We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and chips to die for!!! (I don't normally like chips much)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Oxford Pub

The Oxford Pub
Ranked #11 of 294 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Whitworth, Nr Rochdale
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food and chips to die for!!! (I don't normally like chips much)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family took me out to The Oxford tonight (a Tuesday) for my birthday and we had a brilliant time. The food was fantastic and, I don't normally eat chips much, but theirs are worth going in for on their own! Smoked haddock and Applewood cheese fish cakes were gorgeous, the steak was juicy and delicious, excellent cheese and onion pie for my daughter who's not so keen on meat. The kids managed a dessert each as well, all of which were excellent. Of course washed down with a great pint of Thwaites Wainright cask - perfect evening. The service was great, thank you for a great birthday x

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minted4Life-co-uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    51
    21
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
213 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“A great little pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

Eight of us celebrating a birthday. Menu plus specials on the board read well with plenty of choice.
We were not disappointed. Although our choice of meals and deserts were quite mixed service and food were just first class.
The pubs ambience just leant itself to a great afternoon cum evening.
What a great little place and highly recommended.
We'll be back!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stoatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Man cannot live by bread alone”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

This pub has the potential for success. The food is above average, the bread is amazing, especially with the lamb hotpot. However, the service is the worst I have experienced in many a year. We booked our table in advance. We arrived and the bartender pointed at the table. After being seated for a while we found our own menus and caught a waiters eye to order. After our main course we had to catch another servers eye for extra drinks. Our main course plates were removed, but we were never asked if we wanted sweets, drinks or coffees. Discontented we asked for the bill and also checked on whether ordering should be made directly at the bar or was it waiter/waitress service. It was confirmed that they offered table service. We shall not be returning as we felt staff could not have cared less whether we were served or not. A good pub will fail here if the staff don't step up their game. I should add that the bar/restaurant area was not busy.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bobbie526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips for miles!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

Been to The Oxford on numerous occasions, the menu is amazing, everything is cooked fresh and home made style. Good value for money, well presented and the best desserts I've ever tasted, choc orange crime brûlée was amazing!
Staff are very welcoming and also very helpful in advising on the food menu, and the weekly specials change to give a different taste each week.
The Oxford also is very welcoming for families

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Naomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic good but service let down”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I love the Oxford; really do. I had a roast dinner and the meat was amazing but veg was poor. The thing I really hated was the waitresses in their own clothes. Like bright blue trainers. The male staff looked excellent but the females looked "chavy" and really let down the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JessicaWild123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alibongo2013, Owner at The Oxford Pub, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Great to hear you love The Oxford, that means we are doing something right.
Sorry you were disappointed with the vegetables on your roast dinner,we always have a large selection of fresh vegetables available, if you would have told a member of staff we would have gladly brought a different selection for you..Our aim at The Oxford is that every customer has a great experience and if we get something wrong give us a chance to put it before you leave..Also
we do not have a uniform for our staff as we are family business and not dictated by a large company uniform policy and our staff, both male and female often wear trainers for comfort.Thank you for your review, which only helps us in our first year of business to get things right.
#teammcneeney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oxford Pub also viewed

 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Oxford Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing