We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced & dangerous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Diggle, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced & dangerous”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed at hotel for family wedding. My husband got food poisoning night before the wedding. Informed staff we were told they would get back to us. However had to remind them before we left. Charged 7.10p for vodka & tonic. When we complained we were told that the prices had gone up two days before the wedding reception. ! Asked for two small bottle's . of water charged 5.00 . Utterley overpriced. To top it all another family member had one wardrobe door in her room and when they tried to open it the heavy glass door it fell off, if she was on her own it could have been a disaster. Informed staff who came to put another door on wardrobe however the doors refused to open so had to take them out and stand them in the corner. However the wedding went well. Sorry wouldn't recommend this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jabba777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest

I would like to address some of the allegations you have made.

To mention food poisoning is debatable, the person involved had a sandwich from the hotel the night prior to the event, on-set time for food poisoning is between 1 to 3 days so to suggest that the sandwich may have caused this is not entirely correct. We served over 20 of the same sandwiches on that particular day and we have had no complaints. We take allegations of food poisoning extremely seriously and ensure that we follow all HACCP guidelines. We are inspected by the local authority and by our company Food Safety consultants on a regular basis.
Regarding the prices for drinks they are comparable with other hotels in the area, we do have various offers on and I will ensure more visibility on these going forward. The price for a vodka and tonic is £5.50, not £7.10 as you state.
I take on board your point about the wardrobe doors and will ensure that they are secured properly on my daily walk rounds.

Thank you for your comments, should you wish to speak futher please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    313
    192
    113
    75
See reviews for
204
324
41
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Attended a family wedding on Sunday. Surroundings are beautiful. A lovely room for the ceremony and plenty of space in the suite for the meal and evening buffet.
The meal was good and the evening buffet was excellent . The only bad point to the whole day was the high bar prices otherwise I would give 5 stars! The following day a party of us went to another local hotel for a meal and the same round of drinks was a third cheaper. So well done Norton Grange but please review your bar prices!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank griffpasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the hotel to attend a wedding. Its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the special day and I will ensure the feedback is given to the rest of the team. Regarding the bar prices we are in the same category of other similar standard of hotels within the Manchester area, however I will ensure that we have offers on for our wedding parties going forward.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
99 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was a bit nervous about this place; it was booked by a colleague...however i was wrong.
A lively bar, a great breakfast large clean room and really enjoyed the spa & pool facilities.
What everybody comments about the friendly staff is true; all where very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ctat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind review, I will pass on your thought to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

My brother in law had his wedding here on Sunday May the 4th, and it was a great day all round.
Preston (wedding co-ordinator) couldn't do enough for us - which included sorting a projector for my best man speech!
The ceremony and reception went without a hitch and everyone thought it was a great day from start to finish.
The only thing that let the day down was the pricey drinks - £6 for a glass of wine and well over £4 for a lager (city centre prices)
It's a shame that the cost of drinks was a big topic of conversation, as I'm sure if they were more reasonable, people would actually be inclined to relax and drink a bit more!
Other than that - we couldn't fault the day and venue.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Darryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your visit to the hotel to attend a wedding. Its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the special day and I will ensure the feedback is given to the rest of the team. Regarding the bar prices we are in the same category of other similar standard of hotels within the Manchester area, however I will ensure that we have offers on for our wedding parties going forward.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I went on the 55 pound deal with 2 treatments. We had a fantastic time and the treatments were excellent. I would especially like to thank Becci Bees for a tremendous neck, shoulder and back massage.
The sauna and Ice Igloo were right up my street. My wife bought a few of the products as she thought the ones used were excellent.
I will certainly go back again . Thank you so much.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments following on from your recent visit to the Spa. I will pass on your thoughts to the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Me and the family stayed over the weekend and really enjoyed our stay.we checked in and the reception staff We're very helpful and told us about the hotel which was very nice the room was very spacious and clean we had a few drinks in the bar which was very expensive but not unusual for a hotel.And we had dinner in the restaurant which was great the next day was the wedding the whole day was excellent from start to finish from the service to the food which was very hot and lamb was cooked perfect and the evening was great as well all had a good time and can't wait to stay again didn't use facilities spa and gym but sum of our party did and said it was a great experience and clean .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words following on from your recent weekend break with us. Its always nice to hear great comments, I will pass them on to the rest of the team who will be delighted.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing