We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 4 star weekend at Mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We've stayed there in the last weekend of July. It was very relaxing: we took advantage of the warm pool water (there is also a heated outdoor pool which is not advertised on the official website), the saunas and the peaceful atmosphere surrounding the hotel. Everything is very clean. Very impressed by the job that the waitresses have done during a very busy weekend for them. The food was great and there is a good range of drinks at the bar, as well.
Definitely going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corina_Laura82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind words, it’s always nice to receive such great reviews I will pass them onto the rest of the team.
Look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

681 - 687 of 1,074 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2013

My daughter and I enjoyed our spa break at the Norton Grange Hotel Friday, 28th July. It was a really warm night on Saturday and my daughter rang down to ask for a fan which was brought up straight away. We had a lovely meal in the restaurant on Friday evening and our waitress was helpful and couldn't do enough, sorry I didn't get her name but I believe she is responsible for the weddings because she mentioned they have one the next day. She is a credit to your hotel. Our package included evening meal and we chose from the 3 course menu and we wasn't disappointed, the food was just perfect, every course. We was lucky with our waitress advised us of the 3 course menu but other diners where not so lucky and didn't get told about it which can be found at the very back of the menu and can be easily missed.

Breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed our spa treatments and very really spoilt.

On check in the young receptionist with dark hair was okay but I think if she smiled and was a little more welcoming guests first impression of the hotel would be a better one. The complete opposite from the blonde receptionist who checked us out who was friendly, helpful and provided excellent customer care and service.

All the staff in the Spa and hotel where friendly and helpful and we can't wait to return and will recommend you to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your great review! I will ensure your comments are passed onto the rest of the team. It’s always nice to receive great comments, look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I agree with the Guernsey4girls review it was first class service at reception and at meal times the waitresses were delightful. Clean room and linen although the public areas were a little dated. Very hot room as there was no air con, but this I had read before on trip advisor so were quite aware that this might be the case. I respected the hotel receptionist as she did give us another option, but this room had the best view. Excellent buffet breakfast and the Rib eye steak I had on the evening was one of the nicest I had ever had. It is a shame that the owners put an alteration on the front of the hotel some years back and altered the appearance of what used to be a beautiful building. The spa facilities, pool and hydro pool were fab. Overal experience great! especially because we booked a late deal and got a very good rate. Only other downfall was that there was a wedding function on, so there was a lot of kids running round. Also our room was a bit small and the so was the bed, which also had a very soft mattress. No good if you got arthritis like myself and need a firm mattress.

Room Tip: I liked our room because it was quieter away from the hustle and bustle of main reception and I hat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Minilegsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review following on from your recent stay with us at Norton Grange. I will pass on your thanks to the rest of the team. Your comments regarding the lack of air conditioning have been noted for discussion.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First time at Norton Grange and thoroughly enjoyed. First class service at reception with good knowledge of services offered and well explained.
Clean room and public areas as well although room was very hot with no air con and also some road noise from Manchester Rd during night but not enough to annoy.
Excellent buffet breakfast with first class service and good views of gardens, easy parking with plenty of spaces and countryside scenery to be enjoyed with some surprise given that Motorway and busy roads seemingly only minutes away.
Overall a very good Hotel living up to its advertising.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank guernsey4girls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent visit to Norton Grange. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had an amazing chilled out break this weekend and have to say this is the best hotel I've stayed at! On arrival we were greeted by an efficient smiling receptionist in the hotel who told us everything we needed to know. Room was fine, nothing special but clean and well maintained. Me and my husband don't often get a chance to get away so couldn't wait to relax and enjoy the leisure facilities. Again the man on the leisure desk seemed more than happy to help, got us some robes to use and showed us where to go. The pool was immaculate with crystal clear water but the hidden gem in this hotel was the heated jacuzzi (which took you outside) lying there in the hot water with the cool breeze coming over you was amazing and just what the doctor ordered! There were also saunas and steam rooms and fresh ice if you got too hot. Everything was clean but someone said they had just redecorated the area when we commented on it. We were so relaxed we nearly forgot to go upstairs for our treatments but again the therapists were great even though we were a little late. Our massages were great and we finished of with coffee on the spa terrace overlooking the Pennines. After this our evening meal was great, I had fish and my husband paid extra for steak. Drinks were a little expensive but no more than you would expect to pay at a hotel and after a good nights sleep we really did not want to leave. All in all great experience and great value for money. We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent visit to Norton Grange. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

A pleasure to stay, all the staff were friendly and accommodating. Rooms were nice with excellent facilities, meals also excellent. Highly recommend. The lack of air conditioning was the only negative.
Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bernadette T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your great comments regarding your recent visit to Norton Grange. I will pass on your kind words to all the staff and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I know it is only rarely hot in England but the lack of air conditioning and being in a room where the window opened only an inch or so meant we were quite uncomfortable for some of our stay. Staff were good and responsive to our needs ( a fridge was delivered to our room when we asked). The pool and thermal suite were enjoyable but again could do with a refresh. The grounds are mostly car park. There was a wedding on during our stay and we were impressed that this was well managed as we were not impacted by noise or other inconvenience as a result of this.

Room Tip: If it is hot ask for a room where you can open the windows fully.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel. All our customers’ remarks are taken seriously and I ensure that appropriate measures are put in place so that other guests do not experience these problems.
I am sorry that we did not meet with your expectations and hope that some of the issues encountered have not put you off staying with us again.
I will also pass on your thanks to the departments you have mentioned.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
468 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
228 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: $78 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing