We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas dining could be better.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Christmas dining could be better.”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family booked three rooms for three nights over Christmas. We think it is a lovely hotel in pleasant surroundings and the rooms were comfortable, warm and quiet. Staff were always helpful and polite. A special thank you to the young man (first aider) who came to my mother's rescue on Christmas Day.
As to the food, I agree with suecharnock, it just wasn't good enough, except for the buffet on Boxing Day. Not enough vegetables or meat, no mince pies or chocolate mints as promised. Certainly not gourmet or 4-course.
The service in the restaurant was slow and disorganised so we spent a lot of time just waiting even though the staff did their best.
We enjoyed the spa and treatments but part of the hydrotherapy pool and ice room were not working. Allowances have to be made for breakdowns over Christmas!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopyShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your stay with us over Christmas. It’s always nice to receive great constructive comments they have been taken on board. We have had a few comments regarding the portion sizes on Christmas day and we will be reviewing the menu and offering for next year. Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff and Ben who attended to your mother on Christmas Day, I do hope she has made a full recovery.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    321
    198
    115
    76
See reviews for
212
332
41
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We have just returned from a 2 night stay 27th-29th December. The hotel is clean and staff are very friendly, The restaurant food was fantastic we had the choice of the set menu or £22 towards anything else we wanted, due to booking half board. We had a choice of table in the restaurant as not many in the hotel. The waiting staff were very nice. Breakfast was also very good and as well as hot buffet there was a choice of speciality dishes from the menu. The swimming pool and spa facilities were also excellent. Cant wait to return so keep up the good work

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiJoeSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for the great review! I will pass on your kind thoughts to all the staff, its always nice to receive great comments. Look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarisbrick, Southport, England
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Norton Grange is a lovely building on the outskirts of Middleton and we chose to go there for our Christmas lunch this year.

I have to say first off that the service was very attentive and very smiley which I was not expecting from staff having to work Christmas day. Unfortunately our experience of the meal was less satisfactory.

We opted for the "Gourmet" lunch at £55 each.

The starters were adequate but nothing special.

The main course I chose was the roast turkey dinner which consisted of turkey, roast potatoes, carrots, a slice of stuffing, a pig in blanket and 2 sprouts. Now I am not a big fan of sprouts but looking round at the rest of the diners at my table, everyone else seemed to have a good portion with the exception of me, then hubby pointed out that he didn't have a pig in blanket.

Hubby had Christmas pud for desert which he said was nice, but the crumble was extremely dry and tasteless, not what you would expect from a gourmet lunch.

Next the coffee turned up without the cups and the mince pies that were on the menu and included in the price didn't turn up at all.

All in all, the meal was edible at best but certainly not gourmet standard and at £55, I certainly won't be booking for next Christmas.

Well done to the hardworking waiting staff - kitchen - you can do a lot better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SunshineSoozy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Sue

Thank you for your comments regarding your family Christmas day lunch. Your feedback has been noted and there will be changes made to the Christmas Day lunch menu for 2013 which will include 2 extra courses and a review of standards. I am sorry that you had encountered problems and would hope that you would give us another opportunity next year, if you would like to speak with me directly about this then please do not hesitate in contacting me.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire, England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stayed at Norton Grange for one night at beginning of December 2012 to attend annual BDB get together. Always very cold weather that time of year!!!

Hotel gave us a good dinner with a variety of choices and served in a very efficient way.

Also had a good breakfast and a comfortable room.

Staff have always been helpful and obliging but even more so this year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sydnycat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review following on from your stay with us at Norton Grange. It’s always nice to receive great comments about the staff; we look forward in welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We found a dirty pair of male underwear in our room on arrival, unfortunately my fiancée had the misfortune of picking these up obviously never expecting…

We were offered an alternative room due to this & the unacceptable noise from a Christmas Party but the room was exactly the same in design & standard despite being told we had been ‘upgraded’

Also we were advised to use room service to dine as long delays were expected in the restaurant due to the Christmas Parties at the venue, despite this we were still charged a £5 room charge

Hugely disappointing as the hotel & reception staff were very pleasant & helpful

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrCJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent nights stay with us. There is no excuse for sub standard cleaning and I have addressed this with my housekeeping company to ensure corrective coaching takes place.
Regarding the noise unfortunately during weekend in December we do have Christmas festivities taking place, we do the best to minimise noise and allocate rooms in quiet areas but on some occasions we do have to allocate rooms near the function suites. I am sorry that you had encountered problems and thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rochdale hotels

Colne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Well I put a review on tripadvisor after a stay in Sept 2012, The review I posted was a true reflection at that time, However after being contacted by the "Correct" Manager and not the one that caused the problem (The Desk Manager) I can fully endorse what Mr Yoxall, has put in place after my complaints, He is trying to improve the image of the hotel and it's staff, I would back his vision and attention to customer satisfaction
The review is based on his attempts to correct our initial impression, which has succeded

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lufc0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald_Stewart, General Manager at Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for updating your review following on from your stay in the summer. I have dealt with the problems that you encountered to ensure that no one has to go through similar circumstances. I appreciate your comments and I am glad that we have come to some arrangement regarding the issues you faced.

Kind regards

Damon Yoxall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
439 reviews
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
3.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Property: Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing