We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Royal Toby Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Birch Hotel(Heywood)
$87
$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$95
$91
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$105
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel(Rochdale)(Great Value!)
$76
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$25
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$77
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Bury(Bury)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
261
152
58
13
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
152
58
13
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsitalian restaurantfallen angelexecutive roomfour postersteaklovely hotelfull englishbirthday treathotel bartea making facilitieswedding venuefried eggscooked breakfastcourse mealwould recommend this hotel to anyoneexcellent value for moneyan overnight stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
363 - 368 of 499 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Lovely hotelt staff were very friendly and very helpful .
Room was bigger than usual with double and single bed .Restaurant food good
Only niggle was that at breakfast tea and coffee came out of large hot urns that we not hot enough most of the time

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Janet

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you found our team to be friendly and helpful and that you enjoyed your meal with us. I have noted your feedback on the tea and coffee not being hot enough and will look into this further for you.

I have passed your kind comments to Danny, Bev and their respective teams and we all look forward to welcoming you to The Royal Toby again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed on the 31 Aug 2013 for one night. The staff were excellent, but we found the room very dark (108). In the bathroom the toilet was loose it rocked when sat on it lol. The plug lever on the sink had no knob just the threaded bar to grab to drain the water away. As for the breakfast it was awful, its kept under hotlamps and the eggs were rock hard and the little sausage was done to a crisp. I opted for scrambled egg and that was like water, sloppy. I could not recommend this hotel to anyone really, not value for money there are better hotels around.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

Dear Linda

Thank you for taking the time to review The Royal Toby Hotel and I am sorry to hear that you would not recommend our hotel and that you were disappointed with both your room and the breakfast. With regard to the breakfast, I can advise that Sunday breakfasts will now be served by a chef or manager which will ensure that the breakfast is to our usual high standard. Your comments about the room have been passed to out maintenance team for repairs to be carried out. We are also looking into your comments about the room being dark and have replaced the older style energy saving bulbs with LED bulbs which will increase the brightness of the lighting.

Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff being excellent. I have passed this to both Danny and Bev who will share this with their teams. I hope that my response has reassured you about our commitment to a high quality experience for our guests and that we can welcome you to The Royal Toby again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed at The Royal Toby on Friday 16th August following a family wedding at the same venue.
Firstly the wedding package organised with the hotel was seamless. The wedding breakfast following the ceremony was excellent, served hot to the table by silver service waitressing. I must admit to being more than a little apprehensive when told that the evening buffet food was steak and potatoe pie. However, it proves that you should not be too judgemental. It was fantastic.
The pie was predominantly STEAK with the odd potato. For those who wished this was served with mushy peas, chips and red cabbage. Everyone said how lovely the food was throughout the day!!
In respect of the accommodation we stayed in an executive double room on the top floor.
The room was bright and airy with a velux window, modern decor, a large double bed( this was two three foot beds zipped together) made up with super king sized bedding, which was clean and comfortable. The bathroom although not overly large was very clean with modern tiling and was more than adequate for an overnight stay. Large white fluffy towels were provided together with robes. Other members of my family stayed in standard rooms. Overall there was no difference in room size between the standard and executive room. The latter appeared lighter as the decor was more modern.
Breakfast the following morning was self service buffet with a selection of juices, fruits, cereals, pastries, toast and jams, tea/coffee. A full cooked breakfast was also available. The only improvement the hotel could make would be to provide 'pots' for the tea/coffee.
All the staff I encountered were cheerful and helpful. Customer service at check in/out was exceptional and nothing was too much trouble.
On a final note, I live within half an hour of this hotel and could have gone home after the function.
However choosing to stay overnight was a good choice. Several members of the bridal party stayed at the hotel and I heard only positive comments about the whole experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Lois52
Thank you so much for your review, the team are delighted you had such a good time and that everything went well. It’s a real honour to host a wedding and we are thrilled you enjoyed the event, food, staff and facilities.
We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

we have stayed here many times and every time we do its amazing , we have eaten at the fallen angels , the royal toby and the peacock rooms !
the sleep and dine deals at this hotel is fantastic value.
the fallen angels is a lovely italian with a mouthwatering menu to enjoy
the peacock rooms is even better with a gorgeous al a carte menu

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Craig s
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us. Our sleep dine deals are excellent value and so popular. We are really glad you enjoy dining in all our restaurants and look forward to next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on my wedding night with a large bridal party.... fantastic service & everything was fabulous. From our greeting at reception to us all leaving after breakfast the next morning. A big thank you to all the staff involved. The breakfast was very tasty & hot not look warm like a lot of places. Very accessable to the motorway for guests needing to get back home. The restaurant is very good also , we've ate there quite a fee times... once again very good staff.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Catster71
Thank you so much for your review, the team enjoyed reading it and are equally delighted that you had such an enjoyable time with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews