We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wouldn't recommend” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
lancashire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wouldn't recommend”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We bought a spa weekend deal with an overnight stay, £70 worth of spa treatments, 3 course dinner and a breakfast. Sounds pretty good, but it turned out that the deal is based on 2 people sharing, so it actually meant £35 worth of spa treatments each (even in case of single occupancy you will get £35 pp). On the check out we were given a huge bill for extra spa with no breakdown of treatments and when we started to go into more detail, it turned out that they included treatments we already paid for, and a discount of 20% (which was also a part of the deal) was never applied. It took us about 40 min in total to figure out the bill which was eventually reduced significantly. Spa facilities were good and so were the treatments, but the fact that they tried charging us so much extra really put me off.
There was no AC in the room and no cold water from the tap. It got really hot at night, our window wouldn't open more than 2inches, and was impossible to sleep.
I have to say the food in the restaurant and the service were really good and all queries were resolved immediately. Hotel staff were friendly and responsive, but the absence of AC and cold tap water in the room as well as the fact that they tried charging us so much extra for spa have over-weighed everything else. I would recommend more transparency and honesty in terms of their deals; misleading the customers will not win any friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jail5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel. Unfortunately we do not have any air conditioning in any of our hotel bedrooms and we do not advertise the fact. I will investigate your comments regarding the Spa treatments with the Spa Manager, with all of our Spa breaks there is clear and concise information stating what is included in the package however I will review this to ensure there is better visibility.
It was pleasing to see that you enjoyed the food and service and I will pass on your comments to the staff concerned.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    278
    304
    186
    111
    72
See reviews for
194
316
39
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portmouth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We booked a Premier room - very good value for money. Separate bath and shower, flat screen TV, espresso machine and mini bar with complementary water and cans of drink. When we arrived, the bar was busy with a function but we were based at the other side of the hotel (the newer wing apparently) so had a peaceful sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank NikWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, its always nice to receive great reviews I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I had a very agreeable stay at Norton Grange on a recent business trip. The leisure centre was excellent, the restaurant food was very good and the room was homely and comfortable with a clean and modern bathroom. To cap it all off, the staff were extremely helpful, particularly in returning an item to me that I left behind at the end of my stay. I will be back!

Room Tip: Midweek deals sometimes offer a family room at the same price as a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve_S_1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon_YoxallH6631, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review, its always nice to receive great reviews I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from Norton Grange lovely hotel. We were greeted by a lovely welcoming girl on reception. The hotel had a wedding on and were really busy yet nothing was too much trouble for her. We had a lovely room. The spa facilities at the hotel were great, huge pool.
All of staff were great and attentive.
Would definitely return, really accessible to get to Manchester we took the train and it only took 15 minutes.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words following on from your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.
It’s always nice to receive such great comments and we look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed here whilst visiting family in Rochdale. There was an offer on so it was pretty cheap. Location was fine- not really close to town, like a 6pound cab ride.
The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a wedding reception happening when we arrived, so hard to get into the door, but our rooms were far away from the reception room/wedding guest rooms so it wasn't loud or anything.
Room was lovely- two large big beds, and a large spacious bathroom. Window overlooked the open Jacuzzi in the spa.
The spa was a really nice added feature to the stay, made us choose here over a similar priced hotel which was in town.
The pool was nice for a quick swim- the gym looked good but didn't use it. The Jacuzzi was the best, inside and outside- but weird as the outside part looks like a garage and backs on to a road where cars can drive- but once inside it, it is lovely! It was snowing and was nice to see snow covered trees whilst being in hot water. The steam rooms were also good- 5 different types, peppermint one was my favourite I'd say.
Downsides- small things- there was a room service tray left outside a room which was on our way in/out of the hotel for our whole stay- 3 nights. In one day it moved from outside the room to on the staircase and stayed there the whole time! Half eaten sandwich included.
First time we visited the spa, the staff were pretty rude- one girl, full face of makeup in a gym at 9pm, was just dismissive and rude- no need for it. Next day we went there were two different girls and they were lovely, and offered us towels to take in! Makes such a big difference.
I'd stay here again as it was enjoyable, spa really made it. Think with out the discount it was a bit expensive, but I have been in the one in centre of town (possibly called broadgreen?) and the mercure was definitely way better!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words following on from your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.
It’s always nice to receive such great comments and we look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Restaurant, only had the meal so don't know about the Hotel. The restaurant Staff was too formal and very slow and unable to exchange any conversation what so ever, never even asked if the meal was OK, or was everything fine. The food was poor and very bland and tasteless. We were there as a very large group booking, which filled the whole dinning area. We all had a one course meal which consisted of Chicken leg, 1 medium Yorkshire pudding and three vegetables consisting of, new potatoes, turnip and carrot which was cut into minute strips. The gravy had been sparsely added to the plate before arrival, many had to ask for extra gravy as there were no gravy boats on the table. I did notice our table were like me adding salt and pepper to the meal to add some taste

One redeeming feature the dinning room was pleasant and well laid out with good decor especially the lighting, pity about the rest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKC0uple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your lunch at the hotel last week. I will be speaking with my Head Chef and Restaurant Manager regarding this to ensure corrective coaching takes place.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rochdale hotels

Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

We attended our 3rd wedding/event weekend at Norton Grange Hotel & Spa in Rochdale and as previously encountered they could not find our booking which was made months ago, this also happened to other members of the family also attending this weekend. My sister and her daughter were not only told that they could not find the booking but that it was also not paid for, which it was, but this will only be proved when they get back home and produce their January bank statement, which of course you do not usually pack when attending a wedding, so they ended up having to ask another member of the family to pay again for their rooms, as they did not have enough money on them. The rooms that they were eventually allocated, some hours later they had to be moved from due to a very bad smell (toilet drains) that they experienced. Other wedding guests were also inconvenienced in that their prebooked premier rooms were not ready on arrival and they had to wait until 4.30pm, they did eventually get a reduction on the price they had paid in advance. This rooms not ready on time is a very regular occurance at this Hotel, the management put it down to staffing levels. The next problem that was encountered was with meals that were ordered from the bar, one of my family ordered the Ploughmans, as many of you know, a ploughmans usually comes with large cobs of bread, this was presented with stale sliced bread, it was sent back to the kitchen and about 10 minutes later was re-presented with a cob of bread that had been micowaved to defrost it, but it was still frozen in the middle, this was also sent back again and fish and chips were ordered to replace it, I have to say that they were very good, but unfortunately at almost £13.00 per portion with 6 or 8 chips, it was expensive. The previous evening a party of 16 of us ate at a nearby pub due to the price of food and drink in the restaurant. Why do the hotel managers not realise that if they lowered the price of the food and drink to as more acceptable level we would have stayed and ate in the hotel.

Quite a few of the wedding guests spoken too did experience problems with their bookings and
getting into the rooms but once all that was sorted they all did have a great time at the wedding and I know that the couple getting married were very happy with the service they got from the staff and the manager, who worked very hard to make their day very special and it was.

It really is a great hotel in lovely surroundings and with a fantastic spa and pool area and the staff do their very best to please and make things right, but more attention to getting bookings sorted on arrival and having the room ready and not expecting guests to pay again when the guest knows they have already paid but cannnot prove it there and then is very bad. This then had a knock on effect with my sister and her daughters family and it took them some time to forget their initial experience of this hotel before they could relax and get into the party spirit for the rest of their stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms that I have stayed in have been of very good quality, I have always been booked in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindenlee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words following on from your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.
It’s always nice to receive such great comments and we look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
I do take on board your comments regarding the booking process and quality of food and I will be taking steps to ensure there is no re-occurrence.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.2 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
4.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Smokies Park
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
7.7 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing