We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Birch Hotel(Heywood)
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel(Rochdale)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$24
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$50
getaroom.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clough Manor(Denshaw)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveler rating
407
368
218
129
89
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
407
368
218
129
89
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomice roomthermal suiterelaxation roomchanging roomsduty managerleisure facilitiescourse dinnerreception staffbar priceswedding receptionwedding partyfood was lovelylots of choiceplenty of parkingfrom start to finishbuffet style
Filter
Updating list...
871 - 876 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed March 18, 2013

on arrival at hotel staff were quite cold to us. room was lovely but woke up at 6.15 am buy people outside spa waiting for it to open.went to bar on first night to get some dinner the prices were very expensive and bar prices were over the top. we ended up going out for some food down the road.the next morning the breakfast was ok. the spa facilities were very good but some off the staff could have been friendlier.the next night we booked into the royal toby hotel for dinner which was very good and the ambiance was a lot nicer and only 4 pounds in a taxi and drink prices were reasonable. i would say hotel is very nice but has no atmosphere due to bar and food prices. paid for upgrade but probably not worth it!nice surroundings would only stay there again for the spa.

Room Tip: rooms next to spa noisy in mornings we were in room 224 right above the entrance woken up at 6.15 in the morning people waiting for it to open
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnrobertson63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Norton Grange. I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. Your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the team, we always try to exceed our guest’s expectations and look to innovative ways in ensuring repeat business.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I have stayed here on business twice, once in 2012 and once in March 2013. The second stay was definitely better than the first, I would give the first stay a 2 point rating, due to the poor room, and the second stay a 4-point rating, so an average of 3 across the two stays. The staff were generally friendly and helpful; the food is fine; the newer rooms are satisfactory, standard business-type room, the older ones are in need of refurbishment.For somewhere to use as a base for business or visiting relatives, this is a reasonable hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkerPies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Norton Grange. I am pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. Your comments have been taken on board and discussed with the team, we always try to exceed our guest’s expectations and look to innovative ways in ensuring repeat business.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Nice hotel . . . BUT . . . lift out of order with no sign communicating this, despite fact that all staff were aware. When told, we walked on a long corridor with suitcases to alternative lift. On exit, no direction signs, so we followed order of room numbers ending at fire exit (another long trail) without finding room. Saw a cleaner and asked for room - at far end of corridor . . . another trail back the way we'd just come. Entered room which was lovely but like a sauna. Radiator on full with control broken. Must have been 30 degrees, impossible to sleep in this atmosphere. Saw receptionist who called tall ginger-haired manager. I am 61, he is in his 30s. He referred to my observations as "pernickety", then patronisingly told me to come back in 15 minutes. Needless to say we checked out and won't be back. Customer service rating -10!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
1  Thank DickynDotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thank you for your response although I am slightly disappointed by some of the distorted comments that you have posted and on this occasion, I would very much like to give the hotels account of events as I do feel this review is unfair.

On the day of your visit, you mentioned that a passing housekeeper knew that the lift was out of order and rightly so, that person should have brought this to the hotels attention so that we could put some signage up. This was one person, however in your review you say that all the staff knew, which was not the case. It was expressed to you on the day that that certainly wasn't the case and once you had raised the issue, the lift engineer was called out and signage put up in the mean time.

You also mention in your review that the manager had to be called by the receptionist. This was not the case either. The manager actually overheard you shouting at the receptionist about the issues and then came through to see if he could help.

When the manager offered assistance, you continued to shout at him and for that reason; he suggested it might be best to take a few moments to calm down so that a resolution could be offered in calmer terms. This was not meant patronisingly and I do apologise if this was the way it was taken however a few moments of reflection can often help in such situations. At this point you grew more angered and insisted that you wished to check out and receive a refund.

It was apparent things were beyond rectification and the manager agreed to the refund you. I am sure you recall that another member of your party was arriving after you departure, they apologised to our staff on your behalf.

I do feel that this was a most unfortunate turn of events, however given the upset caused to my team, who have a history of positive customer feedback, I feel that there was little more that could have been done. Very little opportunity was afforded to them to be able to rectify the situation and I think the overall outcome was possibly best all round.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night after a wedding reception we attended at the hotel. The hotel represented good value for money and even though we paid a discounted rate as wedding guests we would have been happy to pay the full price.

The was no shortage of parking spaces on arrival. Check in was efficient and friendly and we found our room to be of a good size, clean, bright with a comfortable bed and pillows and all the essentials you would expect. There was minor wear and tear in the room such as scuffed wallpaper and knocked furniture. Not the end of the world but for me these things make the difference to my overall impression if a hotel. The room was very quiet although we did note that we looked out over the patio to the function room. Not a problem as we were wedding guests but these rooms may get noisy in you are not in the wedding party.

The food (dinner at the wedding reception and breakfast the following morning) was delicious. There was a fantastic selection at breakfast time and it was very tasty with so much choice!

The bar area is very pleasant and has a nice feel to it whilst the spa was a lovely treat the day after the wedding. We loved lying beside the pool and the treatment rooms such as the Ice room, steam rooms and experience shower! It was amazing relaxing in the thermal bath which is open to the elements with a missing wall! The spa was wonderfully quiet and we particularly appreciated that the thermal spa area was out of bounds for those under 16. My only grumble with the spa was that it was starting to look a little tired in places. I do hope the hotel maintain the area as it is a real treat and a wonderful asset to the hotel.
There is also a fantastic beauty facility where treatments can be booked with in house therapists.

The location was great for us as it was only a 30 minutes drive away and we were there to enjoy the hotel and wedding. I do not think this would be the most ideal hotel for travellers visiting Manchester as it is quite far out of the way. Although it is a great retreat.

We left the Norton Grange feeling utterly refreshed and vowed to treat ourselves to a weekend spa break soon!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holidays635
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words regarding your visit to Norton Grange. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the wedding you attended and facilities in the Spa. It’s nice to hear great comments and I will share these with the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews