We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveler rating
60
21
10
6
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
21
10
6
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews function room upstairs town hall square great night door staff tram stop rosedale accommodation
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 116 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013

The SAFEST & Friendliest Pub in Town With Great Food & Music.

I've been going into the Flying Horse quite regularly for just over 20 years and it continues to go strength to strength, I even lived there for a short while whilst waiting to move into a new house and experienced the utmost of Hospitality and Home Comforts at all times.

I would recommend the Flying Horse to anyone who enjoys a well looked after Pint and wide selection of Real Ales, Wines and other beverages, perhaps accompanied by one of their very tasty value for money meals and on Several nights of the week the chance to enjoy some of the finest music and live entertainment.

I have always been made to feel extremely Safe and Welcome in this friendly and extremely well run establishment that provides a warm welcome to all ages.

It really is well worth a visit when your in Rochdale and is ideally located opposite the Twon Hall and its large car park.

You won't be dissapointed, just be aware that on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays there tends to be live music until close and as such it can be noisy in the Bedrooms until the band stops, but to be honest thats no big deal as the rooms are excellent value for money, of a great standard and the breakfast could feed an army, plus as it happens I like Live Music :)

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyleHypnotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent. Absolutely excellent. The atmosphere is always buzzing no matter when you visit and the live bands they have on that keep coming back are proof that this place has an amazing atmosphere for live music. There's tons of spirits and beers that are featured and changed regularly to keep things interesting and new and there's also cocktails, food and hotel rooms upstairs which are more than comfortable for short stays. Ben (the landlord) is a top guy, so friendly and always remembers a face.

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ambiebambix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Was well aware the rooms are over a rock bar, but it just added to the experience, free entertainment! Clean and very comfortable its definitely somewhere we will make a return trip to. Thanks for a warm Rochdale welcome.

Date of stay: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HypnoAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently spent two nights where all the staff and management forgot I was the only resident and tired of walking about in the dark early morning I telephoned reception from inside the building because all access doors were locked . A very nice cleaner answered the phone and explained she was the only person in the building and nobody else knew I was resident . There was no breakfast as no kitchen staff on duty . I think health and safety went out of the window that night as apparently nobody knew I was a paying quest who had paid upfront . No refund was offered on leaving . I will not be returning.

Room tip: Don't stay at this hotel
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 922MartinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B00B00_11, Owner at The Flying Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

I’m very sorry your experience was not what you or we would expect, I’m also very sorry there was no chef on duty for your first morning to serve you breakfast although the cleaner you spoke to offered to sort you a breakfast but you politely refused.
The in-house misunderstanding came as the chef thought you were with a large group booking staying at the same time requiring no breakfast as they left for work at 6am. He was down the second morning but you didn’t come down (I’ve checked the CCTV for this).
I’m not sure why anywhere was in darkness? On the CCTV I can see that one light was out at the bottom of the 2nd floor staircase but generally all the main resident walkways are well lit and very safe. Also the doors are only looked to the bar when the bar/restaurant are closed which would make sense with no chef down to serve breakfast on your first night but if you needed to leave the hotel in an any kind of an emergency or not you would find all the fire doors easy to find and in full working order so I can assure you neither your health or safety were not in any danger. During your stay as you were not the only resident in fact there was only one other room vacant due to a party of 8 builders staying plus there are two living-in staff, one of which is the chef.
You are welcome to ring me anytime.
Yours sincerely
Ben Boothman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently spent a few nights here and have to say was very pleased with every aspect. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and very reasonably priced. The pub itself has a great atmoshere and the weekend I was there they had a couple of really good bands on. The food was beautiful and the beer was cold. What more could you ask for.

Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Deano1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews