We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REAL Ale and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorcock Inn

The Moorcock Inn
Ranked #194 of 294 Restaurants in Rochdale
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“REAL Ale and Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

Independently run, the Moorcock offers cracking food and drink at very reasonable prices.
When the weather is fine there are tremendous views to the rear and it is a good base for a moorland walk to work up a healthy appetite.
If you really get into the atmosphere you can even stay over as well!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paul c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    6
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bed for the night !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

location and premises superb, the staff are warm and friendly and they have a good selection of beers, wines and spirits, wouldnt recommend the food as its overpriced and bland - try the Whitehouse which is just up the road. would of liked to have stayed the night but they were fully booked up. we were told the rooms are equally as nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bella c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“reheated dinners”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

well what a disappointment. took MY WIFE SON AND DAUGHTER AND THERE SPOUSES for Sunday lunch roast turkey asked waitress under no circumstances that i didn't want any cabbage on or near my plate low behold i found a couple of pieces under my turkey. The turkey reformed warmed up not carved. the type you get in slices wrapped in plastic from a supermarket could somebody tell the chef you can not warm up cold meat it tastes disgusting and then try and disguise it with warm gravy and not much of it it came with a couple of warm roast potatoes a couple of warm new potatoes some really hard bendy carrots [al dente you are joking] and frozen peas. i don't believe a trained chef would serve this garbage. my wife had the rib of beef what a joke the same sliced up rubbish you find in slices in a supermarket could have been any thing. but looked like beef tough and very fatty again this had been warmed up it has that distinct taste of reheating you would be better of serving it cold and putting hot gravy on it and i mean hot not the warmed up stuff they gave us. my children [both adults ] had the slow roast lamb shank arrived within 10 minutes of ordering is that slow or is that fast both said it was very fatty i left it at that did not want to spoil my wife's birthday so did not complain to the management. sweets as nobody was full 4 sweets where ordered. went to pay the bill asked how much it was paid and no receipt was offered so couldn't check my bill when i asked for one she said Oh i can write you one out if you can wait. will not return this is a fair review and i hope the management take note and maybe try out the stuff they serve its just good food ruined

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank elvis408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
1 review
“Evening meal with jaci & abbie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

Went to Moorcock for midweek evening meal-
Pleasant surroundings .
Keeping labour costs low-restaurant & bar sevice slow,
Steak had to be sent back -ordered well done-arrived welldone on outside - rare inside.
Quite suprised how this basic error happened when restaraunt only 15% occupied- attention to detail in kitchen lacking ?
However when approached steak was recooked to satisfaction- however dont like hassle of complaining
Would go back however for drink

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ashton b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Dissappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

Food terrible. total disappointment, having visited many times over years
and received super ratings previously , I can nolonger recommend.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Moorcock Inn also viewed

 
 

Been to The Moorcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing