We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service, dirty room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Reviewed December 2, 2007

After staying here for two nights I felt I had to write a review. This
appears to be the best hotel in Rochdale,so very poor choices avaliable in this area. We have stayed here before,for xmas party last
year which was mediocre food appalling service but because we were with family we still managed to enjoy ourselves.

This time was a really bad experiance,the first night we tried to order off the menu in the restaurant which never seems to change & only had 6 main choices,the same 6 every night. Imagine our complete disbelief when out of the 6 choices it only appeared they had 1 choice
left, but it took them nearly 1 hour to make us aware because we kept ordering things then they would go away for 10 mins only to come back to tell us it was off the menu.The restaurant was not busy.

Ended up ordering food from the bar menu, which also had limited choices avaliable. Their excuse was something about a delivery mixup but they did not charge us for the meal in the end which was the least
they could do.

In the rooms the bedside tables were dirty,the shower cap tube was just an empty tube, the bathroom floor was filthy, the last persons hair all over it. The teapot had not been cleaned out,I could go on for ever. The staff are very young & seem to try their best but are not trained,to be greeted at breakfast time with, aya are ya alright is not profesional. Rochdale is my hometown, & even though I do not live their anymore I am not a snob but this is unacceptable at the prices they charge.

I suppose the lack of competition they can get away with this.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank lilly6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,013 - 1,019 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2007

Generally we were dealt with by appathetic, disinterested poorly informed and evidently largely untrained junior staff.

Overall the building fabric was uninspiring, old and in disrepair. Typified by antiquated lifts with fiddly old control panels which squeeked and rattled as they moved up through the levels.

Breakfast was completely inadequate for the price in terms of both quality (soggy hash browns, plastic black pudding, grey solid scambled eggs etc.) and quantity, with a very distrusting and miserly approach to serving the cooked items (hot buffet provided rather than cooked to order but rationed portions instead of self serve).

Very dissappointing experience which included being woken in the night twice by a faulty fire alarm. No appology forthcomming from reception although they did explain that they were aware of the problem and that it might happen again! - marvelous. Presumably they were also aware of the problem when they took my room booking but decided best not to mention it.

It is a wonder that anyone chooses to visit the UK these days when all we can offer them is this kind of service in what is supposed to be a 4 Star Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rickbar72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

To all outside and inside impressions this is a good 4* hotel – the reality is somewhat different. Its not that they do anything wrong, they just don’t achieve the rating on what some people would consider little things, but what I believe should differentiate this from a Travelodge.

A summary of my 4 night stay..

ROOM (‘Executive)..spacious and excellent bathroom…had to call housekeeping twice and duty manager once as the toiletries were not replaced 2 nights running, the coffee supplies once, no replacement towels once. Bulb on desk lamp missing, not replaced after 4 days. Desk chair to high to get your knees under to work.

ROOM SERVICE FOOD….quick and reasonably priced….limited menu, poorly prepared (Out of a tin), and salad vegetables well past their best. No rolls supplied on 2 occasions

SPA (used 3 times)…like the hotel, excellent on the outside, missing on the detail….great pool & ‘outside’ whirlpool…..both sauna’s were Luke-warn every night and the ‘ice room’ wasn’t working.

Would I stay here again…overall yes….but guys, get your act together, otherwise some other Hotel will achieve this extra ‘polish’, and take your business.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PS12TheDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2007

We stopped 2 nights at the Norton Grange for a friends wedding.

First the good news, as per many of the other reviews the hotel was clean and the Spa & pool area terrific. The thermal pool which has an open air section was particularly good along with the steam room although the ice room could best be described as cool, the rock sauna had no water to produce steam from the coals and the bioroom was frankly a small room at normal temperature with wooden seats in it.

And that for us summed up the Norton Grange, a hotel that could be so much more with just a little extra effort.

The real issues for us however were staff related, not everyone I'd stress, but enough to make you think that the place has a definite problem in this area.

Check in started badly. My arrival at 2-30pm was greeted by the surly first words 'I'm not sure if your room will be available yet'. No 'good afternoon' or 'welcome to the Norton Grange' here. Having explained that we'd requested an early check in if possible (2-30pm being early at the Norton Grange), the next words were pretty much '...and you've only paid £40 deposit'. I explained that my wife had satisfied the requirement for payment in full 7 days prior to arrival (another poor feature), but the 'system' said differently and so calls to Reservations were required to clarify the situation. Questions as to when she'd made final payment were almost accusing and nothing was clarified at that time. Given that when checking out nothing further was requested, I can only assume that Reservations had eventually found the missing detail.

The room was fine but stifling, with the only one of 3 dormer windows not painted over screwed shut anyway (security?). Two childrens beds were also set up which seemed strange as there were only 2 of us, but all became clear later when reception told us we should have been allocated room 223 not 233. Later that night the door opened without warning as housekeeping came in to recover one of the single beds for a friend of ours whose room was 1 bed short! Room 233 was apparently still showing empty on 'the system', as it was the next morning when on the breakfast guest list we were still under room 223 causing some confusion.

The dining room presented the next staff issue with a breakfast order only taken after 15 mins when I'd asked for the second time. Tea & coffee finally arrived after 25 mins after a third request. Whilst we there we heard 3 other complaints. The staff were badly disorganised throughout the session. The breakfast was a disappointment with the haddock and poached egg looking like it had been in a bad car accident before being served. Our bar meal at night was average for the prices charged although again friends who ate in the restaurant that night were more vocal in their complaints. To be fair the wedding meal was OK and breakfast next morning was more efficient.

The wedding was generally managed well although the drinks were pricey to say the least (any 3 basic drinks typically over £10). Another staffing issue arose when on a bigger round the order was 2 bottles short. Upon querying the shortage the barmens exact words were 'Yeh, I knew I'd done that' with the 2 bottles then being pushed toward me with not another word.

Upon checking out, we realised we'd locked the key in the room. Again despite our apologies a surly attitude prevailed and after failing to get housekeeping over his walky talky, it was literally thrown onto the desk with loud mutterings as to how it never worked and how he didn't know why he bothered!

And so our experience at the Norton Grange ended as it had started with a questionable staff attitude.

A shame really as it could otherwise be a real nice hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank denbydaler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2007

We booked a double room through the hotel with a special rate as we were attending a function there. Check-in was good, we went to our room (229) which was very hot! It was not possible to open the window (security reasons) and they provided two fans. It was unbearable. Room was on the small side, but very nice furnishings. I called reception and after a short wait they offered us a different room where we could open the window.

This room (206) was double the size, fantastic bathroom, comfy bed. Only gripe was that remote was held together with sticky tape! You would have thought they would have just got a new one...!

Food at the function was average, nothing to write home about. Bar prices v. expensive (4.60 for a single gin and tonic).

The real gem about this place is the 'spa naturel'. There is a gym and pool which we didn't use. Thermal suite was amazing! There is a hydro-pool which is a massive jacuzzi which extends through to an outdoor bit.

There is an Aroma steam room, Large steam room with twinkly lights in ceiling, Rock Sauna, Bio Sauna and Ice Igloo which is great for cooling down. Ice Igloo has an ice sink which has ice that you throw all over yourself.

Also 'Experience Showers' which have different functions like fragrance, drench and ice cold.

You must try this spa. There is a beauty centre with all the usual treatments available.

Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2007

Was staying in the Norton Grange for a business trip and the hotel itself was clean, pleasant and the staff very helpful and courteous. The spa on the site was very nice with a great hydro pool that opens to the outside. The only two elements that marred my stay was the fact that the first room I stayed had a lock that broke entailing my staying in another room without any of my belongings as there was no maintenance staff present in the evening. The second being that the replacement room (although a pleasant upgrade) had the complimentary coffee removed and not replaced. Small niggles but enough to deter me from giving the hotel an 'Excellent' rating.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Whiffco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
5.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Smokies Park
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.3 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
1.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
223 reviews
4.2 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa

Address: Norton Grange Hotel Manchester Road, Rochdale OL11 2XZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: $78 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in it's own beautiful grounds, the Mercure Norton Grange Hotel and Spa caters for the needs of each individual. Leisure facilities and car parking are complimentary to all of our guests. Please check with the hotel for dining availability as our restaurant can be closed at weekends for private functions. Please also note that child pool times apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Norton Grange Hotel Rochdale
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel And Spa Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing