We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family visit”
Review of Moss Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Moss Lodge
Ranked #1 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 18, 2014

This is a gem, tucked away, set close to Rochdale and Oldham. It is readily accessible from major roads. The staff were outstanding. Chef came out to explain what was available and to ask for preferences.
We entertained discerning close family who equally remarked on the high standards of Moss Lodge. The whole experience was top quality value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Moss Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

112 - 118 of 233 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2014

Third stay at Moss Lodge and just as great as my first and second experiences of this sweet and incredibly welcoming hotel. Despite my arrival late on a Sunday evening - following a busy weekend, where the Lodge had been exclusively booked to host a wedding - 'Mrs P' was delightful, with nothing being too much trouble.

Breakfast, as ever, was fab.

A lovely small hotel with excellent standards.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex260777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We married at Moss Lodge just a few days ago, 24th May 2014.
Both Adrian and I had the most amazing weekend. Not only were we treated like royalty but our guests were also.
Everything was just perfect from start to finish.
Every attention to detail was paid by Pauline (auntie P) and all the other fantastic and very caring members of staff.
My daughter and I stayed over on Friday eve before the wedding and have never been so spoilt!
Nothing was too much trouble.
Attention to detail and the extra special touches were 'Out of this world' above and beyond what we expected.
The most fabulous venue ever for our small and intimate wedding!
Moss Lodge has the most amazing, beautiful, stylish and elegant rooms!
Never have we had the pleasure of spending time with such nice, caring and professional people.
Every single guest who attended our wedding commented on: fabulous venue, fabulous food! And fabulous staff!!!

This was a truly memorable day, made even more memorable and special by Pauline and all the amazing people at Moss Lodge.
Thank you so very much.

Definitely will be visiting for dinner and overnight stay very soon.

Xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, very tastefully decorated, immaculate, comfortable and truly luxurious!
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Whilst on a business trip to Rochdale I was recommended by a colleague to try the Moss Lodge Hotel. I wasn't disappointed. The standard double room whilst not big was spotless, comfortable with a small en-suite bathroom. I had dinner in the restaurant and the chicken and accompanying vegetables was of a very good standard. All in all very good value and if I need to back in Rochdale I will return.

My only criticism were that the broadband did keep cutting in an out and I found it difficult to work at the dressing table without an appropriate chair. All minor issues

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank astonflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've lived in Rochdale for years, but somehow had never discovered Moss Lodge! My partner booked it as a surprise for my birthday, and what a lovely surprise it was! The room was immaculate, cosy and welcoming, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They even offered to bring breakfast up to our room as the dining room was a little busy with a wedding party. We had a great stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Moss Lodge!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J000314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel was a really good find in Rochdale. The staff were very welcoming and friendly providing a relaxed comforting feel when we entered the hotel.
The rooms felt spacious and had a lovely feel to them. The decoration (rococo) made the room seem like a bohemian art hotel. It was nice to see a different style than a minimalist or chain decoration where every room is the same.
The room was well stocked with supplies including fresh milk in the fridge rather than the usual UHT cartons that are found in other hotels, and a filter coffee machine.
Breakfast was really well cooked and generous in portions. The pre ordering of breakfast the day before meant that the food was cooked freshly and not stewing in hot plates. We were well attended with coffee, tea and toast. Even though the hotel was very busy in the morning, the feel was still very friendly and there wasn't the pressure to leave after we had finished eating breakfast.
We'll definitely stay here again next time we are in Rochdale, it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AHeathlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night - it seemed a reasonable place in a good convenient location. It turned out we had uncovered an absolute gem. This hotel is brilliant. It is beautifully classically decorated. The bedrooms are superb with high quality toiletries and bathrobe. The service is spot on - very warm and welcoming but also really well treated with attentiveness and attention to detail. We has a great meal as well - drinks in the comfortable lounge while we purused the menu and ordered, with the chefs personal recommendations - the meal was beautifully cooked with good quality ingredients and finished off with a cheese and wine and a good book in the lounge again. This is a great place and I can't imagine staying anywhere else any where near Rochdale. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSAM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
449 reviews
1.0 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
5.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
3.8 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Lodge

Address: Moss Lodge Kings Road, Rochdale OL16 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range: $105 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moss Lodge Hotel. Preferred by both business executives & leisure guests and only minutes from the M60 & M62 motorways and the centre of Rochdale. Built in 1841, this former mill owner’s residence stands majestically in its own landscaped grounds, providing an intimate country house atmosphere that is relaxed yet sophisticated; offering our overnight, conference and wedding guests, quiet luxury and individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Moss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moss Hotel Rochdale
Moss Lodge Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing