We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality function with Oldham Athletic FC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Portpatrick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Hospitality function with Oldham Athletic FC”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is a review only of the hospitality function the hotel hosted in conjunction with Oldham Athletic FC prior to their FA Cup fourth round match versus Liverpool on Sunday 27th January 2013.

Unless you're desperate for a ticket, based on the experience of last Sunday, Caveat Emptor should apply! Please let me explain why.

To begin with the cost was rather on the high side being as it was £100 + VAT or £125 per person. So what did my wife and me get for the money?

As perhaps you'd expect we each got a stand ticket priced at £25. In addition there was a match programme at £3 and a car parking pass at £5. So far that's £33 spent, meaning that the remaining £67 was used for transport to and from the ground/hotel, the host[s] fee and the three course meal.

However, when I tell you that the lunch consisted of soup and roll, followed by a tiny, overcooked chicken breast with mashed potato and a few carrots which in turn was followed by a small piece of cheescake for the sweet, you will hopefully agree with me that someone made a stinker of a profit! I /we did not receive value for money; indeed I would go as far as saying it was a rip-off!
I have no objection to any business making a profit but this borders on the indecent!

Clearly what I'll never know is whether it was the hotels' fault the meal was so poor i.e. were they given enough money per head by the Club or did they choose to provide only the most basic of lunches?

Whatever the truth may be, it's an absolute certainty that the mistake won't be repeated!!

So, for anyone else considering Oldham Athletic's hospitality in conjunction with the Norton Grange Hotel the advice should surely be, "let the buyer beware"!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annian1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments, I would like to respond you the issues you have raised. Firstly I feel that your comments should have been directed at Oldham FC and not Norton Grange Hotel. You may have paid £125 for your ticket but the hotel received £18 per person for the meal. I would be grateful if you would remove this review and direct it at the appropriate business.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    313
    192
    113
    75
See reviews for
204
324
41
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed here with my husband, we had booked the spa reviver package, accomodation was nice, had slight problem that robes were not provided in room but we called down and they were sent up straight away, staff are really helpful and bubbly, you get full use of the facilities and they are lovely! The hydrotherapy pool is a must! We ate in the restaurant and the evening meal was really nice and breakfast had plenty of choice! Will definatley be going back! Left feeling like we'd had a break even though we were only away for the night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I will pass your kind comments onto the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I am in a good position to review this hotel after spending 3 weeks there! I find the staff there to be excellent and very helpful. The breakfast is excellent with a good spread. The food in the restaurant is very good but expensive (tip: they accept taste card 50% off) the drinks too are expensive. I have stayed in 3 different rooms and found them all to be very good. Always clean with everything I need.
The bonus of staying here is the gym, pool and spa. The gym is excellent and the pool is a good size. Too be honest if I had come here for the spa I would be disappointed but all as an added extra with my stay is great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mightymariner69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your visit to the hotel and spa. Its always nice to receive great comments, I will pass them onto the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I used this hotel many times when delivering training courses in my previous job so was interested to see what it would be like on my return. It is clean and the staff are friendly. There is evidence of refurbishment - the gym had new kit and my bathroom had modern, yet traditionally styled fittings. My bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable. There was a decent Philips flatscreen TV with freeview channels but no movies. Dinner was good. A very generous portion of smoked salmon and capers followed by belly pork with black pudding. Dessert showed that the chef was trying - a heston inspired home made arctic roll with candy floss. I really enjoyed it all. This hotel has a friendly feeling and you felt that all the staff were trying to do their best. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeEgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your visit to the hotel and spa. Its always nice to receive great comments, I will pass them onto the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was a last minute booking for afternoon tea for my birthday. At £15 for two, this was excellent value for money.Good selection of fresh sandwiches, scones with clotted cream and little pots of jam and 3 other deserts. All served with either tea or coffee. And proper napkins, no cheap serviettes here. Also good service from the young girl behind the bar.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent visit for afternoon tea. We have recently reviewed the standard of service and product because of recent guest’s comments and its proving to be the correct decision. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Fabulous food and terrific value for money. Would do it again. We all had a great time. The spa treatments were wonderful. All the staff (both hotel and spa were really nice). We did take a couple of bottles of bubbly with us to save hotel costs of buying when there. We did buy one to have with dinner. The only extra apart from this was an extra £6 if you wanted a steak. Two of us had fillet as thought that was a terrific bargain for a steak!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandie311948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your visit to the hotel and spa. Its always nice to receive great comments, I will pass them onto the rest of the team and look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business for one night. Check in was seamless and the receptionist very attentive and pleasant. Room on the first floor was clean but needed a good "spring clean". Stains on the carpet and one of the armchairs. There was no heating on in the bedroom so arriving in the dark and feeling cold and wet from the weather, it took a short while to heat up. The bathroom was spotless with a supply of toiletries.

On going down for dinner, the menu was very good and catered for all tastes. I chose a sirloin steak which came with chunky chips, onion rings, tomato and mushroom. The chunky chips were presented in a miniature chip basket in one corner, 2 onion rings in the opposite corner, 1 mushroom and half a tomato in the 3rd corner and a small piece of steak the the final corner. All the separate parts looked lonely in their corners!!! For £22 it didn't represent good value for money but I will concede that the steak was very well cooked.

I will probably stay again when down this way on business and will use the leisure facilities next time.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank PearlandDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and have taken note of your comments which will improve the overall guest’s experience.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
430 reviews
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
205 reviews
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing