We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Moss Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Moss Lodge
Ranked #1 of 13 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Third stay at Moss Lodge and just as great as my first and second experiences of this sweet and incredibly welcoming hotel. Despite my arrival late on a Sunday evening - following a busy weekend, where the Lodge had been exclusively booked to host a wedding - 'Mrs P' was delightful, with nothing being too much trouble.

Breakfast, as ever, was fab.

A lovely small hotel with excellent standards.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex260777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    16
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
64
16
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

We married at Moss Lodge just a few days ago, 24th May 2014.
Both Adrian and I had the most amazing weekend. Not only were we treated like royalty but our guests were also.
Everything was just perfect from start to finish.
Every attention to detail was paid by Pauline (auntie P) and all the other fantastic and very caring members of staff.
My daughter and I stayed over on Friday eve before the wedding and have never been so spoilt!
Nothing was too much trouble.
Attention to detail and the extra special touches were 'Out of this world' above and beyond what we expected.
The most fabulous venue ever for our small and intimate wedding!
Moss Lodge has the most amazing, beautiful, stylish and elegant rooms!
Never have we had the pleasure of spending time with such nice, caring and professional people.
Every single guest who attended our wedding commented on: fabulous venue, fabulous food! And fabulous staff!!!

This was a truly memorable day, made even more memorable and special by Pauline and all the amazing people at Moss Lodge.
Thank you so very much.

Definitely will be visiting for dinner and overnight stay very soon.

Xxx

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet, very tastefully decorated, immaculate, comfortable and truly luxurious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Whilst on a business trip to Rochdale I was recommended by a colleague to try the Moss Lodge Hotel. I wasn't disappointed. The standard double room whilst not big was spotless, comfortable with a small en-suite bathroom. I had dinner in the restaurant and the chicken and accompanying vegetables was of a very good standard. All in all very good value and if I need to back in Rochdale I will return.

My only criticism were that the broadband did keep cutting in an out and I found it difficult to work at the dressing table without an appropriate chair. All minor issues

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astonflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

I've lived in Rochdale for years, but somehow had never discovered Moss Lodge! My partner booked it as a surprise for my birthday, and what a lovely surprise it was! The room was immaculate, cosy and welcoming, and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. They even offered to bring breakfast up to our room as the dining room was a little busy with a wedding party. We had a great stay, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Moss Lodge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J000314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2014

This hotel was a really good find in Rochdale. The staff were very welcoming and friendly providing a relaxed comforting feel when we entered the hotel.
The rooms felt spacious and had a lovely feel to them. The decoration (rococo) made the room seem like a bohemian art hotel. It was nice to see a different style than a minimalist or chain decoration where every room is the same.
The room was well stocked with supplies including fresh milk in the fridge rather than the usual UHT cartons that are found in other hotels, and a filter coffee machine.
Breakfast was really well cooked and generous in portions. The pre ordering of breakfast the day before meant that the food was cooked freshly and not stewing in hot plates. We were well attended with coffee, tea and toast. Even though the hotel was very busy in the morning, the feel was still very friendly and there wasn't the pressure to leave after we had finished eating breakfast.
We'll definitely stay here again next time we are in Rochdale, it is a hidden gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AHeathlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
herefordshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night - it seemed a reasonable place in a good convenient location. It turned out we had uncovered an absolute gem. This hotel is brilliant. It is beautifully classically decorated. The bedrooms are superb with high quality toiletries and bathrobe. The service is spot on - very warm and welcoming but also really well treated with attentiveness and attention to detail. We has a great meal as well - drinks in the comfortable lounge while we purused the menu and ordered, with the chefs personal recommendations - the meal was beautifully cooked with good quality ingredients and finished off with a cheese and wine and a good book in the lounge again. This is a great place and I can't imagine staying anywhere else any where near Rochdale. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAM39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Stayed for two days, to attend to a family matter, and didn't want to leave. Yes, it makes Rochdale impossible to leave! This is the kind of hotel I didn't think existed any more: where the service is individualised to you, your personal whims and requirements are paramount to staff, nothing is too much trouble, and your needs are anticipated. When you've finally come to terms with the breathtaking customer service, you suddenly realise you're in a rather elegant little house, with well-thought out guest rooms, very luxurious bathrooms, a nice mix of new and old furniture - all in pretty wooded grounds.

We stayed in room 2, because I was travelling with my young son, and the large bed could be converted into singles. It was very comfortable and clean, with a great jacuzzi bath. The beds were lovely, and we slept like logs both nights. This room faces the road, but you wouldn't know. Of interest to people travelling together, room 2 has an opposite room (1). We saw through the open door a fabulous four poster bed, but my point is that it would be good for two couples or a family with older children who wanted to be very near each other. Those rooms are all the more private, being on a mezzanine floor.

On the first day our bathroom heater broke. It was replaced, whilst we were out, with a brand new heated towel rail. The first evening we realised we'd forgotten my son's medicine, which he needed. It was late. We rang reception to ask what we could do, at almost eleven o'clock at night, and within minutes we had a name, address, and postcode for the sat nav of a nearby chemist. They had already rung the chemist to tell him we were on our way, and ask him not to close! We were there and back in ten minutes. We thought these things excellent.

Worthy of a very special mention was the food. My son and I both have coeliac disease, which means we can't eat grains or grain-containing products, and I am allergic to a complicated list of other foods. I have not been able to eat in a hotel since being diagnosed in 2007. Oh, but that was not the case here. I was asked to send a list of foods I COULD eat - a much more positive request, which I did. I then dined in high style, exactly like the other guests, like I used to be able to. The hotel had bought new pans in which to cook my food, so there was no risk of cross-contamination. I have never, ever been treated so well; or had such delicious food. For other coeliacs with lactose intolerance looking in (haha!) I had steak the first evening, with a lovely green herby salad. On the second evening, I had fish cooked in foil with capers and lemons. Ohhhhhh. Absolutely delicious, and served with the freshest spring vegetables I've ever eaten. They made honeycomb ice-cream for my son, which he then had after his next meal, too - a ringing endorsement. Where on earth did they find these great chefs, and why are they working in Rochdale? They are dietary experts, too. Seriously, it's surprising.

The hotel is protected by gates and CCTV, which is reassuring. There is plenty of parking, all near to the house. It's close to everything in Rochdale, whilst feeling like it's off the beaten track. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. Ask for 1 and 2 for super privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alijazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.7 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
2.3 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
3.8 mi away
Clough Manor
Clough Manor
#1 of 1 in Denshaw
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
6.9 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moss Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Lodge

Property: Moss Lodge
Address: Moss Lodge Kings Road, Rochdale OL16 5HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Moss Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Moss Lodge Hotel. Preferred by both business executives & leisure guests and only minutes from the M60 & M62 motorways and the centre of Rochdale. Built in 1841, this former mill owner’s residence stands majestically in its own landscaped grounds, providing an intimate country house atmosphere that is relaxed yet sophisticated; offering our overnight, conference and wedding guests, quiet luxury and individuality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Moss Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moss Hotel Rochdale
Moss Lodge Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing