We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Toby Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We didn't stay on the hotel but had a meal in the restaurant. It was really very good excellent cooking well tastyx. The only one thing that let it down was the price if the dessert which I thought was a bit expensive . The staff were very good and gave a good service. Would recommend this

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank maz041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear maz041

We thank you for your recent review and we are pleased to hear you found the cooking excellent and tasty. Regarding the desserts we have a dessert range from £1.25 for ice-cream up to £5.95 for cheese and biscuits which is the most expensive, with mid-range items priced between £3.95 and £4.25 The choice and price we feel is reasonable for what is received as our desserts are home made from fresh produce. We do hope this has addressed the issue for you and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    127
    48
    10
    11
See reviews for
95
151
11
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grapeland, Texas
Level Contributor
472 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

The front desk ladies are very welcoming and helpful. We like that they provide wash clothes and that there is a king size bed in the executive rooms. Our bed though had a very big dip (about 18/24 inches wide) in the middle on my side (facing the bed it's the right side). The pillows are quite flat and could use replacing. On two mornings the housekeeper unlocked our door and started to come in while we were in the middle of getting ready! The first time she did not knock, just entered. The second time she knocked, my husband loudly said to come back later and she still came in - I was in the shower and it was quite unnerving! I will say there was banging going on (some kind of building maintenance) in the room next to us, so she may not have heard him. Our Mum also had a single room while we were there and it was just fine. Overall a pleasant stay.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Connie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Connie C

We thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you found the reception team welcoming and friendly and that overall you had a great stay. We have made some investigations regarding your other comments and can confirm that new mattresses are on order as well as pillows. Regarding the housekeeping staff entering the room without knocking. We have a policy which states that housekeeping should first check if a room is empty and if still unsure should knock loudly and under no circumstances should they be just entering. The housekeeping team have been informed this is not acceptable. We also have do not disturb signs available for use but irrespective of this no one should be entering the room unannounced and for this we sincerely apologise. Having looked into our records, the banging was due to maintenance being done done during the day to keep the noise to a minimum and if this disturbed you then once again we apologise. We are glad that overall you did have a pleasant stay and we do hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed here for one night when my usual hotel was fully booked. The room was fine, spacious and quiet and the shower was lovely and powerful. The dark furniture was a bit gloomy and the view from the window wasn’t very nice.
The receptionist tried to charge me for use of the wi-fi when I checked in. I pointed out that I had checked whether there was free wi-fi on the website prior to booking (this is often a deal breaker with me as I object to paying for wi-fi). After double checking the receptionist confirmed that wi-fi would be free as I had booked via the website but I really don’t like having to challenge these things so it’s a shame that they didn’t get this right in the first place
I didn’t try the breakfast as I had booked room-only but I did eat in the Fallen Angels restaurant which was nice. The bar area was a bit soulless and I didn’t feel comfortable being on my own which was a shame. I would probably feel more comfortable in this hotel if I’d stayed with colleagues or my other half but as a lone female it just didn’t feel comfortable for me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireWildgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear YorkshireWildgoose

We thank you for your recent review on tripadvisor and also for providing us with more information so as we could investigate fully. Firstly we are very sorry that you had to challenge us regarding the wi-fi on checking in. This should not have happened and we have addressed this with the reception team to make sure it doesn’t happen again in the future. Regarding the bar area and your feelings of discomfort as a lone female we do try to make everyone feel welcome and our staff are happy to chat with residents especially those who are alone to try and make them feel more relaxed and we are very sorry that you felt this way on your stay. You mentioned that you felt some of the guests were non-residents and this is correct as we do open both of the restaurants to the public and the bar area is used for people waiting to dine. We have tried to keep the bar area relaxed by having music or the TV on and we do always encourage staff to take the time to talk to guests. If you should decide to stay with us again in the future then please book this through the Hotel Manager, Bev Scott, who will do her utmost to make your stay welcoming and relaxing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Its been a while since I stayed here but its just as good as usual. Helpful staff, sensible room service prices and a reasonably priced restaurant called Fallen Angels, its got few faults. Rooms are well furnished, well sized and generally quiet. Would recommend to anyone on business or leisure. Keep up the good work.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank fozzibeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear fozzibeat

We are delighted to read your recent review on Tripadvisor for the Royal Toby Hotel and the onsite restaurant, The Fallen Angels. We have forwarded your feedback to all staff who hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a really good stay in hotel. The staff were amazing, nothing to much trouble, very friendly . The food in both restaurants was faultless, hotel very clean and tidy at all times, Thankyou to everyone, we will be back to see you all soon, xx

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Ann H

We are so pleased to hear that you had a really good stay on your recent visit to the Royal Toby Hotel. Your comments have been passed to the team who are delighted and looking forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Visiting family in Rochdale, used to visit the 'Toby' for special family meals, so jumped at the chance to go back and relive some of our childhood memories. Was not disappointed either. Good clean base for a short stay, friendly staff and a great breakfast. Will definately use again. Local to everything too..was back home on the motorway within minutes :)

Room Tip: From what we saw, all was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeasidegirlBlackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear SeasidegirlBlackpool


We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay on your recent return visit to Rochdale and that staying with us brought back some great childhood memories.. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, which has been passed through to the team who look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

A great Hotel to meet up with our friends. Staff very kind and helpful. Room very clean but décor a little dark. Food excellent and catered very well for a diabetic and coeliac in our party.
Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Anthony L

We are pleased to receive your review and we are very happy that you found your visit a good one and that you found the team very kind and helpful. We take allergies very seriously and are able to accommodate almost all food allergies as our food is made fresh to order. Your comments have been passed on to the team at the Toby Hotel & Restaurant who look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.3 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Broadfield Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
5.6 mi away
Red Hall Hotel
Red Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walmersley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
13.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Pennine Manor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Toby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Toby Hotel

Property: The Royal Toby Hotel
Address: Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Toby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Success of the Royal Toby is in our commitment to consistency and high standards. Our spacious en-suite bedrooms are designed with flair, style and luxury. For that ultimate indulgence choose from a range of Superior rooms, some feature four poster beds and in others marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Toby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing