We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a family friendly ale house with great music”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rochdale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Flying Horse Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Rochdale B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 30, 2013

was up at the horse for a wedding recently. First of all impressed by the ease of access, friendly staff, good range of ales (very good) and not expensive at all. there were live bands donwstairs on the evening i was there and the palce was full with a very friendly bunch.
Function room upstairs was well laid out, good size, and clean, ( not all are) with thought given to performers areas and smoking areas which is sadly lacking in a lot of venues nowadays,
Will definately be back when im in rochdale

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlexF929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 101 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

The SAFEST & Friendliest Pub in Town With Great Food & Music.

I've been going into the Flying Horse quite regularly for just over 20 years and it continues to go strength to strength, I even lived there for a short while whilst waiting to move into a new house and experienced the utmost of Hospitality and Home Comforts at all times.

I would recommend the Flying Horse to anyone who enjoys a well looked after Pint and wide selection of Real Ales, Wines and other beverages, perhaps accompanied by one of their very tasty value for money meals and on Several nights of the week the chance to enjoy some of the finest music and live entertainment.

I have always been made to feel extremely Safe and Welcome in this friendly and extremely well run establishment that provides a warm welcome to all ages.

It really is well worth a visit when your in Rochdale and is ideally located opposite the Twon Hall and its large car park.

You won't be dissapointed, just be aware that on Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays there tends to be live music until close and as such it can be noisy in the Bedrooms until the band stops, but to be honest thats no big deal as the rooms are excellent value for money, of a great standard and the breakfast could feed an army, plus as it happens I like Live Music :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoyleHypnotist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Excellent. Absolutely excellent. The atmosphere is always buzzing no matter when you visit and the live bands they have on that keep coming back are proof that this place has an amazing atmosphere for live music. There's tons of spirits and beers that are featured and changed regularly to keep things interesting and new and there's also cocktails, food and hotel rooms upstairs which are more than comfortable for short stays. Ben (the landlord) is a top guy, so friendly and always remembers a face.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ambiebambix3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Was well aware the rooms are over a rock bar, but it just added to the experience, free entertainment! Clean and very comfortable its definitely somewhere we will make a return trip to. Thanks for a warm Rochdale welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HypnoAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I recently spent two nights where all the staff and management forgot I was the only resident and tired of walking about in the dark early morning I telephoned reception from inside the building because all access doors were locked . A very nice cleaner answered the phone and explained she was the only person in the building and nobody else knew I was resident . There was no breakfast as no kitchen staff on duty . I think health and safety went out of the window that night as apparently nobody knew I was a paying quest who had paid upfront . No refund was offered on leaving . I will not be returning.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 922MartinD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B00B00_11, Owner at The Flying Horse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

I’m very sorry your experience was not what you or we would expect, I’m also very sorry there was no chef on duty for your first morning to serve you breakfast although the cleaner you spoke to offered to sort you a breakfast but you politely refused.
The in-house misunderstanding came as the chef thought you were with a large group booking staying at the same time requiring no breakfast as they left for work at 6am. He was down the second morning but you didn’t come down (I’ve checked the CCTV for this).
I’m not sure why anywhere was in darkness? On the CCTV I can see that one light was out at the bottom of the 2nd floor staircase but generally all the main resident walkways are well lit and very safe. Also the doors are only looked to the bar when the bar/restaurant are closed which would make sense with no chef down to serve breakfast on your first night but if you needed to leave the hotel in an any kind of an emergency or not you would find all the fire doors easy to find and in full working order so I can assure you neither your health or safety were not in any danger. During your stay as you were not the only resident in fact there was only one other room vacant due to a party of 8 builders staying plus there are two living-in staff, one of which is the chef.
You are welcome to ring me anytime.
Yours sincerely
Ben Boothman

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently spent a few nights here and have to say was very pleased with every aspect. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the room was clean and very reasonably priced. The pub itself has a great atmoshere and the weekend I was there they had a couple of really good bands on. The food was beautiful and the beer was cold. What more could you ask for.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Deano1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed at the flying horse over a 4 day period while visiting from Australia and could not give the place a bigger wrap , The place has a great warm welcoming feel which the friendly staff conveyed right from when I arrived .
The pub itself is great with a selection of beers and ciders on tap was just what I was looking for , the entertainment is also 1st class over the weekend with live bands most nights and a great atmosphere.
The room was clean and tidy and the meals available are also great value for money , I will defiantly be recommending this place to mates in the future .

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rochdale hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Broadfield Park Hotel
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rochdale Hotel
5.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Manchester North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mercure Manchester Norton Grange Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Red Lion
The Red Lion
#1 of 2 in Whitworth
19 reviews
3.9 mi away
Birch Hotel
Birch Hotel
#1 of 1 in Heywood
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Flying Horse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Flying Horse Hotel

Address: 37 Packer Street | Town Hall Square, Rochdale OL16 1NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Rochdale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Rochdale
Price Range: $30 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Flying Horse Hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of Rochdale town centre, parallel to the historic Town Hall and central to local shops, restaurants, bars and clubs. We are easily accessible by bus or train and we have superb motorway connections with the M62, M60 and M66 all just a 5 minute drive away. The Flying Horse is a modern yet traditional hotel with a lively popular public house and a private function room for up to 200 people. The hotel consists of ten en-suite bedrooms all with free high speed Wifi, new LCD TVs and tea and coffee facilities. Open daily, the pub serves traditional homemade meals (all main meals on the menu under £5) with an additional daily specials board. The Flying Horse has been included in the Good Beer Guide since 2002 and hosts a staggering range of traditional real cask ales (minimum of 8 different ales per week), lagers and bottled ciders served by a team of friendly, professional and enthusiastic staff. We are well known for our quality weekly entertainment including a variety of live bands, tribute acts, karaoke and the all new "Band-e-oke" where you can perform your favourite songs alongside a live band. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Flying Horse Hotel Rochdale, Greater Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing