We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Myself and my girlfriend took time away from our busy working week to have a night away and i treated her to a treatment in the spa. The staff were polite friendly and helpful and made us feel welcome and relaxed from the moment we arrived. After her massage my girlfriend was very happy and felt refreshed and we settled in the bar for a few drinks. All the staff were cheery and helpful throughout the evening and we felt very relaxed before heading for our dinner reservation. The food was superb and restaurant staff were very attentive and made our whole experience very enjoyable. After a delicious breakfast we left the hotel very satisfied and with a high standard of service enjoyed throughout our whole stay, the staff had been a credit to themselves and made our stay very memorable . We will definately be returning in the future .Thankyou to all at the Norton Grange!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank florida06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind words following on from your recent stay with us. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.
It’s always nice to receive such great comments and we look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel sometime in the near future.
Kind regards
Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,038)
There are newer reviews for Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

686 - 692 of 1,038 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

spent the day at Norton grange today having lunch, spa treatments and use of spa facilities. Food in the bar was tasty and staff polite. Had 2 treatments and then used spa facilities. Spa staff went out of their way to make the afternoon very relaxing and service was above good service. Thanks

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel1296
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your review. It’s great to receive good comments about our staff and facilities we really do have a great Spa.
Look forward in welcoming you back to Norton Grange in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

we got married here last year and its a beautiful hotel, we returned back to this hotel on a spa package, including dinner, breakfast and spa treatments. the hydro spa pool is so relaxing and hot, the ice room quickly cools you, with spotless surroundings of all pool and treatment rooms. the gym has been updated with new high tech machines, and is great for a quick work out, finished with a massage set in the tranquil rooms.
food..is set to a very high standard, quick to get meals to yuo hot and cooked to perfection. very polite staff, clean rooms and the genral hotel area, always clean and fresh. has been newly decorated in parts too. staff are on hand 24hrs to help. all in all, this is one of my favorite uk short breaks, with hotel offering excellent value and quality. we were even upgraded on rooms complimentary, for returning after our wedding

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your fabulous comments regarding your recent stay with us at Norton Grange. I will ensure your thoughts are passed onto the team. We really appreciate your review, its great to receive good feedback.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed Sunday night . We did change room because of noise from road and this was done very obligingly and quickly . I thought the bedrooms had every facility and the bathroom was sparklingly clean The spa was terrific .We had the most beautiful evening meal- we chose from the set menu .The breakfast was excellent with eggs cooked to order plus it was hot. The staff were very friendly .yes the drinks are dear but we have been to 4 star hotels that charge more. This hotel is like staying in the country but near the city. We had a lovely walk along the canal.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the road are noisy.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 364Katherined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Wow a great review thank you so much. Its great to receive such good comments about the hotel it really makes a difference. Our hotel has by far the most reviews in Rochdale which gives a great overview of the hotel there are hotels above us in the rankings that have only have between 40 and 70 reviews so its hard to believe they would be above us, this is due to Trip Advisors weird way of ranking, only they know how it works as its kept a closely guarded secret!.
I will ensure your thoughts are passed onto the rest of the team.
Look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights over Easter, for a wedding.
As we had to come a long way, [from Dunstable], we arrived the night before my nephew's wedding.
The room was OK at the front of the hotel, not 4 star but reasonable, clean with tea, coffee, biscuits & comfortable bed. Made full use of the spa on the day we arrived. Cannot praise the facilities enough. Gym, large heated swimming pool, huge hot spa bath with indoor & outdoor parts, aroma room, steam room, sauna, ice room, spa showers, spent plenty of time there. Then went to the bar for a drink, 4 star should not mean £9+ for two drinks, it does here! Checked the bar menu, ‘expensive!’. Ate out & then back to the room for the night. It sounded like there was a party going on in our room. The noise from the function was phenomenal, could not hear the TV, so phoned down to reception. Reception said “Ah yes we have had a couple of complaints & you should not have been put in those rooms, we will send someone up with a new room key for you”. We were upgraded to a Privilège room at the back of the hotel. Much better, quite & comfortable. A guest with a 12 week baby who asked for a move for the same reason as us, they were not upgraded & given a room with excessive road noise instead of disco noise, In two nights they tried 4 rooms before a suitable room was found, why not upgrade them? They were not happy & had every reason for it.
Breakfast, best meal of the day, buffet style, plenty of choice, well cooked, great ingredients, English & continental + cooked to order, as much as you can eat & I ate a fair amount.
The staff were attentive especially on reception, the chambermaids & breakfast waitress. Bar staff are a bit surly, but that may be because the drinks & bar meals are so expensive that they have to put up with a lot of complaints.
Would I stay again? Yes, but I would make sure that I got a room at the back, not overlooking the road.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back not overlooking the road
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arthururm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit to Norton Grange. I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and will take your comments on board.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Nice hotel and easy to get to Manchester from Castleton station just up the road. Staff were very friendly and helpful even though the hotel was very busy with two weddings going on. Good choice if you like to visit cities but don't want to stay in one.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Hewitt24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments following on from your stay with us, its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

good for the price compared to others in england that includes spa usage/swimming pool jaccuzzi and sauna steam room etc(you have to pay extra for the treatments like massage)...you have the option of becoming a member of the spa, they also have a gym. we only stayed 2 nights as a couple. breakfast was good the usual hot and cold open buffet didn't have dinner, has lots of function rooms, and was given a top floor room nice and spacious with a lovely view with petals and choccies on the bed on arrival. this hotel is mostly used for wedding and prom nights in the summer. they do have a bar which is part of the resturante..but the spa is the best part as some hotels advertise spa but then only have a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments following on from your stay with us, its pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
449 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
219 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: $76 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing