We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazon Local gift”

Healey Dell Heritage Centre and Tea Rooms
Ranked #3 of 35 things to do in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Healey Dell Heritage Centre & Tearooms is set within the Healey Dell Nature Reserve. Step back in time and enjoy the Edwardian themed splendour of these fabulous, authentic tea rooms where speciality beverages and delicious food is served from the finest bon-china. The Healey Dell Heritage Centre & Tea Rooms offers wheelchair access & ground floor facilities, an all year round heritage display, guest exhibitions showcasing the work of photographers & artists, a Fairy Grotto available for private hire for children's parties. Free wifi - Dogs welcome in the ground floor Heritage Tea Room. We also have outdoor seating in the Fairy Tea Garden with full waitress service, - Horse Tethering - Secure cycle area and an abundance of free parking. Most weekends will find a guest pianist at the grand piano. Special social events throughout the year - room hire. These authentic vintage tea rooms (one on the first floor and one to the ground) serve traditional cream teas, full afternoon teas, snacks and a variety of quality loose-leaf teas served from fine bone-china. Probably the most unique venue you have ever visited! The centre & Tea Rooms are open every Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Bank Holidays from 9am. For full afternoon teas, please try to book two hours in advance as a great deal of preparation is invested into each serving. Table reservations welcome. All room available for private parties.
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Amazon Local gift”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Cute tea room down a very long bumpy road, nice sound of the stream running near by. Both my friend and myself felt told off for arriving 5 mins early, and was given our coffee whilst they prepared our afternoon tea! A few sandwiches, pork pie, a scone and a few chocolate's, was pleasant enough, could have done with another coffee afterwards. I enjoyed it because it was a gift, but I thought it was very expensive for what you got. They did have a menu so do other food too.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank suzanne980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    39
    14
    8
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Edible gold afternoon tea”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a brilliant time at healey dell the afternoon tea was excellent and beautifully presented.
Staff was very helpful and polite would recommend and definatly would go again

Helpful?
1 Thank Rachaeljad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
323 reviews
199 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“It is sweet - olde worlde and tucked away”
Reviewed August 23, 2014

The cafe is on the left as you progress down Dell Road (this road is a bit bumpy). There is a downstairs area and an upstairs (I don't think there is a lift. It has and old fashion, cosy, warm style of furnishing which is very restful after a walk through Healey Dell. The menu is mostly cold food - sandwiches, cakes etc. The staff were very friendly. There is some car parking outside the cafe.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank angelaofcastleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just the tonic”
Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We've been here a few times as we do the walk down through Healey Del from the top car park (nr sandwich hut). Love the feeling of this 'out the way' heaven for afternoon tea & cake.

My only advice is to sit upstairs as you may have to wait longer if downstairs. My recent visit I had to go upstairs twice to find plenty of staff stood around chatting. But we'd still go back again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

My wife was given a voucher for an Edible gold-plated chocolate afternoon tea for her birthday which we used recently. Despite only living a few minutes drive away we had only been here once before and then only for a cup of tea during a walk so didn't know quite what to expect. However we were not disappointed either with the setting or the tea. The tea came on a cake stand with sandwiches on the bottom layer, scones ,jam and cream on the middle layer and a delightful selection of gold-plated chocolates on the top. All of this was complemented by a pot of leaf tea and a bowl of luxury crisps. The food was delicious and as the sandwiches and scones were so filling that we could not manage the chocolates immediately we were able to take them away (beautifully wrapped) to eat later.
We will certainly be back!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Healey Dell Heritage Centre and Tea Rooms also viewed

Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Healey Dell Heritage Centre and Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing