We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Restaurant and service. Will definitely go again.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Toby Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We had a family party of nine for dinner. The decor is great, the ambience warm and the staff attentive. The food was superb and priced much lower than expected. Nine people with starters and main course, with wine came to less than £20 per head. Amazing. The place is popular so we booked the table for a Saturday night. Caters for every age from babies to elderly, plus wheelchairs not a problem. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We didn't stay here, just had the meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Mortelini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Mortelini

The team at the Royal Toby are delighted with your review, we are really pleased you chose us for your family get-together and we look forward to hosting many more

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 474 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came here 2 years ago the food was good but the entertainment was very disappointing for the price, however this year we decided to give it another go and found the service was brilliant,the food was excellent and the entertainment was out of this world,everyone was up clapping enjoying themselves,this is how New Year's Eve should be.
We had the best time ever and would recommend it for 2013,well done to all the staff for a great night and a big thanks to the entertainment,the tribute lads who made our New Year's Eve so fantastic

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2013

Dear Sandra N

Thank you for giving us another go if we previously let you down with our choice of entertainment, we are delighted you had a great night and the team will be made up with your feedback. Our New Year’s eve celebrations are really popular so book early for 2013!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

My Parents & I had our lunch here on Christmas Eve. Both the food and the service was excellent. We always come here for our lunch on Christmas Eve because its a bit quieter. This is our local pub and we have been coming here for a long time.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gunniminor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear gunniminor

Happy New Year and thank you so much for your review, the kitchen and service team will be delighted that you took the time to post such a nice review. We look forward to seeing you next Christmas Eve, but do hope to see you sooner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Just enjoyed a fantastic New Years Eve not only was it fantastic value for money (£225 per couple including hotel room, breakfast, evening meal and entertainment) but the overall atmosphere and service in the Rhydding Suite was fantastic. We stayed in room 432 on the top floor, it was clean and very spacious. We will defiantly book again for next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Dear Angela Q

Thank you for you feedback, New Year’s Eve is one of our biggest nights of the year and we love to generate a real party atmosphere, we are so glad you enjoyed it, the team will really enjoy reading your review. We can’t wait to see you again next year but we hope to see you sooner, perhaps you will attend some of our other events before then!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

I've been staying here on & off for 10 years as I come up and see relatives. I have just finished another stay this morning and have to say housekeeping standards have dropped somewhat. I was in room 411, when I had a shower there was a big pool of water afterwards by the side of bath ( the shower curtain was tucked inside the bath) so I think there was a leak coming from somewhere. there was a used plastic cup on top of the fan above the mirror and in general the bathroom looks old and in need of a facelift.
I then discovered when I got into bed the duvet cover had not been put on properly at the end and was ripped.
There was also no 'do not disturb' door handle cards, something I found out this morning when a maid just barged in the room without knocking!!

On the plus side and perhaps the only plus side is the food in the main restaurant is always superb as always.

I feel standards have certainly dropped and a lot if the good staff have left and been replaced which is a shame as they made it a very friendly charming place to stay .

I for one will certainly be looking elsewhere for accomodation when I come up next time

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Advisor_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2012

Dear EssexTravelAddict

Thank you for your feedback, it is very disappointing to hear of your experience. We take the standards of our rooms very seriously with daily checks and an in house maintenance team to resolve the majority of issues that can arise. I have asked our maintenance team to fully investigate the leak you refer to. All our housekeepers are trained to knock and announce themselves and to not do this until at least 11am which is our check out time, I will take your feedback to the team and ensure that this does not re-occur. You have stayed with us many times and on this one occasion we appear to have let you down. We do hope you will come and give us another opportunity so we can demonstrate our usual high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel boasts two restaurants on site, Toby grill and Fallen Angels which is Italian, the food is superb in both, they do a sleep and dine deal fri,sat and sun nights. I stay with my sis in law on a Sunday it's £69.00 for two, you get any three courses off the menu in either restaurant, a lovely room which have really comfy beds, and a full breakfast. It cannot be beaten, in each room there is a double bed and a single, tea and coffee making facilities, sky tv, the bar is lovely if you want to enjoy a few drinks also a lovely heated conservatory outside for those who smoke, friendly staff all in all great night out and very reasonable.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 99Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Royal Toby site, our sleep dine offer has proven very popular and you will be pleased to hear that it will be in January. I will pass on your great feedback to all the teams, they work hard to ensure they deliver a great product and service and will be ecstatic with your comments. We look forward to seeing you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed as we were attending a wedding evening function at the venue. Had stayed here before for similar reasons many years ago.

Function most enjoyable

Over complicated check in, not especially welcoming. We asked what there was in the area and the person asked responded that they didn’t live there… Indeed not but she does work there. Receptionist on duty on check out rather more customer focussed

Good enough accommodation and enough parking.

Breakfast mainly buffet and pretty average. Hot part had to be served for some reason, maybe they think we would eat too much otherwise… Tea and Coffee area a bit random.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BasilsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsdeckers, Guest Relations Manager at The Royal Toby Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us in August 2012 and we are delighted that you enjoyed the function you attended.

We have spent some time attempting to make the check in process as smooth and efficient as possible, leisure guests are either pre-paid or just swipe their card on arrival. I am shocked at the response you received from the Receptionist who checked you in as they do all live locally and regularly visit the local tourist information office to ensure they are up to date with local knowledge.

Regarding your experience at breakfast, we have a member of staff serve from the buffet as we do not want any of our guests to burn themselves, all our guests are welcome to request additional items if they so choose.

Your feedback is of great value and will be discussed with the relevant teams at their next meeting.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochdale
1.3 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
1.3 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
3.1 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
232 reviews
13.2 mi away
Best Western Pennine Manor Hotel
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Toby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Toby Hotel

Address: Manchester Road | Castleton, Rochdale OL11 3HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Rochdale
Price Range: $71 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Toby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Success of the Royal Toby is in our commitment to consistency and high standards. Our spacious en-suite bedrooms are designed with flair, style and luxury. For that ultimate indulgence choose from a range of Superior rooms, some feature four poster beds and in others marble bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your The Royal Toby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Toby Hotel
The Royal Toby Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing