directly outside lit up the room like a Christmas tree. The Breakfasts were very ordinary and limited for the price too. I spoke to the manager about these isues and they did offer to move us to another room but we'd already unpacked by this point. He said all the beds were like ours and gave some excuse that Blackout curtains were illegal under fire regulations. Seeing as Prenier Travel Inn have them, I don't believe him. He asked me to write my issues down, which i did but I have since received no written apology/offer or voucher for us to come back or a reduction in the Bill when we departed.
The Hotel was a nice hotel which has made a string of basic errors and I would not be returning.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zackary71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire,England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2006

We stayed in a 'newly refurbished' executive room and were really disappointed.

The bed was just absurd, rather than the promised king size bed it was actually 2 single 2'6" wide single beds zipped together with no padding over the Zip or join. This was incredibly uncomfotable but sleep was also made very difficult by the hotel floodlight that was directed straight through our bedroom window. I asked the hotel if this was left on all night and was told it would go off shortly, this was just before 11pm. In fact it stayed on all night.

The room had been redecorated but painted woodchip on the walls wasn't impressive, nor was the largely polyester bedding or the fact that it was impossible to cool the room by opening the window without being disturbed by traffic on the adjacent main road.

My final gripe is that having refurbished the room they saw fit to retain an old discoloured toilet seat.

We shall not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripper_From_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Fl
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2006

Great hotel just 20-30 minutes from all the sights in London. The owner and staff do all they can to personalize the service, very fast broad band in the rooms, good food at restaurant, clean/big rooms. Delightful place that I would take my family to again. I travel 42 of 52 weeks a year and this is the best place I have stayed in the UK. Really good value, wonderful service.

Helpful?
3 Thank rjohns13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Romford
0.7 mi away
Gidea Park Hotel
Gidea Park Hotel
#3 of 6 in Romford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford Central Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn London Romford West Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Devonshire Hotel
Devonshire Hotel
#1 of 3 in Hornchurch
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
4.4 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
4.3 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harefield Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harefield Manor Hotel

Property: Harefield Manor Hotel
Address: 33 Main Road, Romford RM1 3DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater London > Romford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Romford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harefield Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Harefield Manor, a quality hotel with competitive prices. The main reception of the hotel lends itself to a Victorian House, originally built in 1881, one of the most prestigious buildings in the Essex area. The hotel has 53 en-suite bedrooms; all the rooms are comfortable and well equipped. More importantly, the housekeeping team pays particular attention to cleanliness, comfort and upkeep throughout the hotel. Harefield Manor's on-site restaurant, I Paparazzi Ristoranto Italiano, is renowned for its excellent cuisine and has won many accolades to sustain this factor. The restaurant has a range of menus, a fine a la carte menu complimented by a specially selected wine list plus the great value Special Acclaimed Set Menu or just choose from the snack menu and a quick drink in the bar or garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Harefield Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harefield Manor Hotel Romford, Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing