We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great venue even greater productions” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gracie Fields Theatre

Gracie Fields Theatre
Ranked #12 of 36 things to do in Rochdale
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Gracie Fields Theatre offers an exciting programme of events from Rock, Pop, Jazz and Classical Music to Comedy, Drama and Dance. The Theatre is also host to Rochdale Amateur Operatic Society and their wide variety of productions including Concerts, Plays and Musicals.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great venue even greater productions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I've never ever been disappointed by any of the shows at the Gracie Fields Theatre. It's in a great spot, plenty of parking, friendly staff and all the seats are good.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    10
    5
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SPOILT BY DOUBLE BOOKING”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cannot complain about the venue - Bar thoug is way over priced. But having booked good seats well in advance we were told we had to move as the seats had been double booked by a couple who had purchased that very day. We protested as we had purchased our tickets months in advance. Eventually we were "allowed" to remain in our seats but only after a public show-down.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nikkij_9, Manager at Gracie Fields Theatre, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Hello,

I am sorry to read about your visit and seating issue. I have looked through our records and cannot find a record of double booking to match your visit date. Some events are ticketed independently by the producing organisation. I would be happy to look into this further for you if you can supply me with the performance and/or date.

Our bar and refreshment prices are competitively priced and benchmarked against local establishments.

If you would like me to look into this further, please email the details to nikki@graciefieldstheatre.com

Kind regards,

N Jackson
Theatre Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gtr Manchester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Milton Jones at Gracie Fields, great venue for this type of act”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was the first time I had been to Gracie Fields Theatre and we were suitably impressed. Parking was easy, it was quick to get away at the end, seating was comfortable with plenty of leg room too. A perfect venue in which to see a comedian, much better than the Arena tours which some Comedians seem to be cashing in on these days which totally lose the audience interaction. Milton Jones coped very well with the hecklers. I must also praise the choice of support act, funny and perceptive young man who should go far.

I will look out for events on at this theatre again as it was easy to get to and much less hassle than a city centre venue.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Busby29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Milton Jones on the road”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went to see Milton Jones at this theatre on the 20th March. I had never been to the Gracie Fields Theatre before so did not know what to expect (doubles as the school hall at Oulder Hill)

The gig was a sell out so the car park was full to capacity and had to park some way off by the roadside. The seating however is fairly comfortable with good lines of sight to the stage. They have a good sound system, unless,perhaps, the artist had provided his own equipment.

It was an excellent show and you would not know but. What you were not in a purpose built theatre. It is a little way out of town but
a great chance to see a top artist at considerably less cost than at a city centre venue.
Well done the organisers.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
308 reviews
178 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Ok theatre. Not in centre of town.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The theatre is attached to Oulder Hill School, close to the Rochdale Cemetery. It's does seem to be a strange place to have a theatre. The theatre itself is a good size and has shows that are ok. Some comedians, local productions and a pantomime every year.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MysticManc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gracie Fields Theatre also viewed

 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gracie Fields Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing