We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asia Restaurant - CLOSED

Asia Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Asia Is an institutional restaurant founded in 1981. We are not a bangladeshi restaurant, Our style of cooking is that of a pakistani homemade feel, we use the freshest herbs and the tenderest meats to create some magical yet authentic bespoke dishes. From Desi style curries to healthy grilled dishes we can cater for any palate.We offer both dine in or takeaway service and the restaurant is situated next to the new metrolink station at Rochdale train station.#Halal.
Rochdale
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Its been a while since we have been to this restaurant and we found out what we have been missing. We had the staff curry which was excellent especially the chicken chick pea and spinach curry. In addition the breads we had as accompaniments, puri, chappati and nan bread were excellent. Well worth a visit if you want to experience real home made Pakistani food

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    205
    22
    12
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“For years and years this place does the business.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Been heading here about once a week for 20 years. Never misses- food a full on and different experience! If you want a proper taste of what asian food can bring just ask Umar or Amir to recommend. These 2 top guys will not let you down. Phil and Karen

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Phillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not as it used to be :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visited not too late approx 11pm only two others in. Asked for a medium curry generally like a hot curry but this medium was VERY hot, unbearable really. Did not really enjoy it. Garlic nann and rice was great. Chips solid needed another 10/15 mins cooking!

Staff very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chezwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Distinctly Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Visited the Asia after reading the reviews on here. Last time I dined the restaurant was more like a night club with a huge tv screen and loud music; I was pleased that this had changed.

The service was disappointingly slow, at one point we had to attract the attention of bar staff so that we could place our order as the waiters were on their phones. There were only 6 others diners in the restaurant on a Saturday night.The main course when it finally arrived was bland and both meals seemed to be made from the same sauce. The vegetables seemed fresh however.

I'm not sure the Asia has gained these reviews; there are much better restaurants in Rochdale.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aliceapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost like a home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have continued visiting The Asia since first discovering it and have, in fact, not visited any other restaurant for curry since.

We tend to visit during the week and the feeling is like being at home. The friendly attentive staff make it such a great time and almost as it you are sat in your front room.

Disappointed we have recently moved a little further away but still only 20 minutes...and they have said they will deliver!! RESULT!!

The party is at ours so put your order in!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tazmancblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asia Restaurant also viewed

 
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
Rochdale, Greater Manchester
 
Heywood, Rochdale
Littleborough, Rochdale
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing