We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of room for improvement!”
Review of Caraway Lounge

Caraway Lounge
Ranked #41 of 292 Restaurants in Romford
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Attended a Saturday evening and unfortunately the service was horrendous. Waited a long time for orders to be taken, then nearly 1hr 30 mins for food. Unacceptable especially when we had a hungry child with us, the waitress even brought us another table's order which was left with us for about 5 minutes before someone realised.
When the food did arrive, it was really good. Unfortunately the quality of the food is being let down by service. Sadly our experience was not isolated as a lot of people had to wait a long time to be served. A real shame!

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DangerousDRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (97)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food and entertainment was great. Highly recommended. Had an amazing time and the dj just topped the night off

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2019 via mobile

This was my first visit to this restaurant and I’m used to something a bit more run of the mill. Whilst outside it looks a bit tatty, the decor and ambiance inside were better. Although I found the menu a bit limited from the usual Indian fair, there was still plenty to chose from. Food was hot and very tasty, service was a bit hit and miss, always having to call back staff for drinks, but also nice not to be hassled and not feel rushed to leave! All in a good night out!

Date of visit: May 2019
2  Thank loubellmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2019 via mobile

We have been regular customers for this and the gants hill restaurant for around 20 years. We always prefer Punjabi cuisine to Bengali so as Carraway was authentic punjabi it had always suited us. The last visit on Thursday 11th April 2019 was the stuff from horror stories. The food was the most awful we have ever come across. We mentioned our concerns to the waiters and all they said was " do you want any more" the manager then asked if he could give us free dessert. This was not the point of our expression of dissatisfaction. We were sad that after many years of great tasting food the restaurant had almost fallen off the cliff and plunged into an abyss of cheap nasty tasteless rubbish. We paid in full and left with that downhearted feeling that we had lost what was once so much enjoyed

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank T9999EPmichaelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2019

Raj did an amazing job in coordinating our wedding lunch in October 2018.
The venue is beautiful, we got a great deal on food and drinks. We fit 100 people into the venue with no issues, just as Raj had said.

Our guests were full of compliments about the venue and food.
Couldnt have hoped for a better turn out. Thank you Raj :)

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Veena V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caraway Lounge also viewed

Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 
Romford, Greater London
 
Romford, Greater London
Romford, Greater London
 

Been to Caraway Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing