We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful relaxing location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fernhill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hannover, Germany
1 review
“wonderful relaxing location”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We are from Germany an travel every 2 years to Rochdale to see old friends. Our favorite B&B is Fernhill, because it is beautifully located with a nice view over the town. You can get a good rest in a first class tidy accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
21
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

My partner arranged this for us on our very first valentines day together this year hoping that this would be a special event in both our calenders. Sadly his father had passed away on the 31st of December 2013 so although we were keen to embrace Valentines day he was still very much grieving from his loss. Fernhill was an obvious choice as it gave us the tranquility we needed and was close enough to the restaurant Bella Vista that he had chose for our evening meal. The room we had was located in the stable block, which gives way to wonderful views. The room was excellent and the bathroom huge immaculately clean and Jennifer is amazing I arrived to fresh roses in the room (which my partner had organised) and i must say they are still on my bedroom window sill - nothing was too much trouble and they just left us to our own devices which was nice. The little kitchen is perfect for warming up food but there isn't a cooker which is fine. The breakfast room is open 24hrs so you are able to sit in there for supper and make toast if that's your thing and there are extra supplies so you never are without tea coffee milk etc. We were so taken with Fernhill we managed to stay an extra night at short notice and we booked for the Easter weekend too as the countryside is fabulous so we are going to take in this through walks and cycling. We made friends with the Horses and i swear 'William' nodded his head goodbye as we drove off :-)

Simply cannot wait to return what a little Gem nestled in the countryside i would recommend this to all whom are looking for a tranquil stay away from city life but needing to be a short journey from the town of Rochdale / city of Manchester.

Room Tip: the optimum is the stable block for couples. The main building suits business / and couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindy1603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This B&B for the price was absolutely fabulous! Quiet, clean & exceptional value! The view was fabulous, we just wish it was a longer stay, next time it definitely will be! No cooked brekkie, but what was available was more than enough! Well recommended. Thank-you!!

Room Tip: They are all good rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 188Faye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

A first class bed and breakfast in a stunning location. The rooms are very highly appointed,large, extremely clean and the finishing touches ie fresh flowers,toiletries all make the experience enjoyable. The whole set up of Fernhill and the very accommodating lady in charge Jennifer makes you feel very welcome. Breakfast is in a room with beautiful views of the surrounding country side all ingrediants for the continental breakfast are fresh. Footpaths are right on the door step and after a days walking there is the benefit of an equipped kitchen for guests to use, Fernhill is faultless and fantastic value for money we will return again and have already recommended it to family and friends.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effie811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband, and I (along with two dogs) stay here whenever we visit family in the area. The rooms are great, the views stunning and Jennifer who manages the B and B is an absolute star. Friendly, helpful and will always try to accommodate. The accommodation is near some beautiful walks, and you will quiet likely be treated to a few horses in the morning here! The beds are wonderfully comfortable, great value and a true retreat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaReeves-McAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

A very pleasant surprise greeted us when we arrived after a terrible 7 hour drive! This glorious . well maintained, unexpected diamond in the rough of the Rochdale hills! The rooms were large, clean, modern and extremely well equipped. The lady in charge was so kind and helpful. We will definitely use the Fernhill again. Thank you! (We really, really, really loved it!)

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have stayed at Fernhill for 5 times and have found the accomadation and setting to be of excellent standards. The rooms are very spacious and the breakfast room is comfy and has a wide and varied range of food for the continental breakfast. The location speaks for itself, looking over Lane Head and the Pennines

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank simon p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
3.9 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
4.5 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel
#2 of 6 in Rochdale
439 reviews
4.4 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
492 reviews
4.6 mi away
Village Hotel Manchester Bury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fernhill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fernhill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fernhill Bed and Breakfast
Address: Fern Hill Lane | Lanehead, Rochdale OL12 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fernhill is a unique bed and breakfast nestled amongst some of the most tranquil surroundings in the North West. It is situated in a small hamlet accessed by a private lane and surrounded by serene, breath-taking views. We have a large private car park so parking is never a problem. Double rooms at only £50 (£25pp) Fernhill is just a few minutes walk from the Mary Townley Loop on the new pennine bridleway at Rooley Moor, making it an ideal stop-off for horse riders and cyclists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fernhill Bed And Breakfast Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing