We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Confused interior theme”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Cedar tree

The Cedar tree
Ranked #7 of 295 Restaurants in Rochdale
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Confused interior theme”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Went here with friends on a Saturday evening, received into bar area that took half the floor space and had a 'pub feel'. Nice decor and we seemed to wait a while for our table even though not busy. Tapas type restaurants shouldn't take much in the way of table prep. After being seated, service is good, menu ordered from a printed table mat. Food was quick to arrive but was expensive for the portion sizes delivered, actually more like city centre prices than what you should expect here. Some tasty dishes, fairly standard British interpretation of tapas, would have been nice to try something different. Our overall impression was it is neither one main theme or the other, the eating area didn't have too many tables and lacked atmosphere as a result. After visiting many tapas establishments across Spain, this was very much a half way house. Pleasant enough though.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    39
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
Level Contributor
100 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good venue but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

This restaurant is based on a Tapas theme but you can get steak which is absolutely cooked to perfection
The interior is very modern and is a good feel place but it can be expensive.
You will not have a wide choice if you are not going with the Tapas theme
They do offers in the local newspaper which may help keep the costs down

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MANCHESTER
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best tapas ever !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Although I've lived in this area a long time we have never been to The cedar tree before but heard good things about it , so when evenings plans suddenly changed we were left with thinking of somewhere local to eat ! We managed to get a Late booking but arrived early for drinks on arrival the staff were really pleasant and friendly and we instantly felt vey comfortable in this lovely restaurant the food was amazing and we will definitely be returning again soon :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JOJOManchester_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, Lancashire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Faultless food & excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday Evening with my husband. As soon as we walked in we was welcomed and ordered our drinks immediately and shown to our table.

We have been to this restaurant twice before but never written a review so this covers all 3 visits.

Sunday was very quiet but on the other two occasions we have been they were Saturdays and very busy! Although the Saturdays were busy this did not affect the excellent service we received or the time taken to receive our tapas.

The waiter (Jon) was excellent and a complete credit to The ceder Tree, very knowledgable about the dishes. He seemed to be there when we needed him and left alone when we were chatting.

My husbands favourite Tapas of the night was the Chicken livers, something he doesn't usually go for. I couldn't decide which was my favourite, scallops, seabass or the quite simple and delicious cabbage, bacon & paprika?

We didn't have a dessert Sunday but we did previous times and they are well worth finishing off with. Unfortunately we had to rush home to help our son with homework :0((

Although Tapas can become a bit pricey The cedar tree offer entertainment nights. This includes a night of entertainment, nibbles on arrival, selection of tapas & dessert all for £24.95. I will definitely but attending one of these.

Helpful?
Thank wilbaforce2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brailsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Excellent quality, service and value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Recently visited the Cedar Tree for Sunday lunch as a birthday celebration for a friend. The welcome was warm and friendly as was the service throughout the rest of the afternoon. All 17 people in the party clearly enjoyed the meals and commented on quality, quantity and value. I would highly recommend if you are in the local area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AshbourneIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cedar tree also viewed

 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Newhey, Greater Manchester
 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Cedar tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing