We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good clean venue up market” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cedar tree

The Cedar tree
Ranked #8 of 294 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Oldham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good clean venue up market”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Recommend this venue a little bit hard to find but it is modern and up market food cooked to order spanish tapas look up directions or google map before going to the venue to help you find it

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    39
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We eat at the cedar tree regularly because the food is fantastic and it's fabulous value for money. Before we found this place I wasn't a real fan of tapas, but the food here is that bit different, first rate restaurant food but you get more for your money.

Never disappointed but the menu last week was even more impressive than ever, we had fresh anchovies, olive tapenade, chorizo with lentils, rump steak, venison, king prawn skewers. We needed to share a sweet because we were too full, you can't pass up the tiramisu though!

The entertainment nights are great here too, we especially love the Spanish guitar night, but the singers and bands really liven the place up as well. A great place for a romantic night out, but also got nice big tables for a friends and family night out.

Favourite place to go...and I love my food!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YUMMY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Very impressed with the food and service , called in on a Saturday evening after trying to get a table at two other local restaurants and being left stood waiting without so much as a hello from the passing staff. Food was very nice . Me and my partner where pretty sceptical of tapas as we are both fussy eaters yet we food plenty to choose for our tastes. We will definitely be coming again :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bazcoupe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, friendly staff, great venue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We had tapas for two and the quality, timing and service was excellent. Staff are friendly, the restaurant itself is very nicely decorated and the prices are about the going rate elsewhere. To be recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris_LY6086FA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

We went here for my birthday meal on a Saturday evening. We had a selection of tapas and they were all lovely. We also had dessert and that was delicious as well. The restaurant wasn't very busy and service was excellent. After our meal we took our drinks to the bar area across the restaurant, it was nice not to just have the meal and go. Would recommend.

Helpful?
1 Thank FionaS1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cedar tree also viewed

 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Cedar tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing