We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Reviewed November 5, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Helena S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,040)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

614 - 620 of 1,040 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

Decided to have a girls chilled day/night away. The location of the hotel was easy to find, straight off the motorway, but still in a rural setting. Check in was easy, and the lady on reception was really helpful, as we wished to change our per booked dinner reservation to another time. We decided to go into the bar for some lunch, prior to chilling in the Spa. We had Steak Sandwiches, which were lovely .

We then proceeded to our room, which was really clean, comfy bed and everything we needed. The view was rubbish, looking out on to rooftops, but as it would be dark soon that wasn't a problem.

We headed to the Spa, signed in and were given a towel each, the Spa was excellent, we managed to get a lounger each, chilled there until 7pm reading and dipping in and out of the jacuzzi, which was amazing with its open side.

After such a chilling day, we asked reception if we could have dinner in our room as we were so relaxed, we didn't fancy get spruced up to go down for dinner, there was a £5 tray charge fair enough.

This is we're is started to go wrong, the chicken parfait was disgusting, runny and just tasted wrong, the bread to accompany it was rock hard. We then had belly pork. I have no idea what was going on in the mind of whoever put this on the.menu. The belly pork was very small and rubbery, accompanied by a potato gratin which was actually quite nice, BBQ sauce and pineapple sauce, and POPCORN. I certainly wouldn't choose it again.

We watched a film and started to chill, switched the tv off at 11pm and could hear music, we tried to ignore it, as we knew there was an event on so it should end soon. We drifted in and out of sleep but at 3.30am, I wanted to scream. I phoned reception and was told that we were above the residents bar and that residents were still in there, but he would make sure the music was turned off. It was, finally sleep.

Next morning we went to breakfast knackered, but to be fair the service and the food was excellent. So a mixed review really,

I did complain again to the lady on reception the next day, when we were checking out, who informed me she would report it to the manager.

It would have been ideal if we'd of got sleep and a nice dinner, which is what we went for. Could be really good! as it has a lot going for it.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from residents bar
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHILLOUT09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us, it’s pleasing to know that you enjoyed the Spa. I will pass on your thanks to the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Looked and sounded good. On arrival 19.30 (dark), the hotel looked impressive, the staff were very friendly and welcoming, checking in was simple. The room was clean, went to the bar that was spotlessly clean, went to restaurant at 21.00 food was extremely disappointing and certainly not fresh, definitely not what was expected for the cost. Went down for breakfast at 09.00, this was worse than the previous nights dinner, can only assume that the early bird definitely gets the worm. Okay now to get showered and get on with our plans (09.30), excellent no hot water, apparently new boilers are getting fitted today, only nobody told the staff, who have remained as helpful and friendly as ever. Eventually braved a cold shower at 11.30 after waiting for the water to heat up, very disappointing. Decided not to stay for our second night, did what we needed to do and drove back to Kent. Would definitely try somewhere else on our next visit to Manchester.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am sorry to hear that you encountered several problems during your visit. It is surprising to hear that you had issues with breakfast as we normally have great comments about our breakfast. I will investigate your comments to ensure future guests are not affected. We did have a new boiler fitted last week, we were not foreseeing any problems with this but we did hit a few snags with it being such an old building, I am sorry that you had to endure a cold shower.
Its pleasing to see that you enjoyed the service from the staff, I will pass on you thanks to them all. I do hope that you will be able to return to the hotel in the future and should you wish to do so please contact me direct.
Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I booked a spa deal for two of us in October 2013. The package included bed, breakfast, evening dinner, and a spa treatment. It was very good value for money. The staff were very helpful. Rooms were clean. Overall very enjoyable. Would recommend.


  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent Spa break with us. It’s really nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay; I will pass your comments onto the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My daughter held her wedding at Norton Grange on Friday the 27th of September the staff were brilliant could not do enough for us.Wedding meal for 50 guests served hot and plenty of food on the plates,buffet later on in the evening was excellent.My wife and i would like to thank the staff at Norton Grange for helping to make sure my daughter have the perfect wedding day.Also a very special thank you to Joanne who worked very hard to ensure that my daughter had the perfect day a real asset to Norton grange I would recommend NORTON GRANGE to anybody who is looking for a venue to hold a wedding

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words, I have passed on your comments onto the team. It’s really nice to receive such a great review.
Look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The hotel is lovely, its easy to find, had lots of car parking spaces and felt safe and secure.

The receptionists were stuck up and not very friendly. We asked a couple of questions and they didn't want to know.

The room was lovely, very clean, tidy, very well decorated. It has lots of personality and felt a bit luxurious.
The bed was extremely comfortable and clean.

The hotel has a small swimming pool and a small gym, I didn't use either but had a look.

We ate in the restaurant on the night (I had a burger) and the food was lovely. A bit pricey but worth the money. The drinks prices are quite steep.
The restaurant/bar area was well decorated and the bar staff were nice and friendly.

I would return again if in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. It’s great to see that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and I take on board your comments regarding the reception staff. We do have a new team on reception and we will be carrying out some customer service training to ensure they are trained to the standard that Mercure expects.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jilani2013
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
450 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: $76 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing