We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK food but rather depressing atmosphere”
Review of The Top Oak

The Top Oak
Ranked #18 of 243 Restaurants in Romford
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Charming Country Pub & Restaurant Set In The Heart of Stapleford Abbotts, Essex. Newly refurbished in Sept/Oct 2016 & relaunched as The Top Oak, previously known as The Royal Oak. Please see our website for full details on Menus & Up & Coming Events.
Sussex, England
Level 6 Contributor
825 reviews
492 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“OK food but rather depressing atmosphere”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

OK pub food - we had an omlette, and a veggie pie, and both of them were of average to good quality. But the place was deserted, the TV was dominant, and the decor was in need of updating. It was convenient for us, but I would not recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Fudge03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    12
    7
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pleasant village feel”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Has visited twice over the last two days. Had prawn dishes for starter and light ones. The burger was great, slightly burnt. Pie mash and a starter Mon-Fri was a great value for £10. Service was great. Lots of seats to choose from: in the pub, in a more sophisticated restaurant area or outside all 360 degrees around the pub. A designated area for smokers is outside.

Brilliant get away from the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LydiaYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looking forward to next visit!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

First visit to this restaurant and we were very pleased with it! Very hot day and the eating area was nice and cool. Two lovely outside areas. One in the front and the other one outside the restaurant area, so you could sit there to have your meal if you like! Lots of attractive hanging baskets and flowers everywhere. Felt like we were on holiday!!
I didn't want a large meal, so the waitress suggested I have a children's meal, which they don't always allow in some places. It was perfect for me. My husband really enjoyed his meal too, with delicious desserts! The service was excellent as were the friendly staff.
We will definitely be going back.
Can't understand the reviews criticising it, but there is another " Royal Oak" pub a bit further down the road, so maybe they are confusing it with that. It's not often you get two pubs with the same name so close together.
However, we thoroughly recommend this pub!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangadfan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We frequently visit the Royal Oak and are rarely dissappointed. This time my son had the fish and chips and it was beautifully cooked and large enough to keep this teenager very happy. As I am trying to diet I asked if I could just have a starter and enjoyed the koftas. They were delicious and the portion size was very generous. Every member of our family were thrilled with their dinner, starters and mains. Most of the staff were smiling and helpfull and the atmosphere was good. Its a good old fashion pub with excellent food, whats not to like.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank caroline n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place for a birthday lunch.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Just been to lunch and had the cod in beer batter and chips. It was excellent. Piping hot and lovely and fresh. The service was excellent too. We will definitely be visiting again. Thankyou to all the staff for a very pleasant lunch. Went with my husband, daughter and son in law and we all thought the same.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maureenp1937
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Top Oak also viewed

Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 
Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to The Top Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing